Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution is amazing 10/10
I watched this entire series on tv lastyear and loved it that much i am going to be buying the box set, its a very interesting show, good plots, twists and outcomes. I enjoyed watching each character grow and the show would give you flashbacks of before the blackout happened to show each characters story and background, all the leading characters are stand out amazing,...
Published 8 months ago by ceri

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Erm. . . .no
As you'll already know what Revolution is all about (or at least read in a review elsewhere), I'll cut to the chase and offer my honest, fair opinion.
It is all pretty vanilla; a show probably best suited for older teens (or those capable of overlooking the DOZENS of logical inconsistencies the writers fail to address). It isn't horribly offensive on an intellectual...
Published 2 months ago by Richard Marriott


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution is amazing 10/10, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I watched this entire series on tv lastyear and loved it that much i am going to be buying the box set, its a very interesting show, good plots, twists and outcomes. I enjoyed watching each character grow and the show would give you flashbacks of before the blackout happened to show each characters story and background, all the leading characters are stand out amazing, you wont ve disappointed its a must see and season two is showing online and on sky right now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolution-Season 1(DVD) (2013), 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have seen the series of this DVD on TV, and thoroughly enjoyed it. So have bought this Dvd as a present, for a friend. It captures you from the onset, and twists and turns in the plot. Really recommend this Dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I've watched the season all the way through a few times now and it gets more addictive each time. It's an interesting concept and the story lines are intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good plot, good acting!, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This series has the makings of a long term excellent show, that I hope will be renewed and continue for years. The power is off, but why? And can it ever return? These are the questions that the show is working towards answering and the character relationships that develop along the way are also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Erm. . . .no, 20 Oct 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As you'll already know what Revolution is all about (or at least read in a review elsewhere), I'll cut to the chase and offer my honest, fair opinion.
It is all pretty vanilla; a show probably best suited for older teens (or those capable of overlooking the DOZENS of logical inconsistencies the writers fail to address). It isn't horribly offensive on an intellectual level (like Twilight is), and is okay if you just want to turn your brain off for forty minutes and unwind.
But. . . .
You'll have to have faith and just go with it, because if you actually start to question what you are watching, the show will be ruined. Example: The heroes are trying to stop the Monroe Republic (villains) from gaining access to the electricity which would allow them to activate missiles and mobilise machines of war. However, we are never told why this would be a bad thing. The 'villains' want to establish some kind of law, and stop the indiscriminate slaughter out in the badlands. So, within the confines of the show's logic, law, order, peace and prosperity are BAD things. Okay. . .
And surely the Monroe Republic, in possession of electricity, could begin to manufacture medicines, reestablish hospitals and schools, and just generally help the world regain some semblance of civilisation?
Meanwhile, our 'heroes' (who must be good because they have Old Glory tattoos), do their best to foil the Monroe Republic at every turn, and generally keep the world in the Dark Ages. . .
None of the above is helped by the fact that the bad guys are generally more likeable and well rounded characters than the good guys.
Revolution isn't the worst kind of Hollywood cheese, but it isn't too far off. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average., 5 Sep 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
How much you enjoy this depends entirely on your ability to switch off your brain before watching. It reminds me a little of Steven King's 'The Stand', but without the gritty realism, interesting characters, and strong plot. The story moves incredibly slowly, and at least half of the running time seems to be taken up by action sequences. Average mindless fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful but watchable, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very holely when it comes to describing the future world. They cast is all clean and shiny. They have lovely, fitted clothes and nice boots (15 years after the factories closed); the militia have time to visit the gym as they are all muscly (yes, today's military do go to the gym, but that's because they have transport - future militia wouldn't have time for the gym, having to walk everywhere); no-one looks hungry or thin. Oh and oddly the wildlife (deers etc) seems to have survived nicely thank you - I would have thought they would have been hunted to extinction as people left the cities.

And then we get the script. "People who stayed in the cities all died". Where did they find the uncle...in the city, which was doing OK thank you. Monroe has been looking for the two brothers for 15 years, but he's obviously not looked very hard because one was within a couple of days' walk of the city they started from, and the other was...in the city.

Guns are amusing too. There is a constant running sub-plot about the lack of guns for the general population. The militia are the only ones allowed to have them. I can see how this might cause most Americans' teeth to start grinding "take away our guns...that's our civil liberties". To the majority of the other nations in the world, they wouldn't really understand how upsetting that is - they would probably shrug and say "law and order maintained in a world of anarchy by removing firearms...sensible idea." To carry forward modern views about weaponry, when everything else (computer programmers becoming farmers etc) has changed, seems stupid.

All that said, it's quite well put together, and the lead characters are strong and generally put in good performances. There's just enough plot (if you smile at the comments above) to keep you bumbling along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as Falling Skies..., 31 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
...and that's almost the best thing I can say about this.

It is a pretty good idea, and the Abrams involvement suckered me in. Every so often there's a flash of something great, but these are lost in the endless clichés and moronic 'plots'. My partner and I had some fun predicting lines and events before they occurred, but even we didn't expect to be cheering when the 'heroes' died.

I think some other review commented that Charlie Matheson is THE most irritating character since Jack's daughter in the first season of 24. I was actively rooting for something terrible to happen to her from about episode three.

Tedious flag waving; ridiculous, illogical plots like the subway tunnel that ran out of oxygen (??????), the lack of sailing boats, bicycles, diesel vehicles etc etc. Why does nobody pick up any weapons, and where did the cool crossbow go???

Sigh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible plot holes so obvious that a 5 year old ..., 14 Nov 2014
Terrible plot holes so obvious that a 5 year old should be able to spot them, the most absurd example, without giving too much of a spolier away, is one which the whole episode is based around, the group enter an old train subway system, miles of huge tunnels connecting dozens of stations, yet as soon as they enter this system the tunnel behind them ends up being blocked, within a couple of minutes they start experiencing hullicinations which is apparently down to lack of oxygen. Seriously how ridiculous is this?

This could have been a very good series, if the future series are tightened up and more intelligent plots and story lines then it would be 5, but like most new series it needs to find its feet still. if you watch this without engaging a brain cell to think about what is going on then yes give it a 5 stars, but for me its 2 at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somebody stop me, I'm JJ Abrams, 19 Aug 2014
I now understand that JJ Abrams cannot produce anything with meaning. This is another conceited attempt to tell us how good/evil we are and that,with the right direction, we can find salvation, hallelujah. Much has been written about the poor character development, shambolic script and embarrassing production values but this doesn't work because nobody who has lived on this planet could believe the direction this world takes. It is not dystopian rather it belongs in a kind of Harry Potter universe (which it shamelessly namechecks) in which people are constantly flashbacked into life and the living pass for energised zombies.

We cease to care and the racial stereotypes and deaths in this reminded me of a modern Birth of a Nation. How many Uncle Ned's and Aunt Jemmima's can you have in one serious. Why do nearly all the characters of colour have to die? Give it up JJ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by David Lyons (DVD - 2013)
£8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews