Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution is amazing 10/10
I watched this entire series on tv lastyear and loved it that much i am going to be buying the box set, its a very interesting show, good plots, twists and outcomes. I enjoyed watching each character grow and the show would give you flashbacks of before the blackout happened to show each characters story and background, all the leading characters are stand out amazing,...
Published 14 months ago by ceri

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somebody stop me, I'm JJ Abrams
I now understand that JJ Abrams cannot produce anything with meaning. This is another conceited attempt to tell us how good/evil we are and that,with the right direction, we can find salvation, hallelujah. Much has been written about the poor character development, shambolic script and embarrassing production values but this doesn't work because nobody who has lived on...
Published 9 months ago by Hellserch


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution is amazing 10/10, 30 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I watched this entire series on tv lastyear and loved it that much i am going to be buying the box set, its a very interesting show, good plots, twists and outcomes. I enjoyed watching each character grow and the show would give you flashbacks of before the blackout happened to show each characters story and background, all the leading characters are stand out amazing, you wont ve disappointed its a must see and season two is showing online and on sky right now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good plot, good acting!, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This series has the makings of a long term excellent show, that I hope will be renewed and continue for years. The power is off, but why? And can it ever return? These are the questions that the show is working towards answering and the character relationships that develop along the way are also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somebody stop me, I'm JJ Abrams, 19 Aug. 2014
I now understand that JJ Abrams cannot produce anything with meaning. This is another conceited attempt to tell us how good/evil we are and that,with the right direction, we can find salvation, hallelujah. Much has been written about the poor character development, shambolic script and embarrassing production values but this doesn't work because nobody who has lived on this planet could believe the direction this world takes. It is not dystopian rather it belongs in a kind of Harry Potter universe (which it shamelessly namechecks) in which people are constantly flashbacked into life and the living pass for energised zombies.

We cease to care and the racial stereotypes and deaths in this reminded me of a modern Birth of a Nation. How many Uncle Ned's and Aunt Jemmima's can you have in one serious. Why do nearly all the characters of colour have to die? Give it up JJ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fashion retailers and cosmetic dentistry all survived the great blackout, amazing, 16 July 2014
By 
Mr. M. Cassidy "Cassidma" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolute tripe, civilization stopped 15 years ago but apparently hair stylists, beautox, fashion retailers and cosmetic dentistry all survived the great blackout, amazing!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They've been captured... Now they've escaped.... Wait, they've been captured again..., 26 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Nice idea, shame about the execution.

I'm not going to elaborate further on the points made by other reviewers (such as the lack of realism in the setting & the actors' appearance) - Other than to underline how truly dreadful the acting and scripting truly is. I started to watch this after I realised that 'Gus Fring' (Giancarlo Esposito) from the truly outstanding 'Breaking Bad' series was starring in this, little was I prepared for a show that was so utterly shambolic, I'm really struggling to put words together. Agree, it is a 'good idea' - But without any really convincing characters, and utterly dreadful script writing there was nothing to hold my interest past 5 or 6 episodes, the majority of which I had to force myself to watch, waiting for the hidden depth to emerge. It didn't. Nor will it. Cynics will claim I didn't give it time; I will assert that no matter how much time I gave it, the actors will not improve their craft, nor will the daft story-lines improve.

There are clearly a number of nods towards Stephen King within this show, but whereas he (in a similar way to Breaking Bad, or indeed the similarly excellent Game of Thrones) would craft interest and tension from a slowly building storyline, 'Revolution' is in too much of a hurry to move things along; Characters captured & escaping multiple times in an episode feels like over-eager story-writers trying to make up for inability to create any depth in the characters, and situations they encounter.

It's clearly popular with some - I can respect the views of others, after all we're just here to share opinions. But this really wasn't for me - If you like shows along the lines of The Wire, the aforementioned Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, Mad Men, Game of Thrones et al - This one is probably best left alone.

Oh, they've been captured, no wait, they escaped, or have they been captured again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible plot holes so obvious that a 5 year old ..., 14 Nov. 2014
Terrible plot holes so obvious that a 5 year old should be able to spot them, the most absurd example, without giving too much of a spolier away, is one which the whole episode is based around, the group enter an old train subway system, miles of huge tunnels connecting dozens of stations, yet as soon as they enter this system the tunnel behind them ends up being blocked, within a couple of minutes they start experiencing hullicinations which is apparently down to lack of oxygen. Seriously how ridiculous is this?

This could have been a very good series, if the future series are tightened up and more intelligent plots and story lines then it would be 5, but like most new series it needs to find its feet still. if you watch this without engaging a brain cell to think about what is going on then yes give it a 5 stars, but for me its 2 at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same Dystopia, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 (DVD)
If you've seen 'Jericho', this is a poorer version of it. World goes to pot, humans start behaving like bloodthirsty animals, the strong prey on the weak, you're not a real man unless you can kill, etc etc. Never seen a dystopian drama concentrating on people struggling to remain civil in spite of real hardship, or the fight to try and make a bad situation better - no novel ways to cope with human trials; instead it's always about watching the obligatory murder/violence/hopelessness etc, and the struggle for the viewer to remain sane while trying not to want everyone annoying to get killed. 'Lowest common denominator' type drama, nothing to differentiate it from anything else in its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful but watchable, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very holely when it comes to describing the future world. They cast is all clean and shiny. They have lovely, fitted clothes and nice boots (15 years after the factories closed); the militia have time to visit the gym as they are all muscly (yes, today's military do go to the gym, but that's because they have transport - future militia wouldn't have time for the gym, having to walk everywhere); no-one looks hungry or thin. Oh and oddly the wildlife (deers etc) seems to have survived nicely thank you - I would have thought they would have been hunted to extinction as people left the cities.

And then we get the script. "People who stayed in the cities all died". Where did they find the uncle...in the city, which was doing OK thank you. Monroe has been looking for the two brothers for 15 years, but he's obviously not looked very hard because one was within a couple of days' walk of the city they started from, and the other was...in the city.

Guns are amusing too. There is a constant running sub-plot about the lack of guns for the general population. The militia are the only ones allowed to have them. I can see how this might cause most Americans' teeth to start grinding "take away our guns...that's our civil liberties". To the majority of the other nations in the world, they wouldn't really understand how upsetting that is - they would probably shrug and say "law and order maintained in a world of anarchy by removing firearms...sensible idea." To carry forward modern views about weaponry, when everything else (computer programmers becoming farmers etc) has changed, seems stupid.

All that said, it's quite well put together, and the lead characters are strong and generally put in good performances. There's just enough plot (if you smile at the comments above) to keep you bumbling along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No brain needed, 20 July 2014
Not a very well thought out series, plots and theme's just don't make sense. Weapons are just not real, flint locks ! Bows and arrows, but I think most American's have some kind of gun, hand gun, or semi automatic weapon in their home. Then did all the hand grenades all used up, explosives such as dynamite, nitro . Uh then the encampment was just like an old civil war re enactment, ok no dome tents then ? I'm just waiting to see if they roll out any cannons. Small things like wind water pumps, pump water from wells, flour mills, ok like the world ended, so did all the scientists as well by this series. If your not bothered about small things, it may be ok for you. Otherwise, no brain needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what would happen if everything electronic in the world just stopped working, 13 Oct. 2012
By 
Storms EniGma (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
7/10
very interesting idea, 16 years after everything electronic in the world mysteriously stops working. The world becomes almost medievil with guns and is run by malitia.
Tracy Spiridakos in the lead roll of Charlie is the real highlight to the show, she is indeed stunning. Charlie is on a quest to save her brother who has been taken captive by the malitia and gains the reluctant help from her long lost uncle Miles.
At times the story can get a little cheesy, especially some of the sword fights, but it is only the first season and most sci fi shows dont tend to find their feet until the 2nd series and this show has plenty of potential and has cult following written all over it.
At the very least for the male population Tracy Spiridakos is captivating enough to give this show a go, fingers crossed it blossoms into its full potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by David Lyons (DVD - 2013)
£11.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews