Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution is amazing 10/10
I watched this entire series on tv lastyear and loved it that much i am going to be buying the box set, its a very interesting show, good plots, twists and outcomes. I enjoyed watching each character grow and the show would give you flashbacks of before the blackout happened to show each characters story and background, all the leading characters are stand out amazing,...
Published 5 months ago by ceri

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average.
How much you enjoy this depends entirely on your ability to switch off your brain before watching. It reminds me a little of Steven King's 'The Stand', but without the gritty realism, interesting characters, and strong plot. The story moves incredibly slowly, and at least half of the running time seems to be taken up by action sequences. Average mindless fun.
Published 12 days ago by roger adams


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution is amazing 10/10, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I watched this entire series on tv lastyear and loved it that much i am going to be buying the box set, its a very interesting show, good plots, twists and outcomes. I enjoyed watching each character grow and the show would give you flashbacks of before the blackout happened to show each characters story and background, all the leading characters are stand out amazing, you wont ve disappointed its a must see and season two is showing online and on sky right now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good plot, good acting!, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This series has the makings of a long term excellent show, that I hope will be renewed and continue for years. The power is off, but why? And can it ever return? These are the questions that the show is working towards answering and the character relationships that develop along the way are also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution-Season 1(DVD) (2013), 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have seen the series of this DVD on TV, and thoroughly enjoyed it. So have bought this Dvd as a present, for a friend. It captures you from the onset, and twists and turns in the plot. Really recommend this Dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I've watched the season all the way through a few times now and it gets more addictive each time. It's an interesting concept and the story lines are intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average., 5 Sep 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
How much you enjoy this depends entirely on your ability to switch off your brain before watching. It reminds me a little of Steven King's 'The Stand', but without the gritty realism, interesting characters, and strong plot. The story moves incredibly slowly, and at least half of the running time seems to be taken up by action sequences. Average mindless fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GUILTY PLEASURE FOR MANY, CRUSHING DISAPPOINTMENT FOR SOME, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fifteen years ago the world's electricity suddenly ceased. In America (nothing learned about elsewhere) nature has taken over, as has the militia. What hopes for rebels against tyranny - crossbows and swords surely no match for revolvers and machine guns? Twenty episodes follow the trials and tribulations of the Matheson family and associates.

The initial premise intrigues. Much money has certainly been spent on the overall look of the show. Sadly, though, here is yet another example of failure to create firm foundations upon which to build. Nothing holds up, certainly not the reasons for the electricity shutdown in the first place. Most characters are shallow, they simply not thought through, some actors visibly floundering whilst jerked from one contrived situation to another. Episodes are crammed with inconsistencies - captures, risible escapes, people popping out of nowhere just in time to save threatened colleagues - some bewilderingly changing sides (often back again). Much is so loosely put together, at times it seems as though key linking scenes have been missed out.

Thank goodness for Giancarlo Esposito (he excellent as charismatic villain Gus in "Breaking Bad")! Here at least is a hint of substance, he coping better than most with decidedly dodgy scripts. Particularly unconvincing is the relationship between "hero" Miles and psychotic would-be dictator Monroe. Flashbacks reveal them to be blood brothers who have fallen out, their ongoing feud apparently the reason for much of the mayhem. Just one example of the absurdities that abound? SPOILER ALERT! Monroe rounds up everybody in their home town and threatens to burn them to death unless Miles surrenders. The series ends with an action by Miles that defies belief - a glaring ludicrous ploy to help ensure a second season.

Spectacle is great, explosions many, body count high. (In fact most of the cast seem to be there either to shoot or to be shot at.) The hope must be that high-speed action, so many twists and turns, will encourage viewers not to question too closely the psychology of it all.

This is one of those rare occasions when everything probably worked better when originally shown on the screen. The DVD version, with episodes seen in quick succession, merely draws attention to the weaknesses.

Bonuses include deleted scenes, five Webisodes, a twenty minute feature on the making. As ever it fascinates to see how some of the special effects were achieved, whole landscapes transformed thanks to the wonders of technology.

Many seem to like the series exactly as it is, this ideal escapist entertainment at the end of a long day. Others will regret so many wasted opportunities, they wishing everything had been more convincingly structured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as Falling Skies..., 31 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
...and that's almost the best thing I can say about this.

It is a pretty good idea, and the Abrams involvement suckered me in. Every so often there's a flash of something great, but these are lost in the endless clichés and moronic 'plots'. My partner and I had some fun predicting lines and events before they occurred, but even we didn't expect to be cheering when the 'heroes' died.

I think some other review commented that Charlie Matheson is THE most irritating character since Jack's daughter in the first season of 24. I was actively rooting for something terrible to happen to her from about episode three.

Tedious flag waving; ridiculous, illogical plots like the subway tunnel that ran out of oxygen (??????), the lack of sailing boats, bicycles, diesel vehicles etc etc. Why does nobody pick up any weapons, and where did the cool crossbow go???

Sigh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful but watchable, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very holely when it comes to describing the future world. They cast is all clean and shiny. They have lovely, fitted clothes and nice boots (15 years after the factories closed); the militia have time to visit the gym as they are all muscly (yes, today's military do go to the gym, but that's because they have transport - future militia wouldn't have time for the gym, having to walk everywhere); no-one looks hungry or thin. Oh and oddly the wildlife (deers etc) seems to have survived nicely thank you - I would have thought they would have been hunted to extinction as people left the cities.

And then we get the script. "People who stayed in the cities all died". Where did they find the uncle...in the city, which was doing OK thank you. Monroe has been looking for the two brothers for 15 years, but he's obviously not looked very hard because one was within a couple of days' walk of the city they started from, and the other was...in the city.

Guns are amusing too. There is a constant running sub-plot about the lack of guns for the general population. The militia are the only ones allowed to have them. I can see how this might cause most Americans' teeth to start grinding "take away our guns...that's our civil liberties". To the majority of the other nations in the world, they wouldn't really understand how upsetting that is - they would probably shrug and say "law and order maintained in a world of anarchy by removing firearms...sensible idea." To carry forward modern views about weaponry, when everything else (computer programmers becoming farmers etc) has changed, seems stupid.

All that said, it's quite well put together, and the lead characters are strong and generally put in good performances. There's just enough plot (if you smile at the comments above) to keep you bumbling along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same Dystopia, 27 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 (DVD)
If you've seen 'Jericho', this is a poorer version of it. World goes to pot, humans start behaving like bloodthirsty animals, the strong prey on the weak, you're not a real man unless you can kill, etc etc. Never seen a dystopian drama concentrating on people struggling to remain civil in spite of real hardship, or the fight to try and make a bad situation better - no novel ways to cope with human trials; instead it's always about watching the obligatory murder/violence/hopelessness etc, and the struggle for the viewer to remain sane while trying not to want everyone annoying to get killed. 'Lowest common denominator' type drama, nothing to differentiate it from anything else in its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They've been captured... Now they've escaped.... Wait, they've been captured again..., 26 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Nice idea, shame about the execution.

I'm not going to elaborate further on the points made by other reviewers (such as the lack of realism in the setting & the actors' appearance) - Other than to underline how truly dreadful the acting and scripting truly is. I started to watch this after I realised that 'Gus Fring' (Giancarlo Esposito) from the truly outstanding 'Breaking Bad' series was starring in this, little was I prepared for a show that was so utterly shambolic, I'm really struggling to put words together. Agree, it is a 'good idea' - But without any really convincing characters, and utterly dreadful script writing there was nothing to hold my interest past 5 or 6 episodes, the majority of which I had to force myself to watch, waiting for the hidden depth to emerge. It didn't. Nor will it. Cynics will claim I didn't give it time; I will assert that no matter how much time I gave it, the actors will not improve their craft, nor will the daft story-lines improve.

There are clearly a number of nods towards Stephen King within this show, but whereas he (in a similar way to Breaking Bad, or indeed the similarly excellent Game of Thrones) would craft interest and tension from a slowly building storyline, 'Revolution' is in too much of a hurry to move things along; Characters captured & escaping multiple times in an episode feels like over-eager story-writers trying to make up for inability to create any depth in the characters, and situations they encounter.

It's clearly popular with some - I can respect the views of others, after all we're just here to share opinions. But this really wasn't for me - If you like shows along the lines of The Wire, the aforementioned Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, Mad Men, Game of Thrones et al - This one is probably best left alone.

Oh, they've been captured, no wait, they escaped, or have they been captured again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by David Lyons (DVD - 2013)
£8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews