Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The RPO plays the music of Rush.
If you are a Rush fan you really ought to listen to this album. I suppose it may be an advantage if you appreciate classical music, but even if you don't, I'm sure you would be interested to hear these alternative versions of some of Rush's songs. There are nine splendid arrangements here, with one or two little surprises; don't expect purely orchestra, there are male and...
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by basiltheanorak

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No no no !
Sorry - I like classical music. I'm also a big, huge Rush fan. But this has no merit other than satisfying a mild curiosity - whether the arranger's or us Rush fans. After reading positive reviews, I gave it a chance. It was like Radio 2's "Friday night is Music Night" does Rush. Yeugh. My mother might listen to it as background music, but I can't imagine anybody other...
Published 15 months ago by mentalasanything


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The RPO plays the music of Rush., 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a Rush fan you really ought to listen to this album. I suppose it may be an advantage if you appreciate classical music, but even if you don't, I'm sure you would be interested to hear these alternative versions of some of Rush's songs. There are nine splendid arrangements here, with one or two little surprises; don't expect purely orchestra, there are male and female soloists and choir making appearances, and there are rock style drums and guitar too. Buy the album to hear what is where, but what I will tell you is that Steve Rothery of Marillion plays on Working Man, and Adrian Smith of Iron Maiden plays on Red Barchetta. This a very cleverly conceived, arranged and executed piece of work. Pity there's only the first part of 2112, but there's only so much you can fit on one album! It's great. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And the meek shall inherit the earth ..., 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What's to say - I loved this!

I'm a long-time Rush fan. I first came to them when "Hold Your Fire" was the most recent album, though I started with "All the world's a stage" and "Fly by night". This is just a wonderful, fun, uplifting take on their music through the ages. Even better, it's something that can be put in in the background when non-Rush fans are there, and they'll just think it's classical background music :)

I especially loved the little vocal at the end of 2112 overture ...

If you like Rush, I suggest you grab this. If you don't like Rush, I'm not really sure why you're even reading this review :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual collection, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
I. Richardson (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That said as a life long Rush fan I had to give this a go, not a huge classical fan but there are a couple of gems on this, Subdivisions is a treat. All tracks are recognisable and fairly easy on the ear. Doubt I will play it much, I am to much of a Rush purist for this but for an occasional play in the car it was worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No no no !, 20 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Plays the Music of Rush (Audio CD)
Sorry - I like classical music. I'm also a big, huge Rush fan. But this has no merit other than satisfying a mild curiosity - whether the arranger's or us Rush fans. After reading positive reviews, I gave it a chance. It was like Radio 2's "Friday night is Music Night" does Rush. Yeugh. My mother might listen to it as background music, but I can't imagine anybody other than the arranger's family, or avid Rush collectors buying it, and definitely nobody listening to it properly a second time. Just doesn't work. Beethoven's symphonies, Verdi's operas, etc were written with a particular sound in mind: likewise Rush's.

If I was going to give it my best shot, I'd think of arranging Xanadu, or Natural Science. But this is just keeping an orchestra in work (nothing wrong with that - just prefer more creativity), and not art or entertainment.

Actually - now I'm off to see if I can find more by the arranger - something more creative, to give him a chance (he must like Rush, after all, so can't be all bad).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays the Music of Rush (Audio CD)
The orchestra did a fine job with the music but i was let down when the choir n solo singers joined in they lacked the guts for the lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A excellent addition to any Rush fan's collection. Good track selection well interprited with a few nice surprises really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Rush you will enjoy this, very easy to listen to and as a previous reviewer said, you can play this in the company of non-Rush fans who would probably enjoy it. The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra makes it more enjoyable. As a Rush fan, I cannot see the connection with the Dinosaur cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decent cd, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good unique attempt at re-creating the music of rush with a night at the proms feel. Much prefer the fully orchestrated tunes than the choral parts but nether the less a good easy listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome take on my favourite band, 27 April 2013
By 
C. Palmer (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first heard this i was slightly confused but soon grew to love it perfect for easy listening, almost as good musicianship as the masters themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rush, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays the Music of Rush (Audio CD)
Good to listen to in the car. There is some great guitar on here as well.
Worth buying. The cover is a bit strange though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plays the Music of Rush
Plays the Music of Rush by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews