Customer Reviews


12 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A contemporary classic, 1 Oct. 2012
In the words of International Record Review "Gabriel Jackson's Requiem is a masterpiece and the performance by the Vasari Singers and Jeremy Backhouse is beyond praise."

Gabriel Jackson is one of the leading lights of contemporary choral music and this is a stunning CD of his brand-new Requiem. The disc features multiple world premiere recordings, including the Requiem, and also works by John Tavener, Bob Chilcott and Francis Pott - all hugely important composers in British choral music in their own right.

Engineered and produced by the Gramophone award-winning team of David Hinnit and Adrian Peacock, the recording quality is absolutely first class, and the Vasari Singers, under Jeremy Backhouse, perform beautifully. This is an essential buy for any lover of choral music - and at the Naxos-level pricing, an incredible bargain.

Buy it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel Jackson Requiem, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not the greatest fan of modern music, much of which will prove ephemeral, and if I'm honest, I bought this for the very attractive arrangement of the Pachelbel canon heard on radio 3. However, I believe the Jackson requiem will last, and I'm warming to the other pieces on this disk. So, for anyone who, like me, rarely gives time to much contemporary music, this disk is an adventure well worth risking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving and inspirational piece of music, beautifully sung, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I learned of Gabriel Jackson's Requiem when some singing friends were rehearsing it for a concert. Having bought the CD I was very impressed with both the musicianship of the composer - and the technical demands required of singers - and the beautiful, reflective words about death and loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Gabriel Jackson Requiem, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a few reviews of this CD before deciding to buy it.The singing of the Vasari Singers is absolutely superb, and I am thrilled with all of the tracks on the CD. The Requiem is a wonderful piece and puts Gabriel Jackson up there with the best of choral composers in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite modern composer, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. David A. Clover (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gabriel's Requiem is superb. I have sung it once and wanted a version to remind me of it. This lovely recording from Vasari does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
J. Radford "Dreamer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This well judged collection is dominated by Gabriel Jackson's Requiem, a beautiful variation of the requiem form incorporating settings of unusual pieces in amongst more traditional pieces. Quite beautiful in construction and performance and the other pieces on the CD sit well with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The individual pieces on this CD are all worth hearing, and they have the twin qualities of (a) variety, both between the different composers represented and within Gabriel Jackson's requiem, and (b) coherence; it is worth reading the brief, evocative programme notes to reinforce the way the music fits together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unusual music that is very listenable. The Vasari Singers really perform this beautifully. I have recommended this CD to many people and performed the music with my own choir. The response is very positive due to the interesting and alluring composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackson: Requiem (MP3 Download)
nice tunes to listen too would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super CD, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Requiem is excellent, but so are the other works on here.
The Pachelbel could have sounded twee but actually works well.
Great performances all round and a lovely collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackson: Requiem
Jackson: Requiem by Vasari Singers
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews