Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The quality doesn't drop five books into the series but the concept is becoming rather stretched
Another highly engaging and enjoyable read from this fifth book of the series, but I feel that the core story line that continues here after being visited and re-visited in the previous books is beginning to lose its credulity slightly and become rather stretched.

However, this book also began to weave the historical back story of Blister Creek into the tale,...
Published 17 months ago by Starcoaster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a hard days night
it started well but lost me in the middle and the storyline was disjointed and not strong enough to hold my attention
Published 15 months ago by Mr. W. R. West


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The quality doesn't drop five books into the series but the concept is becoming rather stretched, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Another highly engaging and enjoyable read from this fifth book of the series, but I feel that the core story line that continues here after being visited and re-visited in the previous books is beginning to lose its credulity slightly and become rather stretched.

However, this book also began to weave the historical back story of Blister Creek into the tale, which I think will pave the way for a new plot direction for the future books in the series that are no doubt to come.
I particularly enjoyed this aspect of the story, and feel that the way the tale of the founding of Blister Creek was told and woven into the fabric of the current events of the book was both well written and flowed very naturally.

Like the preceding books, the characterization in this book is strong, the writing coherent and engaging, and it is generally very well written and edited. I would not hesitate to recommend this series to those who enjoy a good thriller/mystery, or anyone who is fascinated with the day to day fine details of life in a polygamous LDS sect-with a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angel or Hallucination?, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
This novel does stand alone, but the writer makes frequent references to the events which have led to the present situations, so there is an assumption that the reader is aware of the history. To fully engage with this story you need to have read at least one of the earlier books. The author has created a religious fundamentalist group divided by historical discord which results in bloody actions and a refusal to move with the times. Throw into these internal tragedies the fact that the whole world is apparently being affected by some sort of super-volcanic activity and the scene is set for what might, or might not, be a precursor of the End of Days.... which presumably be continued into the next novel.... Although I have read a number of this series I still find it difficult to really care what happens to the characters. They are well-crafted, believable and Wallace has created some strong females, but ultimately I find I don't actually care all that much for them or their fates. That might be due to my experience of fundamentalist Christians and their intolerance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill book, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
good book enjoyed it very much good read from the beginning to end keeps you guessing and on your toes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mormon who done it, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who likes crime stories will be enchanted with this series. Certainly is a refreshing read from main stream who done it's. Give it a whirl and I think like me you will read all the books back to back and put next release in October 2014 on the wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a really good series, 27 Nov 2013
By 
margesimpson "wifi" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
and im not really a lover of murder mysteries but this series is like "bones"(the tv series) inside the mormon community and that makes it sooooo much more interesting , to know these deeply religeous people have issues and secrets and are just as fallable as the rest of us great read.this is the fith in the series and i have pre-ordered the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Goings on at Blister Creek!, 21 Nov 2013
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the fifth book in 'The Righteous' series and Michael Wallace is still maintaining the standards he set in the earlier books. A bestseller in his native America, h deserves books deserve to shoot up the charts over here, too.

My verdict: Another page-turning, jaw-tightening thriller that will entertain and chill you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I've already pre-ordered the next book in the series. I've enjoyed all of the books in this collection and can't imagine that the next one will be any less enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars annoying, misogynicm, drivel, 7 Aug 2013
By 
ratscat13 "ratscat13" (North East Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I started this book about five times to try to get to grips with it. If I wasn't in the Vine programme I wouldn't have bothered more than twice. This book is very poor.

The story is so disjointed as to render it impossible to follow. The characters are awful. The angel is pathetic, detsroying angel, only through boringpeople to destruction! Women are portaryed poorly and as child producers or sexual playthings.

Don't bother - there are much better angel fantasy books out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Personification of a Demon, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this part of the series and Wallace introduces us to part of the back history of Mormonism. Building a life in the desert in the 19th century must have been frightening...difficult and back breaking work...and this part was a fascinating glimpse of the past.
I wish there had been more history and less violence.

His character's are becoming more rounded, I liked the great grandmother and the idea that she has a modern re-incarnation. The sister is less developed than I would have hoped for, rather than leaving the community, she lives on the fringes, and it seems her purpose is to bring new breeding genes in the mix...and we do hear the thoughts of some of the polygamous wives, with an interesting twist...the introduction of female homosexuality as a result of neglect by the polygamous husband.The divide between male and female members is clearly illustrated...the flaws within the religion repeated time and time again.

I was disturbed by the insistence upon the need of the communities to use modern weaponry, machine guns, rocket launchers and grenades to defend themselves...paranoia personified. The story continues with the theme of the rise of escalating violence within and between the various sects...all in the effort to provide the True Prophet, and prepare for the End of the World...to lead the Elite into Heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
The latest book I have read in the Righteous series and well up to the standard of the others and I look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destroying Angel (Righteous Series Book 5)
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews