Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A labour of love
I'm guessing most of us have heard of the "venerable Bede" and that darn few have ever read him.

It's pretty daunting. I don't quite get why the page format is centre justified, it feels funny. In common with all Kindle books, footnotes really are tiresome (not this volumes fault).

Getting past the comprehensive introduction and preface I started...
Published on 27 July 2012 by Combat Wombat

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going but worth it
I'm still ploughing through this. It's one of those books to pick up and put down. Too heavyweight to be read in one sitting.
Published 23 months ago by Mrs. S. Bowhay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A labour of love, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm guessing most of us have heard of the "venerable Bede" and that darn few have ever read him.

It's pretty daunting. I don't quite get why the page format is centre justified, it feels funny. In common with all Kindle books, footnotes really are tiresome (not this volumes fault).

Getting past the comprehensive introduction and preface I started to read about an England I never knew about. I put my hand up that I am journeying through and have actively stopped reading because I want to slow down and enjoy the journey.

It most certainly is not light entertainment or an easy read. Nor is it tired, dry and remote school book facts. It's, well it's Bede. I feel richer and happier for having started travelling with him. CW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not everyone's taste., 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this at school. The work is full of divine verbal imagery, Bede's devotion to Christ (I'm an atheist) wonderful in its explanation of the quirks of history.
If you want to get into the mindset of pre-Norman, post-Roman England, this is the ideal starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going but worth it, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm still ploughing through this. It's one of those books to pick up and put down. Too heavyweight to be read in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bede's Ecclesiastical History of England, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bede's Ecclesiastical History of England (Kindle Edition)
Super reading for history students as it covers so much that is not taught in modern day history lessons, enhancing understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 12 Oct 2013
This review is from: Bede's Ecclesiastical History of England (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book well transcribed, essential reading for early Christianity in Britain studies. Well presented on Kindle Fire and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for history lovers, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bede's Ecclesiastical History of England (Kindle Edition)
One of the most important pieces of writing in the England of the seventh century.
This is a must for anyone who has an interest in history and who relishes the way our forbears
lived, worked, and created the rural and social economy of medieval times.
Full of interesting characters with often unpronouncible names. Full too of lively and amusing stories within the historical facts set out by Bede.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read , this is not just for those interested in religion as it is an integral part of the history of our country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a venerable account, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Few people in the period when Bede lived are remembered with such fondness and lack of criticism as he . This is his writing on what was understood at the time of the history about his people, based on some folklore, memories of contemporraries and general suppositions based on some evidence. Read this with a critical eye, but remember: he stands out as the historian who gave us a legacy of opinion, legend and story, writing clearly with scholarship and understanding from a Northern monastery about more obscure times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bede's Ecclesiastical History of England
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews