Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Keen on railways?
very informative and well written in an old fashioned style of english that conveys the atmosphere of the time.Read about an England thats gone.
Published 8 months ago by michaeltimms

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably best to buy the book
I bought this Kindle version to see whether it would be worth buying the book. The answer is "Yes". The Kindle version is riddled with spelling mistakes and other errors (for several pages towards the beginning the last two or three words on the right-hand end of each line are missing because the entire page has been shifted across to the right). Also the...
Published 22 months ago by W. Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably best to buy the book, 1 Feb 2013
By 
W. Adams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
I bought this Kindle version to see whether it would be worth buying the book. The answer is "Yes". The Kindle version is riddled with spelling mistakes and other errors (for several pages towards the beginning the last two or three words on the right-hand end of each line are missing because the entire page has been shifted across to the right). Also the adverts, illustrations and maps are all missing, as far as I can tell. However the main gripe is really directed at the Kindle itself rather than this particular book. The Kindle's problem is the poor quality of the software that drives it. There is no pagination system, and it is not possible to jump directly to any given page from a properly written index. All you can do is read on from one page to the next, which is fine for a simplistic novel but hopeless for this kind of publication. The best that can be said is that it is a cheap way to find out if you would be interested in shelling out a good deal more cash on the paper version. The answer in my case is "Yes", which is why I award 2 stars rather than 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the real thing, 11 April 2013
By 
Derek Sutton "dereksutton2" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
Some pages curtailed mid-line which rather detracts from the enjoyment of the book. Otherwise by using the 'place guide' at the bottom of each page you can skip between books (there are 4 of them in this one package) and chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curates Egg...., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating book of the time, digitisation has been poorly done but this does not remove the usefulness of this convenient reference.
Lack of illustrations, maps and advertisements removes some of the books charm. No attempt to knit the four books together has been made , with navigation difficult.
Each book does have an interactive contents page which navigates within that book , so just bookmark each books start and it works fine.
Books front pages are at Loc - 17, 5611, 12288, 18785. Hope this helps.
Why the publishers didn't do this at the front I do not understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm bradshaw would turn in his greave, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Chris J. Lloyd "Chris Lloyd" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
I have three passions. Trains, music & photography so when I saw this book tha Michael Portillo uses on his TV programme I thought I must have this. But no it just doesn't work.ihave 1000's of ebooks but this is one where you need to have a hard copy to flick through the pages.
I have since bought a hard copy which is really heavy but a joy to use.
This version is well done but lacking is all respects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars history, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating journey through rail and uk history. A good companion to Michael Portillo series using this book. The first for rail travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keen on railways?, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
very informative and well written in an old fashioned style of english that conveys the atmosphere of the time.Read about an England thats gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bradshaw's, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
VERY INTERESTING READING ABOUT HOW THINGS WERE.STILL RELEVANT TODAY THOUGH! Still finding places of interest!
Very good ebook! Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BRADSHAW'S RAILWAY HANDBOOK !866, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
Following Portillo's TV programmes wanted to see Bradshaw's book for myself. Found it of great industrial social and historical interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
i bought this book for my husband ,who is enjoying it a lot,he had been watching the t.v program,and found the book excelant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Of historic interest, 19 April 2013
By 
D. T. Maclagan "DTM" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Railway Handbook 1866: Complete Edition Volumes I-IV (Kindle Edition)
It is exactly what is says it is - a victorian travel guide, not particularly easy to find specific places but a good source of historic information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews