Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ss Panzer Battlion
I read the whole series back in the 80s and enjoyed them very much. i am hoping that the whole series of SS WOTAN and the headhunters and death legion are all put on Kindle as they are great stories. all good books.
Published 22 months ago by C. darke

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First in series
This may be the third book in the reprinted series but was the first to be published in the original series back in the 1970s - hence its being set in 1940. Note to publishers - what the hell is a Tiger I doing on the cover in 1940?

Story introduces all the characters who will go through the series, the Butcher, the Vulture, and of course old Kuno von Dodenburg...
Published on 14 Oct 2008 by H. T. Davies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First in series, 14 Oct 2008
By 
H. T. Davies - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This may be the third book in the reprinted series but was the first to be published in the original series back in the 1970s - hence its being set in 1940. Note to publishers - what the hell is a Tiger I doing on the cover in 1940?

Story introduces all the characters who will go through the series, the Butcher, the Vulture, and of course old Kuno von Dodenburg himself, a mere lieutenant in this one if I remember, and describes the storming of the Belgian fortress of Eben Emael which in fact fell to a paratroop attack I think.

If you like your war stories simple and your characeters stock - look no further. Useful table of UK, Wehrmacht and SS ranks in the original copy. Don't know if this is in the reprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To War, Dogs!, 18 July 2011
In SS PANZER BATTALION the anti-heroes of the Waffen SS Assault Regiment Wotan finds themselves training for a special mission in the invasion of France 1940. The mission is eventually revealed to be the attack on the Belgian fortress of Eben Emael, where Wotan will provide the support of numbers and tanks to the German Airborne troops who are to land on top of the fortress by glider before attacking the supposedly impregnable fortress with the new shaped charges.

This is the first of the infamous Wotan books and begins with a Flashman-esque publishers note claiming (quite falsely) that this book was based on the real-life memoirs of the Waffen SS officer Kuno von Dodenberg, a justification never used again in any of the following Wotan books. The book is split fairly evenly into an introduction, with Wotan in training, before they are sent to the front line for the second half of the book to carry out their mission. This is standard Kessler fare; a rollicking mix of war, sex and humour perfectly suited to any juvenile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ss Panzer Battlion, 23 Oct 2012
By 
C. darke "CAROLINE DARKE" (WESTON SUPER MARE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SS Panzer Battalion (Dogs of War) (Kindle Edition)
I read the whole series back in the 80s and enjoyed them very much. i am hoping that the whole series of SS WOTAN and the headhunters and death legion are all put on Kindle as they are great stories. all good books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok read, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SS Panzer Battalion (Dogs of War) (Kindle Edition)
was slightly disappointed with this book,maybe I was expecting the sametype of tales as sven hassell relates,when you read wheels of terror you think you are there.while this is a good read cannot say its as good as svens tales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leo Kessler, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Mark Ritchie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SS Panzer Battalion (Dogs of War) (Kindle Edition)
Read this years ago if your into war story's the whole series is worth reading funny and sad you get engrossed in the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SS Panzer Battalion (Dogs of War) (Kindle Edition)
I've just read this book for the second time, the first time was a long time ago; it i still a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dogs of war, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SS Panzer Battalion (Dogs of War) (Kindle Edition)
A book I read over thirty years ago, and which brought back many ice memories of the time, well worth the second read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars War Trash, 12 Oct 2009
By 
This was the first ever book I bought, way back in 1975.
This is the start of the Wotan series, even though it now appears to be the third in the series of "Dogs of War" somehow!!!
Dealing with the formation of 2nd Company Wotan Battalion of the SS.
It introduces many much loved characters in the series like the officer Von Dodenburg (who this story is apparently from papers written by him founds by Leo Kessler, yeah right!!!), and Schulze (the Battalion joker).
Some might be offended by placing the SS in the role of the good guys, but forget that, this is just classic war fiction.
Any easy read, I have just reread it and it took only 2 days. Great fun, not to be taken too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SS Panzer Battalion, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SS Panzer Battalion (Dogs of War) (Kindle Edition)
I lam very interested in World Wars. I have not read this book yet but I am looking forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SS Panzer Battalion (Dogs of War)
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews