Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2012
In the words of International Record Review "Gabriel Jackson's Requiem is a masterpiece and the performance by the Vasari Singers and Jeremy Backhouse is beyond praise."

Gabriel Jackson is one of the leading lights of contemporary choral music and this is a stunning CD of his brand-new Requiem. The disc features multiple world premiere recordings, including the Requiem, and also works by John Tavener, Bob Chilcott and Francis Pott - all hugely important composers in British choral music in their own right.

Engineered and produced by the Gramophone award-winning team of David Hinnit and Adrian Peacock, the recording quality is absolutely first class, and the Vasari Singers, under Jeremy Backhouse, perform beautifully. This is an essential buy for any lover of choral music - and at the Naxos-level pricing, an incredible bargain.

Buy it without hesitation.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I'm not the greatest fan of modern music, much of which will prove ephemeral, and if I'm honest, I bought this for the very attractive arrangement of the Pachelbel canon heard on radio 3. However, I believe the Jackson requiem will last, and I'm warming to the other pieces on this disk. So, for anyone who, like me, rarely gives time to much contemporary music, this disk is an adventure well worth risking.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
I learned of Gabriel Jackson's Requiem when some singing friends were rehearsing it for a concert. Having bought the CD I was very impressed with both the musicianship of the composer - and the technical demands required of singers - and the beautiful, reflective words about death and loss.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I read a few reviews of this CD before deciding to buy it.The singing of the Vasari Singers is absolutely superb, and I am thrilled with all of the tracks on the CD. The Requiem is a wonderful piece and puts Gabriel Jackson up there with the best of choral composers in my view.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Gabriel's Requiem is superb. I have sung it once and wanted a version to remind me of it. This lovely recording from Vasari does not disappoint.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
The individual pieces on this CD are all worth hearing, and they have the twin qualities of (a) variety, both between the different composers represented and within Gabriel Jackson's requiem, and (b) coherence; it is worth reading the brief, evocative programme notes to reinforce the way the music fits together.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
This well judged collection is dominated by Gabriel Jackson's Requiem, a beautiful variation of the requiem form incorporating settings of unusual pieces in amongst more traditional pieces. Quite beautiful in construction and performance and the other pieces on the CD sit well with it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Unusual music that is very listenable. The Vasari Singers really perform this beautifully. I have recommended this CD to many people and performed the music with my own choir. The response is very positive due to the interesting and alluring composition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
nice tunes to listen too would recomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
The Requiem is excellent, but so are the other works on here.
The Pachelbel could have sounded twee but actually works well.
Great performances all round and a lovely collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)