Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With respect and love
Remember the first time you heard 'And Then There Were Three'. It was like seeing your favourite football team after that creative midfielder you always loved had been transferred. Still your team, but the magic had gone somehow.

Steve Hackett was always the member of Genesis you'd most like to spend the afternoon in a pub with (Banks too unfriendly, Rutherford...
Published 22 months ago by Mrs. Rachel M. Hartley

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of Genesis songs
This is an excellent flash-back to what I consider was the high point of Genesis. The vocalists take a little getting used to, sometimes sounding like a Peter Gabriel imitator (with mixed results, some bad, some over-done, some good), sometimes a throaty Phil Collins, and sometimes, to be honest, they are over-dramatic and sound like someone having a laugh. The only one...
Published 21 months ago by FMT


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With respect and love, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (Audio CD)
Remember the first time you heard 'And Then There Were Three'. It was like seeing your favourite football team after that creative midfielder you always loved had been transferred. Still your team, but the magic had gone somehow.

Steve Hackett was always the member of Genesis you'd most like to spend the afternoon in a pub with (Banks too unfriendly, Rutherford too posh, Gabriel too odd and Phil too - well, um, too Phil). So it's almost impossible to be objective about this album, containing as it does music that we know every beat, note and chord of and has been part of our lives for getting on for forty years. As others have said the vocal choices don't always work, but a special mention to Francis Dunnery who does a great job on 'Dancing with the Moonlit Knight' and the closing section of 'Supper's Ready'. (If you want to know what it means to Dunnery look up his Wikaepedia page). And whisper it quietly but this really is up there with the best versions of Supper's Ready. Other highlights for me are the much underrated 'Can Utility and the Coastliners', 'Shadow of the Hierophant' and 'The Musical Box'. And at last, after thirty seven years, Steve's fantastic guitar part on 'Ripples' emerges from where it was buried under Tony Banks' Liberace impression all those years ago.

If some of the recordings on here are a little too close to the originals for some, then check out Genesis Revisited I which is a lot more experimental but still contains fantastic versions of 'Firth of Fifth' and 'Watcher of the Skies'.But in the end it's Steve's music and he can do what he likes with it. As long as it's done with respect and love, which this undoubtedly is, then that's all we can ask for and we should be on our knees thanking God (Steve) for keeping this wonderful music alive. Can't wait for the tour now - I first saw Steve at the Birmingham Odeon in 1978 and watched open mouthed as the band tore into 'Please Don't Touch', a real hair on back of neck moment. Think I might cry during Firth of Fifth guitar solo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilights Last Gleaming?, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. P. BROOKSBANK (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (MP3 Download)
I count my self lucky to have seen Genesis when Steve Hackett was still with them. Like many who saw them in the early seventies the early music is the material I like best and will always have a special place in my heart. Thats not to say that some of the latter songs where not without merit but that was a different animal.

Its almost pointless reviewing the songs one by one here as most will know them and have their favourites.

My favourite song isn't here though "Cinema Show" but I will let that pass as we have got "Can Utility and the Coast Liners" and "Dancing with the Moonlight Knight" as well as sections from the often overlooked "Wind and Wuthering."

This reworking of old favourites is superbly executed and has a clean brighter sound in places. My only real gripe as others have mentioned is that some of the vocalists don't "gel" very well, particularly on "Ripples." Its not that it is bad its just that the vocals are a long way from what you expect. It could grow.

So, why have I given it five stars then. Its a valiant effort and who am I really to criticise the magnificent music of such a wonderful guitarist. Not forgetting such magnificent musicians that played on the original and here on the remake. Truly "Twilights Last Gleaming.' As Phil Collins sang on "Driving the Last Spike," we will never see the likes of them again.

To the odd younger person that may stroll in here by chance I would say buy this if you want a master class in melodic, powerful and emotive prog rock. These guys never went in one direction they where omnipresent!

I will say this though, the reworking of a Tower Struck Down is almost "King Crimson" and if my memory serves me right not actually a Genesis track. Neither is Shadow of the Hierophant but lets not let a few facts get in the way of a good album.

If I can I will be there to see this live next year. Thanks Steve for such a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected - just have an open mind, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (Audio CD)
I approached this CD with mixed expectations but must admit that it's very impressive and for once had me lost in the music as I had been all those years ago.

I won't review the tracks as if you are reading this you'll know most of them well, but the recording quality is excellent and modern - albeit without that warmth that only old original recordings can bring. However this doesn't detract from the musical experience and the result is very listenable and will no doubt be long lasting. Some have criticised the vocals and I agree that in some cases they are difficult to ignore the "non Gabrielness" but after a few listens these become of less importance.

I for one welcome the clarity of the tracks which allow you to understand what they were likely to be aiming for on the original takes; comparing back there are very clear sections that were only hinted at when listening before.

Well done to Steve and his team - there are also some well known and proficient names here as well as some talents that I've never heard of.

This will remain on the player for some time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hackett re-opens the musical box, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (Audio CD)
It's been 16 years since Steve Hackett originally revisited his early career with Genesis (1971-77). That volume proved to be a mixed bag for Genesis fans - he bravely/foolishly decided to go off on some major detours with those tracks (notably the middle section of 'Firth of Fifth' and adding Brazillian percussion to 'Los Endos' - always interesting, but thought by some to have gone too far afield from the originals, perhaps.

Fast foward to 2012 and Hackett and (hugely expanded) stellar company have put together an album twice the length. This time around, he stays generally faithful to the originals, adding the occassional guitar phrase or effect here and there - perhaps mindful of his intention to tour a 2-hour show of these classics next year.

The production is immaculate as you'd expect from right-hand man and co-producer, Roger King and the attention to detail (many of the original synth sounds are lovingly recreated here, mellotrons and all, sometimes beautifully supplemented or replaced with real string players). Whether or not these will ALL get heavy rotation on your system I suppose is down to whether you can take to the vocalists. Nad Sylvan aquits himself well, but stand-out voices for me are Nik Kershaw, Francis (ex-It Bites) Dunnery, Simon Collins (yes, son of...) and Hackett himself who takes on the 'Willow farm' section of 'Supper's Ready' himself brilliantly. Maybe he should have done a bit more singing himself?

Steve also adds some 'Genesis branches' including a meaty version of 'Please Don't Touch' (which Genesis dropped during sessions for 'Wind and Wuthering'. This with the tracks from 'Voyage of the Acolyte' and a jazzy 'Camino Royale' from 'Highly Strung' suggest that a 'Hackett Revisited' project would be a fascinating prospect at some point - provided he sang his own songs...

Highly recommended for prog fans. Guarantee you will go back to originals, which is no bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of Genesis songs, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (MP3 Download)
This is an excellent flash-back to what I consider was the high point of Genesis. The vocalists take a little getting used to, sometimes sounding like a Peter Gabriel imitator (with mixed results, some bad, some over-done, some good), sometimes a throaty Phil Collins, and sometimes, to be honest, they are over-dramatic and sound like someone having a laugh. The only one that doesn't really work for me is the female voice on Ripples - it has potential as an idea (an older woman's voice singing of her lost youth), but lacks the power in the chorus to carry it off. But the music overall is good - slightly more dynamic instrumentals than the original, with a few interesting ad-libs tucked into the mix. If I had one criticism it would be that the tracks are a little too close to the original release and I had hoped for some updating in pace and style, along the lines of the 1999 Genesis Carpet Crawlers release. Still, it is a long album with a well chosen set of tracks and I found myself singing away to it at full tilt from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (Audio CD)
Whilst some might say why bother when you can hear the originals, I say why not. Some are loving re-creations, some interesting variations. So much so that there are some that I prefer over the originals.

The only fly in the ointment is that some of the vocal performances can be a little weak.

If you approach the music with an open mind, imagining that the Genesis had continued, after Gabriel left, with a new front man rather than constantly comparing to Gabriel or Collins I think you will enjoy it more.

I had the opportunity to hear Steve and the band at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall...they were superb, but what was really brilliant was that our children got to hear the music performed live - something we thought would never happen.

We all enjoyed it so much we are going again in Oct to see him at the Apollo - the day after seeing Peter Gabriel!

This album is old treasures treasures, gently unearthed and lovingly restored to view. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So good, yet so much against it., 26 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (Audio CD)
Up front. I am an out and out Genesis fan. I have always felt Genesis lost as much when Steve Hackett left as they did when Peter Gabriel did.

The original "Revisited" was an experiment that worked well for me, so bits better than others, but it did not fall into the trap "Revisited 2" has.

Leaving the vocals aside, "Revisited 2" contains some superb recreations of the original recordings, but with the guitar turned up a bit, and may be the odd twiddle here and there. Add in the vocals and you have the sound of a very good Genesis tribute band, e.g. "The Musical Box". Or, an interesting thought, what Genesis may have sounded like after Gabriel left and Collins stayed behind the drum kit i.e. a new vocalist was brought in.

The best things about this album are the great cover, the immaculate production and great playing - though the drumming is not as sharp as that of of Phil Collins.

Listen to the originals, especially the cleaned up versions that are for sale on Amazon at very reasonable prices and remember what a great band they were during the period "Revisited 2" covers.

It may cause a bit of contention, but IMHO none of the former members have achieved anything as good since, not even Peter Gabriel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Hackett - Genesis Revisited II, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (Audio CD)
This new version of "Genesis Revisited" is spectacular, wonderful, well made and with the great talent of this exceptional artist. The best work ever. Guests are proficient talents, vocal repertoire well made and very good. It is a revival without sameness well prepared. Who likes the band and the exceptional work of this guitarist can not fail to have this work. Excellent! Note 9.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super reinterpretation of classic Genesis, 26 Dec 2012
By 
True Blue (Kidderminster, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (MP3 Download)
I listened to Genesis a lot in the 1970s and early 80s, and saw them several times live. As the band progressed I was not so keen on the albums from Duke onward, although there were some good tracks on the 'Genesis' (1983) album. I gradually lost interest and moved onto listening to other bands, occasionally coming back to listen to Trick of the Tail or Selling England by the Pound etc. When I saw Steve Hackett talking about this album in a TV interview I was interested to get the old albums out again, and decided to buy this to see how it compared. I think Steve's interpretation of these classic tracks is excellent, combining with several other artists on vocals to create a great collection of re-worked tracks. The selection of tracks is excellent. Some of the vocals sound eerily like Peter Gabriel or Phil Collins, whereas others sound completely different, and in particular a female vocalist for Ripples was an interesting choice. I think this album confirms my view that when Steve Hackett left Genesis it was as big a loss as Peter Gabriel, with the band moving into the more popular genre rather than the progressive rock with fantastic new ideas that it had grown up on. This album will stimulate me to download some of the other classic albums (that I've already got on vinyl) that I've not yet got around to downloading, starting with Lamb Lies Down on Broadway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hackett's Back!, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited II (Audio CD)
When I bought the original "Genesis Revisited", I was blown away by the new and inovative interpretations of Genesis classic tracks. Well, Hackett has done it again! Another batch of Genesis classics given a fresh look. New arrangements, new voices, some terrific guest musicians, all make this another album any Genesis fan should have in their collection. Now for
"Revisited III"? Come on Steve!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genesis Revisited II
Genesis Revisited II by Steve Hackett
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews