Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Lies.
I enjoyed this. A well plotted, crime mystery with some romance.
Following her husbands death, Grace discovers that Daniel had been leading a whole secret life; an underground, criminal life. Grace makes some chilling discoveries about her loveless marriage.
Not only did her deceased husband own a luxury beach house in Florida but he also had a second passport...
Published 20 months ago by J.R.W.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Lies
This makes for a very easy but not particularly satisfying read. The story line is weak and predictable and the characters could have been more fully developed. Disappointing.
Published 19 months ago by AnnP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Lies., 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this. A well plotted, crime mystery with some romance.
Following her husbands death, Grace discovers that Daniel had been leading a whole secret life; an underground, criminal life. Grace makes some chilling discoveries about her loveless marriage.
Not only did her deceased husband own a luxury beach house in Florida but he also had a second passport and all manner of complicated bank accounts.
Handsome FBI agent Jack West becomes involved not only in her dangerous business affairs, but captures her heart too.
A small negative; slightly contrived instances in characterisation here and there. However, there is plenty of well paced action (including a very realistic sex scene) and a good build of tension to the finale.
Very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and was gripped from start to finish. Although a little predictable in parts it is well written and a bit more interesting than your usual romance holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exxxxxx, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
very very good one of the best books iv read, what are you waiting for read it and see. it good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
New writer to me, good story, kept you wanting to keep reading till book finished. will buy more from Victoria Howard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Lies, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
This makes for a very easy but not particularly satisfying read. The story line is weak and predictable and the characters could have been more fully developed. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 13 Jan 2013
By 
L. Hutchinson (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
Well, unfortunately I could see pretty much every 'twist' in the plot coming. All very stereotypical. Not quite sure why I actually read the whole book. There was some very wooden writing in parts. Glad it wasn't expensive, although I guess I wouldn't have purchased at all if it hadn't been on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Lies., 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
Good plot with many twists and turns excellent read. Lots of baddies so hard to work out who it was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A suspenseful read that will keep you on the edge of your seat !! A must read !!, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Kindle Edition)
What happens when the man you have been married to for ten years, is not whom you thought he was? After Daniel Elliot dies in a car crash, Grace is left to deal with all the details regarding his will. Grace finds that Daniel has an Alias, has a lot of money, and a beach house in Miami that she knew nothing of. Its seems that this loveless marriage, that Daniel kept Grace in, controlling her and keeping his secrets was more than just a connivance but a lie. Her life with him was safe and stable but now she is unsure has to whom her husband really was.

Grace contacts an old friend Jack West, an FBI agent that Grace had met 6 months prior. Jack agrees to help Grace Get answers to questions and unravel the mystery behind all the secrecy in her marriage and find out who Daniel Elliot really was and where this money came from.

With Strings of lies, deceit, murder and mystery, Jack protects Grace from all in harm way to only discover the lies have been right in front of Grace the whole time. Family boundaries are pushed, heart breaking discoveries are made, and Grace finally decides to take her stance. Jack uses his expertise to help Grace to unravel all the mysteries and secrets and life is not at what Grace thought it was. It was a marriage filled with lies.

Review ;)

An emotional roller coaster that was fast paced , filled with murder, suspense, lies, and romance. I really enjoyed this mysterious storyline, the plot smoothly flowed from one chapter to the next, and the end finalized swiftly but efficiently to give the reader a well delivered finale to a susspensful read. Romance was present not the main factor in the read but I felt this was evenly distributed to give us those elements we look forward in any suspenseful romance thriller. I was worried towards the end only 15 pages to go and still no deal was sealed. But Victoria ended it well, nothing left unfinished, and a finale which I am sure pleased the reader. I know I was impressed.

The main characters two very different characters, but tended to fit the jigsaw well. Every little piece and details were included, giving an insight to the characters personality and views. Descriptions once again well detailed thoughts, emotions and surrounding well portrayed. I enjoy this in a read, as I am a visual reader!!!

I enjoyed Jacks character definitely not flawless, but his love for his daughter softened his hard exterior, good cop -hard arse. He new what his responsibilities where and never faulted with either. He was brave, and respected, and gallant to the end.

Grace was a tortured soul, living in a loveless marriage stuck to her vows, not matter what. She was withdrawn in the beginning of the story but in time her character grew to great depths creating a complete new person. Strong and determined to move on with life, and start to live. I was happy to see Grace stand her ground and move on with life no matter what had happened to her. She had a strong will and in the end this showed in her character.

There are plenty of villains present creating that mystery and suspense that we all crave in a good thrilling read. Their characters coming across as callous and uncaring and just hard arse, this was portrayed well. Could a villian be portrayed but this ... You grew to hate the charcters and what they stood for, but this also is part of a great story...

Overall, Victoria never disappoints in her writing, intriguing the reader into the world that she has created, drawing us into the suspense, and mystery and even little loving entwined. The romance wasn't a big part of the story, but I fell it was just perfect, giving us the insight to Jack and Grace's emotions and dragging us along in the moment.

All secondary charcters meshed well with the story line, making it a enjoyable read , all necessary and blending in well with the plot.

I've now read two of Victoria's stories and have immensely enjoyed both and I certainly look forward to more of her stories in the future... A must read!! That will keep you on the edge of your seat, right till the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding action packed read!, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Paperback)
Blurb:
When accountant Daniel Elliott dies in a car accident, his widow, Grace, is overcome with grief...and panic. Daniel was controlling and their marriage loveless, but he always took care of her. Or so she thought. Grace soon discovers Daniel kept secrets: an alias, mob ties, a list of numbers, a mysterious beach house in Florida...and a girlfriend who looks like Grace. Swallowing her fear, she flies to Miami to claim the house Daniel left her. But the price of her curiosity is peril. Underworld figures stalk her. And handsome, troubled FBI agent Jack West has crossed precarious paths with Grace before. With little to go on and danger at every turn, Grace must depend on Jack to help her navigate the criminal world of south Florida, and find the truth behind the Ring of Lies.

Review:
Ring of Lies was such a fun book to read while taking a little time for "me". Grace was an intriguing character and is faced with an incomprehensible loss. She's facing not only the loss of her husband but everything she's ever known to be true. Her entire marriage was a deception. She suffered at the hands of her husband both mentally as well as emotionally. As the book progresses, Grace begins to find out who she really is. This was one element of Grace's character that impressed me because she was not the type of woman to just lie back and let life steal her soul and will to live.

I fell in love with Jack's character immediately. His loyalty to his baby melted my heart and the scenes where he took care of her really bonded me with his character. I love to see the softer side of my hero. His character was flawed which made him all the more relatable to me. The sexual tension between Grace and Jack is palpable. Sparks flew from the moment they met. I enjoyed that this book didn't rely heavily on the romance but rather on the suspense of the book. What draws the reader in is the constant push and pull between Jack and Grace. They want a relationship but, for one or the other, circumstances don't allow it.

What keeps the reader hooked is the suspense, which this book did not lack in the least. Ring of Lies was a fast paced, action packed book that started out with intriguing scenes and continued throughout the book. With plenty of villains to choose from, you won't guess until the last part of the book who is really behind everything. I won't give anything away but I will say that things aren't always as they seem.

Ms. Howard has done an amazing job of writing in a way that the reader can relate to. She has a knack for knowing what the reader craves and then delivering in such a satisfying way that the reader can't possibly put the book down. Bottom line, you GOTTA read this book, it's not one to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far!!!!, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: Ring of Lies (Paperback)
i have read all three of the books by Victoria Howard, this has been my favourite to date. it is easy to read and keep up with the characters. Once started couldn't put down. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ring of Lies
Ring of Lies by Victoria Howard
2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews