Customer Reviews


679 Reviews
5 star:
 (373)
4 star:
 (188)
3 star:
 (71)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect escape book - I loved it! xxx
This is the first Kate Forster book that I have read - and wow - I am THRILLED to have discovered this wonderful author!

Willow Carruthers has it all - a house that many people would be envious of, an Oscar sitting on her shelf, three children and a rock star husband. It seems like the perfect life! But suddenly everything comes crashing down - her personal...
Published 20 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Teenage read.....
I still cant beleive I finished reading this book, which I think would have been more at home serialised in a teen magazine. (Although I disagree with the reviewer who objected to the 'f' word everywhere. I thought it was used fairly and in the honest way people speak these days)

As for the story -- what a coincidence everywhere! And how likely that a famous...
Published 19 months ago by patsy


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

165 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect escape book - I loved it! xxx, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Paperback)
This is the first Kate Forster book that I have read - and wow - I am THRILLED to have discovered this wonderful author!

Willow Carruthers has it all - a house that many people would be envious of, an Oscar sitting on her shelf, three children and a rock star husband. It seems like the perfect life! But suddenly everything comes crashing down - her personal life is not only in tatters, but everything is splashed across the tabloids for all to see. Kitty Middlemist is nanny to Willow's three children, and is facing problems of her own. However, Kitty offers Willow and the children the perfect place to hide and escape away from it - Middlemist Manor, the ancestral home of Kitty and her older brother, Merritt...

The Perfect Retreat was gripping! A few pages into the first chapter I was hooked - and I didn't put the book down until I had finished the very last sentence. I spent a glorious afternoon immersing myself in this book, the characters and their world, and it was brilliant.

The characters were fantastically written, whilst reading the story I felt as though I knew them, and I genuinely cared about what happened to them, which compelled me to carry on reading. My favourite character was Kitty Middlemist, she opened her home and her heart to Willow and the children, and she was keen to do her best for others - she shone from the page and I was so pleased to have `known' her character! The other characters were equally as interesting to read about, I enjoyed getting to know them, their personalities and reading about their journeys.

I would describe The Perfect Retreat as the ultimate escape book! It has everything you could want in a book - sex, scandal, secrets and a fantastic plot line! But as well as the smiles and fun, Kate Forster highlights a few serious topics in here too so there really is a bit of everything. Above all this is a delightful and fun read and everyone should buy it!

I laughed with the characters, I cringed with them, I felt for them when they were going through hard times and struggling to find their way, and all throughout I was cheering them right on until the very end. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and I must admit I was quite sad to finish it. This is a brilliant novel from Kate Forster and I'm already looking forward to her next release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Retreat, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Kindle Edition)
This book was light and fun. The characters are well rounded and developed. This book had me laughing out loud and wanting to pull my hair out in frustration; at the characters antics, in equal measure. This book was the perfect retreat for me. I will certainly read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow:), 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Paperback)
I received a copy of this book in exchange for a review.
I haven't read Kate Forster before (shame, shame, I know) so I didn't know what to expect. First of all, I was drawn to this book by its wonderful cover (yeah, I know, how old am I??? But anyway, the cover is brilliant) and then I read a synopsis. And then I started to read.
What can say, this book have me hooked from the very first page. There was not a moment that I've lost my interest or was bored. The writing was just flowing, it is written in a magic way, I just wanted to read, and read and read.
The characters were great and they were really developing through the whole book. At the beginning I didn't like Willow at all, she was so selfish and childish but she must have grow up and it was really great to see how she is fighting. At first I thought, Merritt, oh my, what a bore and then quickly I took my words back. No bore at all. The children were great, Poppy was a real character, I am already scared when I think that my Sophie can be like her in the future:)
There are a lot of characters in this book actually, but each of them brings something with them. All are connected with each other, there is a lot of drama but also a lot of funny moments. What I especially liked about this book is that Kate Forster is writing about really important issues, such as illiteracy and autism, and not only about trivial stuff.
What I missed in "The perfect retreat" is Kerr stirring much more troubles. After his phone call I was expecting much more action about children but there wasn't any, and this is why I give this book 4.5 stars.
It was really a great read, about people who must really fight for their lives, feelings, families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Teenage read....., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Kindle Edition)
I still cant beleive I finished reading this book, which I think would have been more at home serialised in a teen magazine. (Although I disagree with the reviewer who objected to the 'f' word everywhere. I thought it was used fairly and in the honest way people speak these days)

As for the story -- what a coincidence everywhere! And how likely that a famous movie star has a nanny who just happens to have a country house going spare, and a brother (not seen for three years) who suddenly turns up, totally gorgeous of course and who unbelievably has a natural affinity with children! Need I go on.....

I am staggered at the amount of 5* reviews this book has received to be honest - do these people not read decent books I wonder? I found this fatuous and totally non-believable. (Like a film set would be held up for family rows every two minutes!)
Just nonsense from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 13 April 2013
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Kindle Edition)
I must have read hundreds of books like this however you know it's a good one when you can't wait to turn the next page. This classic Chicklit novel is exciting, sexy, mysterious and full of everyday problems. Definatelyyyy recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the book, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Kindle Edition)
This book is a fantastic read ,you really get drawn in to the story and the characters ,just a fantastic story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Kindle Edition)
Love this book i couldn't put it down its a must read what a story up and downs loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Kindle Edition)
Lovely book .I couldn't put it down once I'd started it .such a smashing ending worth reading . Go on give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not For Me, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Kindle Edition)
Just not my cup of tea I'm afraid. How did all these people come together so coincidentally? The first few chapters were OK, but then I lost interest and nearly gave up halfway through. I thought the book was going to be a gentle read about retreating to a country house, but it was more a story based on glamorous celebrity relationships and it just wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLANT STORYLINE!, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Retreat (Paperback)
As with 'The Perfect Location' - an excellent storyline! Very well drawn variety of characters. Love the locations involved. Kate is a new author to me, and I have enjoyed both these books - always looking forward to being able to pick them up to continue reading as soon as poss. they are so interesting and intriguing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perfect Retreat
The Perfect Retreat by Kate Forster
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews