Customer Reviews


306 Reviews
5 star:
 (233)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use this if you want to upgrade the new slim 12gb PS3
I have just used this mounting bracket to upgrade a PlayStation Slim 12gb console. I also bought a 2.5 inch 320gb SATA hard drive. The bracket is very easy to install and I had the hard drive fitted to the PlayStation in a matter of minutes. I saved a lot of money buying the 12gb PS3 and upgrading. The bracket is made by Sony and is good quality. It comes with...
Published 24 months ago by Russell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but instructions are wrong.
Does the job at a great price - however the instructions could be clearer; be aware that following the instructions to the letter will result in the drive not fitting.

The rubber grommets actually need to go through through the holes and sit with a rubber washer either side (to be fair, this is what you would expect); however the instructions tell you to use...
Published 5 months ago by P. Askew


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use this if you want to upgrade the new slim 12gb PS3, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
I have just used this mounting bracket to upgrade a PlayStation Slim 12gb console. I also bought a 2.5 inch 320gb SATA hard drive. The bracket is very easy to install and I had the hard drive fitted to the PlayStation in a matter of minutes. I saved a lot of money buying the 12gb PS3 and upgrading. The bracket is made by Sony and is good quality. It comes with instructions that are easy to understand. I would not hesitate to upgrade the 12gb PS3 if you need more memory, it is so quick and easy. I saved around £35 and the PS3 warranty is not affected by adding a hard drive.

I used this Hard Drive, also from Amazon - Western Digital Scorpio Blue 320GB 5400 RPM SATA Mobile Internal Hard Drive OEM (8 MB,2.5 inch,Sony Playstation PS3 Compatible)

I hope this review is of some use to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy install, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
The mounting bracket is very easy to use and supplied with clear instructions that anyone should be able to follow. All you need is a small phillips screwdriver, a 2.5" laptop HDD and 5 minutes of your time. Thanks to this I now have a PS3 SuperSlim 500GB for just over £150. (PS3 12gb for £110, £9 for this and £33 for 500GB HDD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job for upgrading a 12GB PS3 Super Slim, 7 Nov 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
The 12GB PS3 doesn't come with an internal HDD cage so you need this if you plan on adding a hard disk to the 12GB model.

This is an official Sony version it comes with instructions, 5 screws (four larger ones for attaching the hard drive, one small one to secure the cage in the PS3) You have 4 rubber grommets to attach to the 4 holes this helps keep noise/vibration down though 2.5" hard drives are fairly quiet anyway.

Put the rubber grommets on the 4 holes you should make sure the rubber is on both sides (inside and out there is a groove in each grommet) Screw in the hard drive with the connectors facing away from the metal tab where you fix it to the PS3

To install the cage: (turn off the PS3)
1: Put the PS3 on it's side with the Blu ray disc drive closest to you (the right hand side of the PS3), push and slide the cover in the direction away from you towards the back of the PS3, you don't need a screwdriver it just pops off
2: Slot in the hard drive and cage and use the single screw to attach the tab of the cage to the mounting bracket
3: Power on the PS3, the 12GB slim model will then prompt you automatically if you want to use the HDD for storage click yes it formats the drive and will then start copying the data from the internal flash memory to the hard disk
4: Go away and make a cup of tea for 10-15 mins or so to allow it to copy the data and it's ready to roll, PS3 12GB upgraded to hard disk drive.

If you ever remove/change the hard drive then the system will default to the internal flash memory so make sure to back up your data.

In terms of the bracket it's a simple pressed metal affair but it's cheap, easy to install and does the job just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for installing a PS3 drive, You can't really go wrong., 1 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
Perfect for anyone wanting to install either a new or old hard drive into the new PS3 12GB device that comes with no hard drive as standard.

This is a mounting bracket so you can secure your hard drive into your 12GB device properly, the build quality is good and the price is probably about right.

PS3s require a 5400rpm 2.5" hard drive, other drives will not work so please ensure you have the correct hard drive to install, any hard drives out of old PS3s will work.

Please bear in mind, when you install a new hard drive into a PS3 you will be forced to format it and will lose any data on the drive.

In short, does what you need it to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needed for fitting internal drive to PS3 Super Slim, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
This is needed if you are fitting an internal hard drive into a 12Gb PS3 Super Slim (the one that comes without a hard drive). I paired this with a <Toshiba MK3276GSX 2.5 inch 320GB 5400RPM SATA Internal Hard Disk Drive> bought from Amazon and all works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storage Upgrade for Superslim PS3, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
Bought a second-hand super slim 12gb PS3 (this uses flash storage for game saves etc.) I had a spare 2.5" SATA HDD, put it in this mounting bracket, slotted it in the PS3 the right way, turned on the PS3 and it asked if I wanted to use the HDD, I clicked yes it formatted it, hey presto, 320GB Super Slim PS3, after all the Bits and Bytes conversion ratios and hidden recovery partitions, formatted size is 292Gb-ish, still better than 12Gb.

My HDD is 9mm size so I don't know if anything bigger would fit so you will have to check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but instructions are wrong., 16 July 2014
By 
P. Askew (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
Does the job at a great price - however the instructions could be clearer; be aware that following the instructions to the letter will result in the drive not fitting.

The rubber grommets actually need to go through through the holes and sit with a rubber washer either side (to be fair, this is what you would expect); however the instructions tell you to use them as normal washers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! I didn't know that this was required to ..., 7 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
Brilliant! I didn't know that this was required to fit a hard drive, but saw it was frequently ordered with it so I ordered this to be safe. It went together perfectly and all worked first time. I fitted this in my grandsons PS3 without any problems and it's the first time I've done anything like this so very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This does the job fine instead of spending more money on the official sony ..., 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
I recently bought this as i got a superslim 12gb ps3 and need to upgrade the hard drive to play a GTA game. This does the job fine instead of spending more money on the official sony ones. It come with all the screws, all you need is any (sata 5400rpm 2.5inch hard drive) and a small screw driver then its job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, great price, horrendous instructions!, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket (Accessory)
Bought this alongside the Hitachi 500gb 500 GB 2.5 Inch for my PS3.

My only issue is the instructions were not at all clear. It took me 2 hours just to get the hard drive into the bracket, as it did not mention what to do with the rubber grommets it came with, meaning the hard drive wouldn't stay in and I did get quite worried I was damaging the drive. I can't remember how I did it but make sure the grommets are in the bracket as displayed in the image when putting the hard drive in. Following the instructions to the letter led to the drive being installed poorly.

However now that it's in I had zero issues putting it into the PS3 and installing the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket
Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket by Sony Computer Entertainment UK (PlayStation 3)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews