Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another success from Bp Stephen, 25 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Things He Carried
An excellent book for Holy Week.The atmosphere created by/in these meditative chapters is quite amazing (imagine how it must have come over in St Paul's).
I had intended to use it as the basis of a Lent course for my house group but have decided to use it for personal reflection during Holy Week. It does not lend itself too readily for weekly use throughout Lent.
Bp Stephen Cottrell certainly succeeded with this 'big preach'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things He carried, 28 Mar 2011
By 
P. E. Colhoun - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is thoughtfully and beautifully written by someone who really knows his subject. I so enjoyed reading each chapter and they all were meaningful for me. I have purchased several copies for friends. I can't give any higher recommendation than that. Five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things He carried, 30 Mar 2010
By 
C. Meunier "Caz" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Such an excellent book - Stephen Cottrell (Bishop of Reading) writes with passion and understanding of Jesus' pain and suffering for us as God's children. I urge you to read it cos your life will change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for Lent / Holy Week devotions, 26 May 2011
By 
Rev'd Richard Allen (Colchester, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Our Rector planned to use this book for the basis of the 3-hour devotional on Good Friday this year (2011), and I purchased it (as I was assisting at the service). It is well-written (as are all of Stephen Cottrell's books) with a wealth of approachable imagery and yet a finesse and economy of style that makes the thought provoking topics approachable. Not that the subject matter is anything near "easy" - but the author makes it more understandable. A well worthwhile small volume, which can be used either by individuals or groups, or within a wider worship/devotional format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspired, 7 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book with a different take on the crucifixion. It makes you think and is suitable for using in a study group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Descriptive and hard hitting, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant It's a hard hitting and thought provoking book taking one out of their comfort zone by it's descriptive brutality. My house group are finding it challenging and keen for the next section (difficult to say we are 'enjoying' it but it is a very valid piece of writing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart rending, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always a heart-rending read which reaches the soul.
Highly recommend this book to be read in solitude or within a group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really powerful, 13 Jun 2014
By 
D. Kutar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Things He Carried (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Read during lent. Really thought provoking. Highly recommended. Covers the obvious and the not so obvious e.g. the cross and the disciples disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Thought Provoking, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Things He Carried (Kindle Edition)
I used this book as my personal companion when I made an Easter retreat at Downside Abbey . I have never read anything by Stephen Cottrell before but would certainly buy and use his work again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the things he carried, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author has written this book with some excellent meditations for study during Lent which makes you really think about the meaning of Easter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Things He Carried
The Things He Carried by Stephen Cottrell
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews