Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless musical gem from Jamal, master of the laid-back groove
This album was compiled from a live jazz club recording in 1958 at The Pershing Lounge, and originally released on vinyl by Chess Records.

The masterful Jamal trio, with Israel Crosby on bass and Vernel Fournier on drums, get into a good groove in front of an appreciative audience. The music has a lightness of feel (some of Jamal's critics have claimed he...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by The Guardian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dinner Jazz; Well played but still dinner jazz!
I seem to be out of kilter on this one. All the reviewers here give the album 5 stars and Allmusic gave it a 5 star review on its original release in 1958.

I am a life long jazz fan, now over 55 years, with catholic tastes. I hadn't had any contact with Jamal so I bought a copy of this well reviewed CD.

Jamal and trio (Israel Crosby (b) and Vernel...
Published 2 months ago by R. Bawden jazz fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless musical gem from Jamal, master of the laid-back groove, 31 Oct 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album was compiled from a live jazz club recording in 1958 at The Pershing Lounge, and originally released on vinyl by Chess Records.

The masterful Jamal trio, with Israel Crosby on bass and Vernel Fournier on drums, get into a good groove in front of an appreciative audience. The music has a lightness of feel (some of Jamal's critics have claimed he played "cocktail bar music") but at the same time rewards the listener who pays attention. Jamal is a truly great jazzman, not least because you don't need to be a jazz-obsessive to `get' his music: just sit back and enjoy.

Jamal's accessible, easy-to-listen-to piano style belies his musical virtuosity. Greatly admired by Miles Davis and by almost all top-line jazz musicians of the day, Jamal's playing has endured and is still entertaining, relaxing and - yes - even humorous.

At least two different editions of this album are available: the original with only 30-minute running time (but every minute a gem), and an expanded version titled `Complete live at The Pershing Lounge' with added tracks and extended running time. Whichever variant you have in your collection, it is likely to be played often.

If you get to like this, give the album titled `Ahmed's Blues' a listen. It's another live jazz club recording from the period and (if this is possible) it's even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class Act, 1 July 2008
"At the Pershing: But Not for Me" is considered a jazz classic. The Ahmad Jamal trio played on it and featured Jamal on piano, Israel Crosby on bass, and Vernel Fournier on drums.

Keith Jarrett, Jack DeJohnette, and Gary Peacock all cite Jamal as a major influence in use of rhythm and space as well as his innovative use of multi-tonal melodic lines. The element of surprise is an important part of Jamal's improvisations to them all.

Jamal's style has changed steadily over time - from the lighter, breezy style heard on his 1950s sides to the Caribbean stylings of the 1970s and onto the large open voicings and bravura-laden playing of the nineties.

Jamal has always been distinctive however for his use of space, his dramatic crescendos, and for a very staccato orientation with chords.

Clint Eastwood featured two recordings from Jamal's album But Not For Me -- "Music, Music, Music" and "Poinciana" -- in the 1995 movie The Bridges of Madison County.

The French government has inducted Ahmad Jamal into the prestigious Order of the Arts and Letters by French Culture Minister Renaud Donnedieu de Vabres , naming him Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres on June 2007.

So..... What are you waiting for?????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia - now 3d off !, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
Replacement copy..worn out by friends borrowing it.
A comfortable overcoat for these cooler days & nights.
At the Blackhawk perhaps due for replacement next....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New experience, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
As a life-long jazz lover, I had not listened to Ahmad Jamal's recordings until I bought the above CD.I can only say - my loss 'til now !
Miles rated him very highly and I can see why; - beautiful phrasing and dynamics. Must buy more Ahmad.
Right up there with Bill Evans. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Name of Ahmed Jamal on a CD says it all., 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
My type of Jazz, just play it and let the pleasure run over you, Ahmad Jamal never makes a less than 5-star record, this rates with the rest. This is an excellent way to relax. At times memories of George Shearing comes to mind and their is no greater comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piano heaven, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
It takes me right back to my mid-twenties when I heard this kind of music in Canada. Superb artiste !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice album, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
old school, piano playing is great, I actually brought this because I read that Jamie Cullum was inspired by this Ahmad Jamal and I can see why after listening to this album. (not saying you have to be a Cullum fan) ..its just how i heard about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and great value, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
With great DVD great value. I first heard Ahmad Jamal in late '50s. At over 80 now he's unbelievable. CD and DVD wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Jazz, 14 July 2014
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
The King of melodic jazz on top form. Surrounded by first rate musicians.
Can't compare him to bill Evans or Keith Jarratt, but excellent background music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dinner Jazz; Well played but still dinner jazz!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Pershing - But Not For Me (Audio CD)
I seem to be out of kilter on this one. All the reviewers here give the album 5 stars and Allmusic gave it a 5 star review on its original release in 1958.

I am a life long jazz fan, now over 55 years, with catholic tastes. I hadn't had any contact with Jamal so I bought a copy of this well reviewed CD.

Jamal and trio (Israel Crosby (b) and Vernel Fourier (d)) play a delightful "live" set at the Pershing Rooms.

The Hallmark release has no useful information on the enclosed leaflet, but the music is well recorded with excellent sound quality.

The set of 8 tunes is entertaining but rather "laid back", "cocktail bar" music. I have no adverse comments to make, but on the positive side all I can say is the music is well played (Jamal has obvious ability), is engaging and enjoyable. This music hasn't the drive of Erroll Garner's, the dexterity of Bud Powell's or Teddy Wilson's, the thrust of Dave Brubeck's or even home grown Stan Tracey, all contemporaries.

Sorry only 3 stars from me. However it is an inexpensive CD, so you will not waste money buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At The Pershing - But Not For Me
At The Pershing - But Not For Me by Ahmad Jamal (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews