Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2014
Works nice. Connected 2 3Tb and 1 1.5Gb drive and can see all on my computer.
One thing though, it says that the case supports hot-swap of discs, which is not entirely true. While you can put in and take out drives without turning off the case, it will 'reset' its connection to the computer meaning that, in my case, all disks are forcefully removed without being unmounted. Beware if you happen to add or remove a drive while transferring stuff to/from another one...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Works well, a bit plastically, but for the price does what it's intended for, just don't expect blazing transfer speed
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
For best performance, this should be used with an eSata card. Got 3 x 3tb hard drives in it and all work fine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
As other have mentioned the door sealing with a magnet means the fan is going to struggle to cool the Hard drives inside.
I have used a peg to keep the door partially open to allow air flow to counteract this.

Otherwise its a well made box that looks good and is made of metal on the top and sides which should help with cooling despite the plastic door and rear section.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I have persevered with this enclosure at some length. Initially this worked fine, with a USB3 Card installed. However, within a short space of time backups failed with "Delayed Write Errors".

Disabling caching on the hard drives did not improve this problem.

The operating system was upgraded from Windows XP to Windows 7, on the grounds that this would provide a more stable operating platform.

However, no improvement in the performance or reliability has been seen, with failures to locate the Destination Drive and open the Source File at various times.

Trials were made with two different Backup Software programs with no difference in performance between them.

Backups made reverting to a USB2 port again provided no improvement

Backups made reverting to the original Iomega Single Enclosure USB drives resulted in consistent rock steady performance. .

The original reason for changing to the ICY 4 Bay enclosure was to eliminate multiple USB connecting leads and power supply connections. I have been disappointed in this objective.

Initial overheating of the drives during formating operations was cured by carefully drilling 5 x 8mm holes in the base of the unit at a position just behind the clamp plate for the drives. This provided an inlet for the cooling air flow - which was not provided by the designers of the unit. (This problem has previously been commented on by other reviewers).

The unit run adequately cool following this modification but still gave an unreliable performance as detailed above.

I suspect the problem to be within the firmware of the unit.

By reason of the backups provided being unreliable I have now ceased using the ICY 4 Bay Enclosure and reverted back to the separate Iomega drives.

I would expect a better performance for an enclosure (less drives) costing of the order of £100.

In view of the above I cannot personally recommend the unit.

jas
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The build quality of these units is very good and the box is very sturdy. Everything worked fine out of the box and I haven't had any issues at all, so reading some of the other negative reviews really comes as a surprise to me. I haven't got a bad thing to say about this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Works well, the only thing is when computer going to sleep icy box is turning off and after waking up system box don't turn on by it self, you have to turn it on manually. It's deal breaker if you have wake-on-lan server set up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
This enclosure worked fine until one day the power supply just stopped working! I am finding it very difficult to find a replacement with the same polarity. Has anyone else managed to fix this ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
A really sturdy box well made, unfortunately doesn't like Mac's, but really great and helpful service from Winningcomputer's.
Thank you guys would be happy to deal with them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I bought this enclosure to house 4x2TB WD disks RAID-ed to use as a Mac Time Machine backup disk in place of my Synergy NAS drive, which was running out of space. Mistake! The Synergy worked like a dream, with no intervention necessary. Man, what a disaster this ICY BOX is! Regardless of the fact that I've set system preferences to no longer turn the disks off on sleep, the disks do appear to sleep, and then Time Machine generates an error regarding creation of backup directories every time it subsequently tries to backup the Mac as the drives do not appear to spin up when accessed. Sleeping drives have never been an issue with other disk enclosures, so I can only put it down to the ICY BOX. So, no use if you want to use this enclosure for TM disks.

Other points:
a) Manual is rubbish, but thanks to earlier reviews here for explaining things.
b) Sound and temperature don't appear to me to be an issue.
c) Enclosure is black plastic; reasonably fine looking, if that's important to you!
d) When it works, data transfer appears pretty slow. Don't know if this is an iMac or enclosure issue; I'm using speedy WD Red disks, so wouldn't have thought that they are the issue. Mac is USB II though, so that won't help.

An update.... By searching the web for the same 'disk-sleep' issue I found that a new version of firmware has been released to resolve this problem. It partially works in that the disk stays available whilst the computer is awake, and so multiple Time Machine backups now occur. However, when the computer sleeps, the disk detects nothing on the USB line and therefore shutdown. When the computer re-awakes, the disk doesn't and thus no further backups take place until you manually switch on the disk. Also, exactly three months after purchasing the JBOD, the PSU died - looks like PSU QC is an issue when you consider the other reviewers having similar failures. By contacting the manufacturers direct, they pointed me to their reseller who then shipped a replacement PSU to me within the week.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.