Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution is amazing 10/10
I watched this entire series on tv lastyear and loved it that much i am going to be buying the box set, its a very interesting show, good plots, twists and outcomes. I enjoyed watching each character grow and the show would give you flashbacks of before the blackout happened to show each characters story and background, all the leading characters are stand out amazing,...
Published 14 months ago by ceri

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somebody stop me, I'm JJ Abrams
I now understand that JJ Abrams cannot produce anything with meaning. This is another conceited attempt to tell us how good/evil we are and that,with the right direction, we can find salvation, hallelujah. Much has been written about the poor character development, shambolic script and embarrassing production values but this doesn't work because nobody who has lived on...
Published 9 months ago by Hellserch


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as Falling Skies..., 31 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
...and that's almost the best thing I can say about this.

It is a pretty good idea, and the Abrams involvement suckered me in. Every so often there's a flash of something great, but these are lost in the endless clichés and moronic 'plots'. My partner and I had some fun predicting lines and events before they occurred, but even we didn't expect to be cheering when the 'heroes' died.

I think some other review commented that Charlie Matheson is THE most irritating character since Jack's daughter in the first season of 24. I was actively rooting for something terrible to happen to her from about episode three.

Tedious flag waving; ridiculous, illogical plots like the subway tunnel that ran out of oxygen (??????), the lack of sailing boats, bicycles, diesel vehicles etc etc. Why does nobody pick up any weapons, and where did the cool crossbow go???

Sigh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic Garbage., 29 Aug. 2014
How did this get to end of series one?
Bad bad bad bad acting.
Contrived, insulting rubbish.
The number of opportunities missed to end the series is criminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars That was a season closer??, 6 Oct. 2014
What a dreadful convoluted season closer! Even the editor was bored in the last two episodes with shoddy cuts. People appearing from thin air in the nick of time to save friends. Bendy bullets and explosives that seem to pass right round main characters even in confined spaces are just laughable, Main characters with perfect aim picking off soldiers one shot one kill... until it's another main character in their sites. Don't even get me started on the pearly white teeth, clean hair, makeup, clothes.
This series is as bad as lost was for convoluted storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love it hate it love it hate it love it, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I love the scale of this thing and the unexpected twists and turns. Its also great to have the entire series in one box as I don't think I could wait for a weekly dose. The only reason it doesn't get a five start from me is that if I see another lingering close up of Rachel Matheson as she mentally plots something incredibly meaningful, then I might just switch my own electricity off for ever. And that's the only problem with this series.... a good idea has been strung out and stretched to a point where it becomes tiresome. I'll still be buying series 2 tho......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I disagree, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Everyone is saying how awful Revolution is. I strongly disagree. A lot of people have gone into watching the series with the thought that it is going to be a brand new idea with no similarities to any other shows. This is however practically impossible as the majority of film and tv show ideas have already been done.

I think that this show is brilliant because it takes a known storyline and changes it around and gives it a new beginning. Ok the actors cast may look like they should all be models, but if you were in an apocalyptic world where you could only grow food, surely you would lose weight too.

If you start watching this show with the thought that it has been done but in a different way, you would really enjoy it. Don't watch it with really high expectations otherwise you will end up disappointed.

On the whole, I really enjoy this show and would happily recommend it to others, :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Erm. . . .no, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As you'll already know what Revolution is all about (or at least read in a review elsewhere), I'll cut to the chase and offer my honest, fair opinion.
It is all pretty vanilla; a show probably best suited for older teens (or those capable of overlooking the DOZENS of logical inconsistencies the writers fail to address). It isn't horribly offensive on an intellectual level (like Twilight is), and is okay if you just want to turn your brain off for forty minutes and unwind.
But. . . .
You'll have to have faith and just go with it, because if you actually start to question what you are watching, the show will be ruined. Example: The heroes are trying to stop the Monroe Republic (villains) from gaining access to the electricity which would allow them to activate missiles and mobilise machines of war. However, we are never told why this would be a bad thing. The 'villains' want to establish some kind of law, and stop the indiscriminate slaughter out in the badlands. So, within the confines of the show's logic, law, order, peace and prosperity are BAD things. Okay. . .
And surely the Monroe Republic, in possession of electricity, could begin to manufacture medicines, reestablish hospitals and schools, and just generally help the world regain some semblance of civilisation?
Meanwhile, our 'heroes' (who must be good because they have Old Glory tattoos), do their best to foil the Monroe Republic at every turn, and generally keep the world in the Dark Ages. . .
None of the above is helped by the fact that the bad guys are generally more likeable and well rounded characters than the good guys.
Revolution isn't the worst kind of Hollywood cheese, but it isn't too far off. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I've watched the season all the way through a few times now and it gets more addictive each time. It's an interesting concept and the story lines are intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An unpleasant rewrite of history posing as future dystopia, 18 Aug. 2014
This is an ok ish show with a abc level plot line and an unpleasant offensive subplot that comes over like an right wing wish list of how life should be post the civil war. All the main characters are one dimensional and predictable . The actress who plays Charley relies too much on her big blue eyes to be convincing. All the African American characters are either baddies or ineffectual side kicks. Nora when not toting a gun is wasted and underused in the later episodes. Like I said it feels like a high school level middle American re write of history. It has potential but I can't see it improving, its found a formula that is unchallenging and easy to work with and watch if you can put up with the bad acting and dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Max for the 21st century, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mad Max for the 21st century - Mad Miles. Billy Burke is well cast with his dead pan humour and there's good character development, you can't always second guess whose going to survive. So full of suprises. This post apocalyptic storyline has an original take, just don't scrutinize it too much or you'll spoil it for yourself. Switch off and be entertained. Its good fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than i thought it was going to be!, 20 Sept. 2014
By 
I had added this to my prime instant video account but had ignored it for a while because i thought it would be another predictable series. I was wrong as i really enjoyed it. I was gripped from the start and cannot wait until season 2 is put on prime instant video. I especially likes the characters Myles Matheson and Sebastian Monroe! Sigh.............................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by David Lyons (DVD - 2013)
£10.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews