Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Blue Hawaii
Blue Hawaii was a great film, huge at the box-office, and massive selling on the music charts.
The movie itself grossed $14 million, the album hit #1 for 20wks in the US and #1 for 18 wks in Britain.
It is ranked 2nd on Billboard's top #1 albums between 1960-1969 and #9 on Billboards all time hot 100 albums, plus beingh the 9th longest album ever at #1 in...
Published on 8 Feb 2002 by joelight@aol.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A waste of the best voice on the planet
I purchased this cd to upgrade my vinyl collection. There are a few good tracks, notably "Blue Hawaii", "No More", "Can't Help Falling In Love", "Hawaiian Wedding Song", and "Hawaiian Sunset" which make this cd worth buying, but the remainder I can at best describe as average middle of the road. All these songs were recorded by Elvis in March 1961 for the film "Blue...
Published on 6 Sep 2011 by Colin Cramp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Blue Hawaii, 8 Feb 2002
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
Blue Hawaii was a great film, huge at the box-office, and massive selling on the music charts.
The movie itself grossed $14 million, the album hit #1 for 20wks in the US and #1 for 18 wks in Britain.
It is ranked 2nd on Billboard's top #1 albums between 1960-1969 and #9 on Billboards all time hot 100 albums, plus beingh the 9th longest album ever at #1 in Britain.
The amazing song Can't Help Falling in Love hit #2 in America and #1 in Britain, its the best song on the CD. Rock a Hula Baby is also very good, a fun twist style track.
No More is one of the best, its bordering on operatic, and of course Hawaiian Wedding Song is a favourite, although I prefer the live version from Elvis in Concert.
Some of the songs are out of context on an album, they are at home on the screen: this is hardly Elvis in Memphis, Moody Blue or Thats the Way it is, but it does compliment the film and has some fun alternate takes as a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis blue hawaii, 16 May 2010
By 
Ms. K. Lindsay "liverpool" (rochdale, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
bought as a gift and she thought the cd was great sound better quality loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good music but unfortunately a faulty download., 17 Aug 2014
By 
JLH (Clacton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (MP3 Download)
I have given this MP 3 download 5 stars for the content but unfortunately the first 2 tracks were faulty. Amazon refunded my money and I purchased the Cd 14 track version- the one with Elvis's Picture on the cover which came with a MP 3 download at a slightly cheaper price!
(I purchased something else taking my total over £10 avoiding p&p).

I have written a short review on the disc I ended up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blue Hawaii 22 tracks., 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
Very good CD but you don`t need all the extra songs, if you like the film go for the 14 track version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "King" of Rock and Roll, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
I offered to buy my wife the new Elvis Favourites Album for Christmas, she said no because she had all the tracks on compilations anyway, as she's in her sixties I though why not get her four favourite Albums on CD.
So I bought "G.I. Blues", Blue Hawaii", "King Creole" and "Elvis is Back". She loves them, she's not one for going over the top but she says that these are excellent.
So if you want to hear the "King" properly" you can't go wrong with one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Hawaii, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
Worth buying for the music if you're an Elvis fan - the plot is see-through but the location and music are superb,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis, 20 Oct 2013
Really good hearing all these tracks again Elvis at his best and really good value for money as are all music tracks on amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
Have the original LP and wanted the CD for playing in the car.
Loved the film when released and have watched it several times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. M. E. Melhuish (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
What can I say. Everyone loves Elvis and this cd did not disappoint. Excellent music for the party themed nights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A waste of the best voice on the planet, 6 Sep 2011
By 
Colin Cramp (Isle of Wight, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (Audio CD)
I purchased this cd to upgrade my vinyl collection. There are a few good tracks, notably "Blue Hawaii", "No More", "Can't Help Falling In Love", "Hawaiian Wedding Song", and "Hawaiian Sunset" which make this cd worth buying, but the remainder I can at best describe as average middle of the road. All these songs were recorded by Elvis in March 1961 for the film "Blue Hawaii". "Steppin' Out Of Line" was the only one not chosen to be featured in the film, being first released on the "Pot Luck" album in 1962. This was Elvis's 4th movie after leaving the US army in March 1960, and confirmed the direction of his career until 1968, the general standard of songs in his many awful films only worsening over this period. What a waste of the best voice ever heard on the planet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews