Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars17
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2009
I'm a big Mario Bava fan, but I'd struggle to rate this film as a masterpiece, especially when compared to his earlier films such as Blood and Black Lace or Black Sabbath. I've probably got two main gripes about the film. Firstly, there just aren't enough stand out scenes in my mind. The best is when Elke Sommer is being chased through the fog filled streets by the Baron. It's very reminiscent of Vincent Price in the House of Wax, and it creates an excellent sense of suspense and fear. The backdrop of the film, set in an actual Austrian castle, adds a great deal of Gothic weight to the proceedings, and Bava uses his surroundings well. But the formulaic story just lets him down. My second, and probably more significant issue is with the use of Joseph Cotton as the Baron. He just feels too much like a lovable uncle, to be effective as the reanimated face of evil incarnate. (He was great in Dr Phibes when he was the victim of the sinister Vincent Price, and indeed, you could easily imagine Vincent Price making a great Baron Blood.) Here he just doesn't cut the satanic mustard in my book.

If, like me, you're a big Bava fan then this film is certainly worth seeing the once. However it's not one that I'll find myself reaching for again very soon.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
If Baron Blood did not have Bava's name attached to it, I would imagine that the film would be universally forgotten. It is quite a struggle to stay focused, I was struggling after 15 minutes. The plot is cold, yes cold. The film is ultra slow, the dialogue is seeringly close to something that a kid would come up with, and the acting is awful. However the film has been dubbed in places and I know that in original language the acting suddenly becomes all the better for it.

Joseph Cotton a fine actor in his day is underwhelming here. There are no frights and no gore. Notice how at the beginning the scene is played out twice, TWICE!

I'm a huge horror fan and that includes Italian cinema. Bava was one of the best, but in all honesty this is a dull and boring film for his standards. The only bright spark being the use of lightning used in some scenes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Fans of gothic euro-horror (I am a card-carrying member of this fraternity) have regarded the great Mario Bava as an unsung legend for decades, and with this fantastic Arrow release he finally gets his due. This is - hands down - the best this film has ever looked (unless you were the cameraman looking through the viewfinder during principal photography, with Bava approving the shot framing and smoking his cigarettes behind you as you changed f-stops).
I suffered through a cropped, washed-out VHS release of this colourful horror opus back in the day (l still enjoyed the film by the way, thank you Roadshow Home Video), but I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to see this international classic restored to its original glory. Legendary director Dario Argento took some of his cues from Bava (Bava created special effects for Argento's "Inferno"), and I for one will remain permanently indebted to Bava's unique horror film vision (and wonderful personality - if you can find a photograph of this man not comically hamming it up or smiling wonderfully, please send me a copy).
This is a beautiful, collectible and comprehensive release (there are three [yes three!] versions of the film included here, (including the American AIP release with the alternative musical score for completists), and a very rewarding purchase for fans of atmospheric Italian horror from days gone by.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
I am a huge fan of Mario Bava but this is a hard watch. Its slow and has very little to keep you interested especially when compared to his other works. There are some fantastic atmospheric scenes like the chase scene through the fog, but its not enough to change this film from being what it is. If Bava was a musician this would be a forgotten album track, nice to visit from time to time but not something you would go out of your way to constantly listen to. The saving grace is the packaging, with stand out extras, 3 versions of the film and an amazing restoration job done. Baron Blood is worth the money especially if like me you collect Italian horror cinema or are a fan of Bavas.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
now from the team who gave you "black sunday"and "black sabbath"comes"barron blood"in all its glory bavas final nod to the classic horror movies of the fifties and sixties,contained in this collectors item are both the original and american international versions,original colour and picture restorations on both versions,the money has been well spent and is up there on the screen for all to see.arrow have spared no expence to produce another great collectors item,included in this set is a very informative booklet with great background information on the stars and the making of the movie,included are trailers for the film.fans will not be disapointed,as with all dvds in arrows mario bava collection the whole package is exeptionaly well done,and a must have.highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Picked this up to check out Arrow video for their presentation of This Bava classic. They did not disappoint. Great picture and a wonderful transfer overall. I have it already on dvd in a set I bought a few years ago, but I am impressed with the color and clean up done here. Good extras but they are same ones from the set. Tim Lukas always has in formative things to say during his commetaries.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2015
Baron Blood is a great film, and what a brilliant release from Arrow.

You get three discs, plus a revisable cover, and a nice little booklet.

The Blu-ray transfer is very good, it gets a 4/5.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Another laughably bad "giallo masterpiece" with plenty of ropey effects and wooden acting. The plot was probably lifted from an old Scooby Doo episode with the good bits written out... I've seen more gruesome special effects when knocking over the ketchup bottle. Its sad to see someone like Joseph Cotton who has delivered some fine performances in his days bow out with this desperate effort. If you don't take it too seriously you could probably call it an "enjoyable romp".

Arrow do their usual fine job with plenty of extras but it would be an endurance test for anyone to plough through the three different versions of the film on offer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Arrow come up trumps again with this edition. 3 versions of the film (Export version, AIP version with alternate score and the Italian version with subs). The extras are good and the HD restoration is just as good. In this day and age is fantastic that someone like Arrow actually cares about the fans considering they are a small outfit. The film itself is not a masterpiece, but is a highly entertaining piece of gothic filmmaking set in a modern period (well 70s!!). Its not up there with Bavas classics Black Sabbath and Black Sunday as to me it suffers from having a slightly Scooby Doo feeling to the script (spooky castle, the disfigured Baron, unravelling the mystery to the final reveal etc) It just feels like its missing the mystery machine, shaggy and a closing statement of "Those pesky kids". Don't let that put you off its still a great ride but just a period of its time and certainly the horror of the early 70s pre Exorcist where the game changed entirely.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
good Arrow Edition for one of the Best Bava's Film. Baron Blood is A Little Masterpiece. 1Blu/Ray + 2Dvd in Original Italian Language plus 2 English Version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)