Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!
I just can name this boxset as EXCELLENT! Comprehensive, with Peter Coyote walking you throughout the Roman history, presented as it was: full of crueliness, greed, blood and high civilization.
Watch the viaducts all over Europe, if you still have any doubts about Rome's power...
Highly recommended, folks!
Published on 14 Aug 2008

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a general appraisal of Roman times
This DVD boxset is, I feel, worth the money. It starts with the creation of the Roman republic, goes on through various themes and topics and ends with an explanation of the Goth sackings of Rome in 410. It seems to be a joint UK/USA production, so expect comments and explanations from both American and British scholars.

It is educational, although does...
Published on 9 May 2009 by Steve W


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a general appraisal of Roman times, 9 May 2009
By 
Steve W (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ancient Rome [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD boxset is, I feel, worth the money. It starts with the creation of the Roman republic, goes on through various themes and topics and ends with an explanation of the Goth sackings of Rome in 410. It seems to be a joint UK/USA production, so expect comments and explanations from both American and British scholars.

It is educational, although does slightly gloss over some important bits of Roman history. It's not comprehensive (forgivable because you'd need longer than 300 minutes to do this), but good if you only had a passing knowledge of ancient Rome.

It frequently compares the ideals of Rome to the ideals of the Founding Fathers of the U.S.

It does go through the main periods of Roman history, from its foundation as a province of the Etruscans, why Rome split from the Etruscans, its early days as a Republic, events leading up to it becoming an empire, days of empire and fall of empire. If you have an average (i.e. deficient) knowledge of Rome, it will educate you.

They didn't spend much money on filming scene recreations (unlike the excellent DVD - also available on Amazon - of "Ancient Rome - The Rise and Fall of an Empire", which was filmed with original footage), and tended to use old black-and-white footage from Hollywood blockbusters to illustrate points and historic events. But you got the idea, all the same.

Even with my limited knowledge of Roman history, I noticed some factual errors (they described Octavian as Caesar's son-in-law, when really he was his great-nephew, although Octavian later claimed Caesar as his adoptive "father").

Overall, though, worth the money if you do not know much about the Roman republic/empire and want a potted history. It is watchable, and for the money, I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No revelations here, 19 Oct 2008
This review is from: Ancient Rome [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was a bland documentary. It was very basic, with no new research. If you know anything at all about Rome, I don't think you will learn much from this. It's all old ground. The scholarship was quite poor. Legend and speculation were annoyingly related as though fact: the rape of the Sabine women, Lucretia and all that. The makers also had a pretty tedious way of comparing Rome to America whenever they could. It was clearly geared towards US audiences.

If you want a decent and insightful documentary on Rome, try the wonderful 'Ancient Rome: The Rise And Fall Of An Empire'. Engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly, 12 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Ancient Rome [DVD] (DVD)
This is about as low budget as it could be. There's no dramatisation at all to speak about, just occasional clips from old (black & white movies). Plus photographs and cardboard cut-out sets, all made exciting by panning the camera across them or zooming in and out. And all these laughable special effects repeated again and again from one dvd to another. This makes each dvd so similar that I keep forgetting which I've watched. You could only find this educational if you've never learnt anything about Rome before...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very American.., 13 Jun 2010
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ancient Rome [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary was clearly made for US consumption and may be jarring for the UK viewer to sit through. The basic facts are all there, that has to be said, but the production style and the fast cutting and use of reenactments is all a bit too much for me. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ancient Rome [DVD] (DVD)
This is the worst documentary set about Rome that I have ever seen. The presentation is completely boring. Its made in association with the Discovery Channel. But you wont discover anything new here. (except that you are now lighter in the purse for buying this tripe) Dont waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT buy, 30 Aug 2008
This review is from: Ancient Rome [DVD] (DVD)
Do NOT buy this. It is 300 minuts of radio were they use the same pictures again and again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 14 Aug 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ancient Rome [DVD] (DVD)
I just can name this boxset as EXCELLENT! Comprehensive, with Peter Coyote walking you throughout the Roman history, presented as it was: full of crueliness, greed, blood and high civilization.
Watch the viaducts all over Europe, if you still have any doubts about Rome's power...
Highly recommended, folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancient Rome (6 Disc) [DVD]
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews