Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great fact based book from UIT publishing.
Its not often that books come along written by professional people who really know their stuff, that are readable and accessible by the ordinary person who reads books.

What is fascinating about this book is not only that it explores in pretty good detail the social and pharmacological areas of drug taking, but that it confidently exposes the political...
Published on 2 Jun. 2012 by Mr. E. J. Leoni-smith

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much "this is how it is", too little discussion of actual evidence
I bought this book for two reasons: It received a favourable review in The Economist and the title is an allusion to the superb "Sustainable Energy - Without the Hot Air" of the same publisher (picking the right title obviously sells). The two books, however, have little in common in terms of approach, structure and style.

The broad message of "Drugs - Without...
Published on 1 Sept. 2012 by 263


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great fact based book from UIT publishing., 2 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. E. J. Leoni-smith "Leo Smith" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Its not often that books come along written by professional people who really know their stuff, that are readable and accessible by the ordinary person who reads books.

What is fascinating about this book is not only that it explores in pretty good detail the social and pharmacological areas of drug taking, but that it confidently exposes the political dimension as well, and, in particular, the deep divide between the overt aims of the ant-drug legislation - reducing harm to society caused by recreational drug abuse - and the covert aims - essentially remaining electable in a media spun hysteria of moral indignation.

And so we discover that the knee jerk political response are probably the cause of at least more than a little of the harm,that drug taking does..

If you are concerned about drugs, or are thinking of taking them, or indeed - let's be honest, you DO take them, this is essential reading. The very real dangers are frankly discussed, and the very unreal dangers are debunked.

I can give no higher praise than to say that if I ruled the world,. Mt Nutt would be put in charge of framing a rational policy to deal with binge drinking and recreational drug abuse. His solutions might shock and cause moral indignation, but I am sure they would be effective in reducing the social and individual harm associated with these activities.

Sadly in a world where policy is based, not on facts and explaining them to the public, but by knee jerk response to media generated perceptions, there is little hope of this ever happening.

But if you have got as far as reading this review, this is a subject you are patently interested in, this book has to be some kind of milestone in our understanding of the relationship between individuals, the drugs they take, and the society and politics of our time. It's an absolute must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent read., 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Professor Nutt is an expert authority in the area of recreational drug use and addiction and in his book provides accessible information to a lay audience. It is a pity that the UK governments have not utilised this expertise to develop an evidence based approach to drug policies. The book is well written and perfectly pitched for its target audience. I suggest that it would be a useful book for any secondary school library which would help provide useful information about recreational substances to young people, enabling them to make better informed choices about sustance use and lifestyle. I hope that the book finds a wider audiance and through that enables greater public debate about the current and future roles of recreational and life enhancing substances. Over all, a great book and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fair and honest, 31 May 2012
By 
Mr. Straves "silver9" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 2008 Nutt was appointed president of the government's Advisory Council on the unlawful use of drugs (ACMD). A year later he published a controversial article in a magazine that compares the risks of horse riding to taking ecstasy. As a result (and also because of other comments about the damage caused by drugs - legal and illegal)he was fired by the Home Secretary.
His book "Drugs - without the hot air", published during the controversy that emerged from his dismissal, explains that all drugs - from tobacco to heroin - are harmful.

Likewise, it shows the government's hypocrisy: while on one hand they try to take a hard line on drugs, on the other hand they try to legalise them.

He explains in depth how drugs affect us and why we take them, and how society should face drugs and their consumption to minimise the damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensible, informative and easy to read, 4 Jun. 2012
Government policy on drugs is nonsense and this book explains not just how it is nonsense but also how we got into this ridiculous situation. The facts are not always clear in the drugs debate, if only because government policy, driven largely by reaction to biased media reporting, makes research almost impossible. However, there is a great deal we do know.

This book explains the basics of how we are affected by drugs, both legal and illegal, and the different ways they do harm. Then it goes on to evaluate sensibly a range of options for minimising that harm, including different treatments to help addicts quit or manage their condition, and practical ways to reduce demand and supply. Current government policy, both in terms of law and government spending, is clearly non-optimal and Nutt explores the complex historical, geographical, economic and cultural factors which have go us here, and where we need to change to make sensible progress.

Finally, there is some excellent advice which everybody should read before they start taking drugs of any kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crucial, 3 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget the rest, this should be the starting point for everyone learning about drugs;as a GP specialising in substance misuse, this explodes all the myths better than any other book Ive read. If only the public knew all the misinformation the government feeds them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth closer inspection, 11 Aug. 2012
Fantastic book. Easily accessible for any sort of reader, so don't be put off if you have no scientific background.

Section on the harms of alcohol is particularly enlightening.

Only criticism is that his prose is slightly dry- a minor point that is entirely forgivable given he is an academic rather than a journalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening book., 12 Nov. 2012
By 
A. Tetere (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an eye-opening book for me.

I could not imagine so much distortion between science and politics. It really made me think.

Explanations on the way drugs work seemed a bit simplistic, but that was probably due to my biology training. Everyone will understand and banefit from it.

Still, the book is absolutely irreplaceable of its analysis regarding policy making. It connects history, media, morals and politics and offers well-founded critique to modern legislation.

Besides all that the book gives good advice how to educate children about these substances and how better to understand addiction.

Wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been such a pleasure to read. It continues to be extremely interesting all the way through. It is not just a book which lists and describes drugs. It delves into the history of drug taking all over the world and how our views, methods and opinions have changed over the years. The chapters on addiction are particularly interesting and insightful. It doesn't matter if you are pro or anti drugs. That is not what this book is about. It is a factual book with no bias in either direction and I highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and common sense, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drugs - without the hot air: Minimising the harms of legal and illegal drugs (Kindle Edition)
This is a comprehensive and well written book on all aspects of drugs. It is comprehensive in that it includes information on all drugs; recreational, medicinal, legal and illegal, everything from coffee to crack. It covers everything from the prehistory of drug taking to the present day 'war on drugs', with particular emphasis on drug policy in the UK, pointing out some of the unintended negative side effects of this policy, and also some of its inconsistencies. For example, he points out that tobacco and alcohol are drugs that are much more dangerous than many illegal drugs. I found his analysis of the place of tobacco and alcohol in our drug culture particularly engaging. Nutt strives to be scientific and factual. He calls for policy to be based on science and the facts, and for the public, young people and their parents to be armed with accurate information about the risks and benefits of drug taking. The last chapter - on what to tell our children - is particularly useful. The book is well researched and referenced, and also has a useful index with definitions of the words indexed. In spite of its thoroughness and basis in science, it is very readable, being aimed at the general reader. No prior knowledge of the subject is assumed, and a well motivated teenager should be able to read it without difficulty. So there you are, David Cameron and Nick Clegg, read this book!! If only..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read. Undeniable facts that unfortunately many people are unwilling to believe., 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in drugs PLEASE READ THIS BOOK

If you know someone who is interested in drugs PLEASE ADVISE THEM TO READ THIS BOOK

If you are going to educate someone on drugs (especially children) PLEASE BE SURE YOUR FACTS ARE CORRECT, AND READ THIS BOOK

If someone is trying to educate you on drugs IT'S WORTH CHECKING THEIR FACTS BY READING THIS BOOK

If you don't do "drugs", but DO drink alcohol and/or smoke PLEASE READ THIS BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews