Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!
I've watched the season all the way through a few times now and it gets more addictive each time. It's an interesting concept and the story lines are intriguing.
Published 1 month ago by Ali

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as Falling Skies...
...and that's almost the best thing I can say about this.

It is a pretty good idea, and the Abrams involvement suckered me in. Every so often there's a flash of something great, but these are lost in the endless clichés and moronic 'plots'. My partner and I had some fun predicting lines and events before they occurred, but even we didn't expect to be...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Clifford M. Ashford


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as Falling Skies..., 31 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
...and that's almost the best thing I can say about this.

It is a pretty good idea, and the Abrams involvement suckered me in. Every so often there's a flash of something great, but these are lost in the endless clichés and moronic 'plots'. My partner and I had some fun predicting lines and events before they occurred, but even we didn't expect to be cheering when the 'heroes' died.

I think some other review commented that Charlie Matheson is THE most irritating character since Jack's daughter in the first season of 24. I was actively rooting for something terrible to happen to her from about episode three.

Tedious flag waving; ridiculous, illogical plots like the subway tunnel that ran out of oxygen (??????), the lack of sailing boats, bicycles, diesel vehicles etc etc. Why does nobody pick up any weapons, and where did the cool crossbow go???

Sigh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful but watchable, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very holely when it comes to describing the future world. They cast is all clean and shiny. They have lovely, fitted clothes and nice boots (15 years after the factories closed); the militia have time to visit the gym as they are all muscly (yes, today's military do go to the gym, but that's because they have transport - future militia wouldn't have time for the gym, having to walk everywhere); no-one looks hungry or thin. Oh and oddly the wildlife (deers etc) seems to have survived nicely thank you - I would have thought they would have been hunted to extinction as people left the cities.

And then we get the script. "People who stayed in the cities all died". Where did they find the uncle...in the city, which was doing OK thank you. Monroe has been looking for the two brothers for 15 years, but he's obviously not looked very hard because one was within a couple of days' walk of the city they started from, and the other was...in the city.

Guns are amusing too. There is a constant running sub-plot about the lack of guns for the general population. The militia are the only ones allowed to have them. I can see how this might cause most Americans' teeth to start grinding "take away our guns...that's our civil liberties". To the majority of the other nations in the world, they wouldn't really understand how upsetting that is - they would probably shrug and say "law and order maintained in a world of anarchy by removing firearms...sensible idea." To carry forward modern views about weaponry, when everything else (computer programmers becoming farmers etc) has changed, seems stupid.

All that said, it's quite well put together, and the lead characters are strong and generally put in good performances. There's just enough plot (if you smile at the comments above) to keep you bumbling along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I've watched the season all the way through a few times now and it gets more addictive each time. It's an interesting concept and the story lines are intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather naive, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It is a nice series, but nothing else. I would rather expect it will show just how people (realistically!) adapt to the wholeworld bug, but this is just another fairy tale. Easy watching, though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revolution, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Enjoyed series on TV much better watching all in one go .Strange seeing B Burke not playing Bella's dad ,also how many of Lost actors turning up in numerous parts.Totally different than anything else on at the moment so am watching series 2 at the moment but hope its not going on as long as Lost ,it's quite violent with just enough romance to keep you interested without being too explicit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what would happen if everything electronic in the world just stopped working, 13 Oct 2012
By 
Storms EniGma (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
7/10
very interesting idea, 16 years after everything electronic in the world mysteriously stops working. The world becomes almost medievil with guns and is run by malitia.
Tracy Spiridakos in the lead roll of Charlie is the real highlight to the show, she is indeed stunning. Charlie is on a quest to save her brother who has been taken captive by the malitia and gains the reluctant help from her long lost uncle Miles.
At times the story can get a little cheesy, especially some of the sword fights, but it is only the first season and most sci fi shows dont tend to find their feet until the 2nd series and this show has plenty of potential and has cult following written all over it.
At the very least for the male population Tracy Spiridakos is captivating enough to give this show a go, fingers crossed it blossoms into its full potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I disagree, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Everyone is saying how awful Revolution is. I strongly disagree. A lot of people have gone into watching the series with the thought that it is going to be a brand new idea with no similarities to any other shows. This is however practically impossible as the majority of film and tv show ideas have already been done.

I think that this show is brilliant because it takes a known storyline and changes it around and gives it a new beginning. Ok the actors cast may look like they should all be models, but if you were in an apocalyptic world where you could only grow food, surely you would lose weight too.

If you start watching this show with the thought that it has been done but in a different way, you would really enjoy it. Don't watch it with really high expectations otherwise you will end up disappointed.

On the whole, I really enjoy this show and would happily recommend it to others, :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They've been captured... Now they've escaped.... Wait, they've been captured again..., 26 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Nice idea, shame about the execution.

I'm not going to elaborate further on the points made by other reviewers (such as the lack of realism in the setting & the actors' appearance) - Other than to underline how truly dreadful the acting and scripting truly is. I started to watch this after I realised that 'Gus Fring' (Giancarlo Esposito) from the truly outstanding 'Breaking Bad' series was starring in this, little was I prepared for a show that was so utterly shambolic, I'm really struggling to put words together. Agree, it is a 'good idea' - But without any really convincing characters, and utterly dreadful script writing there was nothing to hold my interest past 5 or 6 episodes, the majority of which I had to force myself to watch, waiting for the hidden depth to emerge. It didn't. Nor will it. Cynics will claim I didn't give it time; I will assert that no matter how much time I gave it, the actors will not improve their craft, nor will the daft story-lines improve.

There are clearly a number of nods towards Stephen King within this show, but whereas he (in a similar way to Breaking Bad, or indeed the similarly excellent Game of Thrones) would craft interest and tension from a slowly building storyline, 'Revolution' is in too much of a hurry to move things along; Characters captured & escaping multiple times in an episode feels like over-eager story-writers trying to make up for inability to create any depth in the characters, and situations they encounter.

It's clearly popular with some - I can respect the views of others, after all we're just here to share opinions. But this really wasn't for me - If you like shows along the lines of The Wire, the aforementioned Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, Mad Men, Game of Thrones et al - This one is probably best left alone.

Oh, they've been captured, no wait, they escaped, or have they been captured again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A good idea unfortunately wasted, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The first episodes seem really cool and involving, but then the actions become repetitive, predictable, boring. The characters are mostly hateful and act in stupid, selfish ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This was better than I expected. Only bought it as there is never anything on telly and was pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb68a045c)

This product

Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Revolution - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by David Lyons (DVD - 2013)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews