Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film
anyone watched it i have and was glued to this film The bit i would of liked more of is horror but apart from that i liked it
Published 5 months ago by Claire lisa mills

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars hohoho
Not a great film but not s bad film the effects could have been a lot better one of these you would and then watch months later and say not this crap again watchable once only
Published 4 months ago by the reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars hohoho, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
Not a great film but not s bad film the effects could have been a lot better one of these you would and then watch months later and say not this crap again watchable once only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful!, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing even to say about this movie just that i had to turn it off after 15 minutes (surprised i even got that far) do not buy this trash its awful!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars awaful film, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
what a load of rubbish terrible quality to watch I sent it back don't waste your money on this dribble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish do not buy, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
Complete waste of money
Rubbish acting
Pathetic film
No good things to say about this film
Other than good way to fall a sleep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total Rubbish, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
I had never seen the original version of this "film" and I was aware of the mostly negative reviews of this so-called remake, but I love a good slasher film, so I decided to try it. However, this is not a good slasher film - in fact, it is an insult to even describe it as a film. Whoever wrote the favourable reviews on the cover of the DVD should be committed to a secure mental hospital, for the sake of film fans and future film production. This is the most amateurish, worse piece of so-called cinematic rubbish I have ever inflicted on my DVD player. The acting is on a par with a children's nativity play, the effects and sound quality reminded me of an old 1980s VHS video and don't even get me started on the so-called script. Please. do not waste your time or your money, which I am sure you value too much to waste on garbage like this. Watching this gave me a yearning for the Friday The 13th boxset that I own, which look like classics now compared to this rubbish. I wish that I could rate this lower than one, because one is way too much for this, but I am unable to, so it will have to suffice. Just take my advice, don't even think about buying this, because you really don't want your brain to be tarnished by its' memory. You will thank me later, trust me. Absolute rubbish of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not waste your money!, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
The original 'Silent Night, Bloody Night' (AKA 'Night of the Dark Full Moon') directed by Ted Gershuny and made in 1972 is a minor classic, pre-dating the more successful 'Black Christmas' (though actually sitting on the shelf for two years). Although low budget it introduced a lot of ideas which would influence the slasher genre, and has an eerie charm. This British version, directed by James Plumb, is an almost scene for scene remake, albeit with a few characters omitted and a few new ones added (for the simple purpose of increasing the body count). In short this film should have been titled 'Silent Night: Bloody Awful', because that's exactly what it is. I've no problem with it being low budget (as per the original), but the acting is appalling, the editing laborious, the effects passable, the sound diabolical and the score lame. I don't know where they got the favourable quotes from on the sleeve (which, by the way, is the only good thing about this movie) as it is a poor imitation that should be avoided at all costs. There's a daft post-title scene which makes zero sense and we're threatened with another chapter sub-titled 'Season's Greetings'. Pray it never gets released, or for that matter made! The sleeve indicates that there is a 'bonus feature' with the director's commentary - there isn't one! I don't know how James Plumb got away with crediting himself for writing this - it's clear plagiarism of Gershuny's original - which by the way gets no mention at all in either the start or end credits. Poor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring night, tedious night, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
I usually like to consider film reviews before buying a film and weigh up whether i am likely to enjoy whats on offer or not. However this was from a batch that i hastily purchased in an hmv during the last few minutes of the validity of my parking ticket in the shopping centre carpark.
This was a case of buy in haste, repent at your leisure.
I was taken in by a fairly professional looking cover sleeve and some promising review quotes from a couple of horror websites.
The reality of the film is far from it. Some of the effects and timings are shockingly bad, like someone having their neck slit when clearly the cut and the path of where the sinister masked villain dragged his blade across did not match at all. Or someone getting into their car and the sound of the door slamming occurs well before their door is shut.
I might be accused of being really pedantic but obvious errors always serve to remind you that you are watching a film, and every time you have that thought, you lose any feeling of suspense or interest.
Not much suspense is actually generated, the bulk of the film being set piece murders by a masked assailant of characters we havent got anywhere close to caring about, and people taking scary phone calls that sound like a local teenager is having a bit of fun with them.
I didnt watch it alone, so the only fun really to be had was in laughing at it, which i am assuming wasnt the intention. So based on that I could give it 2 stars, but it has to have only 1 based on how i wouldve enjoyed it had i watched it alone, if i had even been able to endure it all, which is doubtful.
If you like home-made looking silly horror slashers that are more funny than scary, you might like it. Otherwise, avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
What ever possessed me to buy such utter rubbish? The cover looks exciting and scary. I was soooo disappointed with this film. The acting is dire, the murders are not scary. It looks as if it is filmed in the 1960s! What a waste of my money. Would rather watch 'friday the 13th' parts one to whatever it is now!!! Avoid!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars keep silent, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
I will make this short, horrible movie. keep your money, don't know how the movie studios let this happen. I've now learnd that if a movie never made it to a movie theatre, it 's not good at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD] (DVD)
anyone watched it i have and was glued to this film The bit i would of liked more of is horror but apart from that i liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming [DVD]
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews