Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


193 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect adaption of a great novel
'Tell No One' (called 'Ne le dis à personne' in France) is the French film adaption of the bestselling stand-alone novel from Harlan Coben. The film begins when Alex Beck and his wife and long-time love, Margot visit the Beck family lake house for their 13th anniversary. During a late night swim in the lake Alex and Margot are attacked and left for dead. A few days...
Published on 12 Sep 2007 by Dr Evil

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly standard thriller
I won't elaborate on the story as other reviewers have covered it adequately, but the gist revolves around a man who receives an email from his wife several years after she supposedly died in a murder.

The plot seems good, and indeed the acting is top-notch and you really feel for the characters. However, for some reason the way it's filmed makes the story hard...
Published on 26 April 2010 by Lewis Fairfax


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

193 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect adaption of a great novel, 12 Sep 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Tell No One' (called 'Ne le dis à personne' in France) is the French film adaption of the bestselling stand-alone novel from Harlan Coben. The film begins when Alex Beck and his wife and long-time love, Margot visit the Beck family lake house for their 13th anniversary. During a late night swim in the lake Alex and Margot are attacked and left for dead. A few days later Margot's beaten body is found.
Eight years later and still struck with grief and heartache from the death of his wife, Alex receives a mysterious e-mail with a link to a webcam where his wife appears to still be alive. The email instructs him to Tell No One, leaving Alex wondering if his wife is still alive and he is now also a main suspect for some other bodies found at the lake and possibly also for his wife's apparent murder.

This is an excellent adaption of one of the best thrillers I've ever read and the French setting does not affect the story at all (the book is based in America), in fact it makes it better. The subtitles did put me off at first but once I was 10 minutes or so into the film I didn't even notice they were there. There's lots of plot twists and plenty of action and suspense. The characters are all played perfectly to the book's counterparts and the story is absolutely spot-on. My only disappointment really was that because I had read the book I already knew what was going to happen next.

Overall this is a perfect adaptation and is one that both fans of the book and thriller movie fans too should love. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell everyone!, 18 Jun 2010
By 
A Skalman (England, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Other reviewers have elaborated on this film better than I can, so all I shall say is that this is one of the best thrillers I have ever seen. Although the author of the novel is American, and the scene of this film was originally set in the USA, the fact that this is a French film, shot in France, makes it even better, in my opinion.
The actors are superb and make the characters believable, despite their distinctly French flavour.
After receiving the DVD in the post I started to view the DVD only with the intention of satisfying myself that the DVD was in working order, but I became so hooked on it that I sat down and watched the whole film right through until the end!
And, no, I did not guess the twist at the end.
Superb film - enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping schtum, 20 Mar 2010
TELL NO ONE is a complex thriller cum poignant love story. Canet employs typical European tropes to produce a piece of nicely understated cinema that neatly avoids Hollywood excesses. We follow a grieving man's descent into turmoil when his long-dead wife appears to make an enigmatic reappearance. The small-scale action is always impressive and the bursts of violence shocking in their realism. The actors are equally effective at portraying everyday, believable characters placed in extraordinary circumstances. My only criticisms are that the plot is perhaps too convoluted and the resolution somewhat implausible. That said this is a successful puzzler that will keep you guessing and entertained throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid, entertaining and mostly well-crafted thriller, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tell No-One turns out to be a rather good French thriller and a distinct improvement on actor-director Guillaume Canet's first directorial effort Mon Idole. The early overhead shots of a couple driving through the countryside summon up echoes of Red Lights, Harry, He's Here to Help and The Vanishing in particular (though the film doesn't really match up to them, at least his influences are impeccable) as it sets up the back-story that sees Francois Cluzet's wife murdered. Fast forward eight years and the good doctor is still suspected by the police, especially when two bodies are unearthed near the murder scene that threaten his alibi. And then there's an email he receives with what looks like live footage of his very much alive wife...

There's a good supporting cast - a mostly excellent Andre Dussolier as the antagonistic father-in-law, Jean Rochefort showing once again that he's a much better actor when he doesn't dye his hair to look younger, Nathalie Baye as a razor-sharp lawyer, 36 Quai des Orfevres director Olivier Marchal as a vicious hood and even a less-autopilot-than-usual Kristin Scott-Thomas (maybe she should just stick to French-language parts?) - and it's a surprise to see Luc Besson's Europa Films making something so bourgeois that doesn't involve free-running or martial arts for a change, although there is one excellent chase sequence and a vicious female thug to keep his core constituency happy.

If it has a problem - apart from one credulity-straining moment near the end regarding motivation that isn't so much a plot-hole as the Channel Tunnel - it's that at the end of the day, it's JUST a thriller. There aren't enough lingering questions throughout the movie or any real attempt to create doubt as to whether the hero may really have murdered his wife as the police and media still suspect. The twists are satisfying enough but no great revelations, and it's a disappointment that it finds itself forced into an Irving-the-Explainer ending where the plot is explained at gunpoint. Yet despite the lack of depth, it's a satisfyingly well-executed thriller, and if that's enough for you, you could do a lot worse with two hours of your time. Oh yes, and the eagle-eyed can spot one of French producer Christophe Rossingnon's sporadic blink-and-you'll-miss-it cameos as a cop.

The two-disc DVD offers a good selection of extras: 20 deleted scenes (but not with the optional commentary listed on the French DVD), a 55-minute making of documentary, out-takes, brief soundbite interviews with Guillaume Canet and Kristin Scott Thomas, UK trailer, the last takes of the various key players on the film and, as an Easter Egg, hair and makeup tests and snippets of random onset footage totalling some 8 minutes. You'll have to be patient if you want to see the latter since they can only be accessed after leaving the main menu on disc two playing for a couple of minutes, after which a message will appear on the in-tray above the Play All option. There's also an earlier short film directed by Canet, I Can't Sleep as well.

The disc has a decent 2.35:1 widescreen transfer, but it's a bit irritating that the unremoveable English subtitles appear in the picture area rather than in the black border underneath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell Everyone - One Of The Thrillers Of The Year, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Ian Paterson "exiledscotsman" (Newcastle Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a big fan of Harlan Coben it has always amazed me that Hollywood haven't beaten down his door demanding the rights to his stand alone novels.
They seem tailormade for the big screen with twists and turns galore and beliveable characters no James Bond heroics in his novels just ordinary people finding themselves in danger.

So it was a surprise to see that this had been made as a French film. Please don't let this put you off or you will have missed out on one of the thrillers of the year.

The sub titles aren't too fast so you'll easily follow the complex story. Dr Beck' swife is taken whilst swimming by the lake late one night 8 years later he is stuggling to get on with his life when he is sent an email of an outside web cam suddenly his "dead" wide is looking at him down the lens ...

Great casting and as someone who read the book when it first came out I had happily forgotten exactly what happened but as the story came back it was pleasing to see that they had been faithfull to the great book.
At around the 2 hour mark I greatly enjoyed the pacing of the novel there didn't seem the need to have something dramatic happening every two minutes the violence was kept to a minimum but brutal when it needs to be. Loved some scenes with music from U2 amongst others featuring maybe focusing on the subtitles made me more aware of the music.

I confess I haven't seen many foreign films and had I not read the book I would probably have never contemplated renting the film glad I did and so will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly standard thriller, 26 April 2010
By 
Lewis Fairfax (Cramlington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I won't elaborate on the story as other reviewers have covered it adequately, but the gist revolves around a man who receives an email from his wife several years after she supposedly died in a murder.

The plot seems good, and indeed the acting is top-notch and you really feel for the characters. However, for some reason the way it's filmed makes the story hard to follow and at times overly cryptic; you have to put your full undivided attention into this film to understand what's going on.

However, this doesn't distract from the great dialogue, the good acting and the idea behind the whole thing. For what you pay, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guillaume Canet has made a fantastic, thrilling movie!, 13 Sep 2007
It is a great movie and Guillaume Canet (young French actor and director) really deserved the Cesar Prize (among others)that he won last year. I was really amazed by the filming of this movie, the angles of the shots. Maybe that is not something you really pay attention to in a film but I couldn't help noticing it and there are really great shots (for example when the hero runs away from the police, the camera is so close behind him that the viewer may have the impression of running with the hero, it is very intense)
I am not going to give you a summary of the story as other reviewers have done that very well. I can only add that I hadn't read the book before seeing the movie but I saw an interview of Canet and his cast in a TV show about cinema and this interview persuaded me to see this movie. I was not disappointed at all. The ending was a bit surprising and the story is at the same time dark, really intense, intriguing and also very moving.
I usually don't like François Clusey but he was OK in this movie and supported by a very impressive cast (Natalie Baye-wonderful actress-André Dussolier, Kristin Scott Thomas, François Berléand,Jean Rochefort,
Guillaume Canet, Lady Chatterley's actress Marina Hands...)
The music was composed by M, famous French singer and composer!, and it is the perfect music for a dark, intriguing story like 'Tell No-one'. This is definitely a must-see movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, intelligent, gripping film, 1 Feb 2008
By 
E. R. M. Huffman "ermh" (Hants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DOn't be put off by the fact that this is in French with English subtitles- if anything it adds to the films. A superb, intelligent, well written and acted film full of intrigue and twists. Excellent. One of the best I've watched for ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell No-One, 4 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Julian A. Goode (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simply a great thriller. Intriguing, a captivating plot, plenty of twists, and even a few laughs on the way too. A great example of French cinema at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly French, 31 Dec 2007
After you've read the other reviews, you might think some people take things too seriously: picking holes in things, looking for faults; irritated by subtitles; exasperated by flaws in plot and construction; compelled into research mode by actors' ages, and so on. It's like analysing your bath water instead of simply lying back and soaking away the day's nonsense. And sometimes that's the best way with films. Take them on face value and let them wash over you - like this one: good all-round entertainment that might have a few flaws but so what? Most films do. Like people. I recommend this film as a non-intellectually engrossing foreign film with subtitles and flaws, and a dynamic element that will stop you nodding off. Despite these qualities, it remains a notch above many Hollywood equivalents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tell No One [Blu-ray] [2006] [US Import]
Tell No One [Blu-ray] [2006] [US Import] by Guillaume Canet (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews