Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beard is not essential...
I would consider myself to be a folk fan although my music taste is very eclectic. I seem to have been born at the wrong time as my large music collection seems to be predominantly made up of 60's and 70's music from Zeppelin to Zappa and a large chunk of both my vinyl and cd collection would come under the heading of "folk". Folk music is often wrongly categorised online...
Published 19 months ago by Spiritwood

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg
For the price this is OK but as with all samplers, there's a compromise in terms of balancing well-known artists with those who are less well known.
Published 21 months ago by GuitarKev


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like folk but are confused by the sheer volume of music available, this album is an excellent place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars english folk, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent collection of 3 cd's really good value for money.Superb choice of tracks will appeal to just about almost anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eclectic mix, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just what the doctor ordered a good mix of music of varied age . good value for the money very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It really is a beginners guide!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real mix of folk music which at first listening seems to wide and diverse. But after a few plays it really begins to grow on you. Lots of unfamiliar artist and quirky songs but all really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More hits than misses, 6 Feb 2013
By 
L. J. Roberts (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with any compilation, there are going to be tracks that you don't enjoy as much as others. This cd is no different but, as an introductory compilation, it's. difficult to beat. A wide range of artists and styles are on show from which you can explore the genre in more depth if you so choose ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rounded selection of classics, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All of this, some very well known, others a pleasant surprise give a grand tour of what was/is and will be in the folk scene for sometime. Modern day classics rub shoulders with archive tracks and if you have any inkling towards this genre it's a great buy at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great selection of fairly current folk music, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good selection (3 CDs) of mainly fairly recent English folk music. I was surprised how up to date the music was not as many old tracks as I expected. However it is a good introduction to what is good in current folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable overview of the field, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At three discs for a fiver, you can't really go far wrong. In the worst case, you could rip a third of the tracks, burn a single CD and still get value for money! I'm pretty certain you'll like more than a third of the tracks however, assuming your tastes are vaguely in this area.
Not everything will satisfy the purist: there's a high proportion of what I'd classify as folk-rock and original material in a folk-ish style, but that's fair enough in a collection that aims to give an overview of the whole folk scene, so you can search out further material from the artists you like and simply not do so for the rest. For me, "Anarchy in the UK" just isn't a folk song even if it is played on a concertina, but it's still a track I'm happy to have in my collection as a novelty.
No doubt everyone with some knowledge of the area will identify their own list of artists who should have been included. Wot, no Albion Band or any other of Ashley Hutchings' projects? No Fairport? No Swarbrick?
Nevertheless, well worth getting if you know something of English folk music and want to hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all compilations, there's some god and some I wasn't fussed about - worth a listen to though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk album, 16 May 2009
Excellent album with lots of nostalia value.
Wide variety of artists and styles.
Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginners Guide To English Folk
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews