Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Samsara.
I have recently seen Samsara at the cinema and it is superb. As the title suggests, it's about birth, life, and death. A collection of images from around the world set alongside an excellent musical soundtrack. The images you see are wonderfully shot and varied: some beautiful, some imaginative, some shocking, all are thought provoking. Images such as: Buddhists and...
Published 21 months ago by K. P. Borley

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dusappointing
Patchy and disjointed - does not hold together as "a meditation", as claimed. Overall, disappointing, especially given the high standard set by the earlier (& much better) Baraka.
Published 19 months ago by John Fulcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Samsara., 30 Dec 2012
By 
K. P. Borley "Little-bit-of-bread-and-no-cheese" (Battlesbridge, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have recently seen Samsara at the cinema and it is superb. As the title suggests, it's about birth, life, and death. A collection of images from around the world set alongside an excellent musical soundtrack. The images you see are wonderfully shot and varied: some beautiful, some imaginative, some shocking, all are thought provoking. Images such as: Buddhists and Buddhist Temples, scenes of the natural world, tribes from remote corners of the world (highlighting the contrasts of lives in the world today), a muscular tattooed man tenderly holding a baby, mass consumerism in the West, technology, fascinating images of people's faces (some not quite what they first seem), and some truths about the food industry that every Human Being should see. I could list hundreds but better just to let you watch the film. When the film ended at the cinema the audience stayed glued to their seats, unable to move as they tried to take in and come to terms with what they had just experienced. In an industry that nowadays seems largely to be about making as much money as possible by churning out shallow trash, how refreshing to have people like Fricke, doing it for the love of art, for the love of producing something worthwhile. I would say the best place to see Samsara is at the cinema but if you missed the opportunity then the next best thing would be to watch it on a large sized plasma/LCD screen with a good speaker set up. And on this occasion it's worth paying out the extra and getting it on blue-ray. Then get yourself comfortable, sit back, and enjoy a fantastic sensory experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 28 Jan 2013
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Both discs are essentially state of the art Blu-ray transfers that could serve as a reference in terms of home theatre visual quality. I remember Baraka from my college years - it's a great, unusual and contemplative movie. Samsara takes things even further with bolder and at times more disturbing imagery. These films will leave you reflecting on your very existence. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There but for the grace of someone go I [us], 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I thought the photography was beautiful and the music in both films great.
I did find the flow from image to image not quite what I expected and I was a little disappointed
In Samsara the chicken and pigs were confronting I guess that is a typical reaction by someone who really doesn't know nor really wants to know how the food gets to the shop !!! ignorance is bliss
Having said that the overall enjoyment was great as I keep telling my children 21 24 27 it is just an accident of birth that we all were born into a relatively free society and we didn't have to suffer the depravation and suffering that is depicted in those images, we ought to be far more thankful of our situation than we are.
I found the movies made me humble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful watch., 27 Jan 2013
By 
N. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A stunning visual display but a must in Blu Ray as the film was shot in 70mm and even Blu Ray doesn't do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touching, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
a beautiful portrait of humanity and what the world has become. a beautiful and emotional journey about the impacts of development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Vey nice movie, great quality of remastering to BluRay disk, highly recommended! Fast shipment of the item to Czech Republic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent quility in iamge and sound and the product was delivered on time, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The price of the package was a good opportunity to aquire two excelent movies in a good price. Both movies on BR has an excelent quality of image and sound.

The product was delivered according to schedule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Beautiful pictures, great music, strange places and people.
After watching the movie I had a lot of things to Think about.
Samsara is very similar to Baraka.
The same idea with little different pictures.
It is good idea to sell these movies together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a beautiful experience this movie is. Just sit back and bask in the most peaceful, meditative and thought provoking movie to be made without words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two magical, mystical, jaw-dropping audio-visual feasts !, 20 Jun 2014
By 
TheProf (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Baraka and Samsara are like nothing else I have ever watched on the big screen - they are like an audio-visual feast for the senses, leading you on a magical, mystical and very emotional journey across the world without need of any narration or dialogue. The cinematography is mind-blowingly good at times (I like it best on Samsara) and the audio and video of reference disk quality thanks to the 8k scanning and large format film stock that was used (see the included documentaries). I honestly didn't know whether I would like these films but Samsara in particular kept me hooked - my jaw dropped at the beauty and majesty of many of the scenes and some of them are near tear-inducing as well in the sad scenes they show us. The soundtracks are very nice too and perfectly fit the visuals. I love the fact that you can make what you like of the films - the lack of any dialogue or narration invites the viewer to make their own conclusions about the many slightly ambiguous scenes and the different themes and motifs running through the films. I came to these as a cinema fan but also as a photographer, and I was mesmerizewd by the beauty of the cinematography. Come to these open minded - what a refreshing change to the Hollywood blockbusters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray]
Samsara/Baraka [Blu-ray] by Ron Fricke (Blu-ray - 2013)
£14.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews