Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WELCOME BACK, YOU'VE BEEN AWAY TOO LONG
When Soundgarden reformed in 2010 and embarked on a tour the question was always going to be will they record a new album? Well the answer is yes and the even better news is that the album is very good and has all the hallmarks of Soundgarden's now classic sound. It might be 16 years since the band released "Down On The Upside" but listening to "King Animal" it doesn't...
Published 22 months ago by nin/ja77

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good if unexciting return
I've been listening to this album for a few months now and my opinion's pretty similar to my immediate impression: rocking if uninspired. Soundgarden haven't fallen down the spiral of mediocrity yet but I can't say this record has improved their legacy. The album lacks songs that contend with the strength of previous glories like 'Superunknown' or 'Blow Up The Outside...
Published 21 months ago by J. Courtney


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WELCOME BACK, YOU'VE BEEN AWAY TOO LONG, 10 Nov 2012
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
When Soundgarden reformed in 2010 and embarked on a tour the question was always going to be will they record a new album? Well the answer is yes and the even better news is that the album is very good and has all the hallmarks of Soundgarden's now classic sound. It might be 16 years since the band released "Down On The Upside" but listening to "King Animal" it doesn't really feel that long, it's as if we have been transported back to the nineties.

Fittingly the album starts with "Been Away too Long" which has a trademark Chris Cornell vocal that twists it way over the music as he uses his powerful range to carry the song on which features a typical powerful Kim Thayil riff, it also features a nice bass breakdown at about the 2.20 mark. While Soundgarden have always been associated with grunge it's fair to say that their origins always lay with Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin as can be heard in hard hitting numbers "Non-State Actor" and "Blood On The Valley Floor" which are both riff heavy.

As well as the heavier numbers there is a few laid back songs on "King Animal" such as "Halfway There" which wouldn't have sounded out of place on "Down On The Upside". There is the ramshackle of closing track "Rowing" which has more than a hint of Steve Earle about it. It has to be said that Matt Cameron's drumming is a superb as ever.

It would have been easy for Soundgarden not to release a new album and to continue to live on their superb back catalogue but with album number 6 "King Animal" Soundgarden sound as relevant and as important as they ever did. It's great to have them back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm hooked, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
Soundgarden are back, and long overdue!

Their sound has slightly evolved but the core of Soundgarden is still there, the time signatures, nutty riffs and wailing guitars (needs more of this from Kim).

On the first few listens you might feel alienated but the more you listen the more it grows on you (classic Soundgarden) and for only a tenner you shouldn't be disappointed.

Chris has gotten on a bit so his voice isn't what it used to be (to be expected, but don't let this put you off)

I'd also mention that Matt out did himself on the drums in this album, I would argue it's some of his best work.

Overall great purchase, I hope they can release another album because there are very few bands that can come back together after nearly 2 decades, pushing 50, and still out perform and songwrite most bands today.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delux not even for die-hards!, 5 Dec 2012
By 
M. Eagle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
Soundgarden are my favourite band, I have all their albums and a lot of their CD singles that contain some of their rarer stuff. Like many others I was excited on the announcement of this new album and even pre-ordered the delux version.
The first listen was a little underwhelming as only the first track really appealed to me. However, like another reviewer has said it can take a number of listens to get into some of Soundgarden's later material, which holds true for this release. Also like their last album, a lot of the songs seem largely influenced by Chris, and if you have listened to his solo albums you will know where I am coming from. Fortunately there is enough of a balance with the old school Soundgarden style to offset this.
Now comes the negative, the last 3 tracks on this delux version are just demo's of 3 of the other tracks on the album. Now I wish I had read the tracklist more closely on Amazon, but being a fan I just went ahead and ordered what I thought would be the best version. As a result I feel a little short changed and let down by the band because 3 extra pounds hasnt got me 3 extra songs! And the demo's certainly dont add anything, other than run time. Am sure they had extra material when recording this album that they could have included instead on the delux version.
My advice is get the non-delux version, even if like me you are a Soundgarden fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth The Wait, Trust me!!, 7 Nov 2012
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Soundgarden for many years, and when they reformed a couple of years ago I expected them to just do a few shows and be contented with the chance of maybe seeing them in the UK for the first time in years and years, Never in my wildest dreams did i anticipate a new album coming out with completely new material - and what an album it is, an absolute stormer full of diversity, quality playing, interesting tunes and for me most of all Chris Cornells superb vocal, which is backed up by great playing from the three other members. The album for me easily is as good as the last one of many years go "Down On The Upside", I have heard the full album (without the extra tracks in the deluxe edition ), and it really is superb fayre!!. Stand Out tracks are the brillaint "Bones Of Birds" ( which is dark and deep with a great lyric) , and "None State Actor" ( Powerful and intense ) ,which i'm sure if played live will be show stoppers. An excellent welcome back then and a definite thumbs up from me. All im waiting for is the vinyl to come through the post!,
I have now had the chance to listen to the album for a more prolonged period, and to me it rates as probably their second best album after "Superunknown" which as we all know is a bone fide classic Rock Album. As well as the two tracks mentioned earlier probably what is for me the best track on the album - " Black Saturday " , incredible feel and superb and thoughtful lyrics, simply put for me the best track they have done since the great days. Well Done on a superb album!. One to Savour!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patience reaps rewards., 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
Buy it. Listen to it. Don't form a solid opinion straight away. Listen to it again. Keep listening to it because you won't be able to stop. Then you'll realise how damn great and important this piece of work is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
This is a good album that shows that Seattle rockers Soundgarden haven't lost their edge. There's plenty here to
please old fans as well as hints of Chris Cornell's solo work in places. Kicking off with "Been Away Too Long", a rock
opener that lets you see they wanted and needed to make this record. There are a few songs which are similar to
Superunknown, but this album doesn't quite reach their former glory. The songs don't quite scale the heights of the
classic "Black Hole Sun", "Just Like Suicide" or "Fell on Black Days", but are nevertheless pretty good. There are some
mellower moments with "Bones of Birds", "Taree" and "Halfway There" to add lyrical and musical contrasts to the more metal/grunge compositions which was always their trademark. Final track "Rowing" a bluesy soul searching track which
has the characteristic brilliant guitar soloing of Kim Thyal . A really rather worthwhile album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this box set, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Knights of the Soundtable ride again! King Animal is Soundgarden's first studio album since their 2010 reunion, and their first album of new material since 1996's Down on the Upside. And this album was definitely worth the wait. Soundgarden, driven by the wailing (and no less powerful) vocals of Chris Cornell, the mighty guitar riffs of Kim Thayil, the bouncy basslines of Ben Shepherd, and the eclectic and versatile drumming of Matt Cameron, have crafted a magnificent work of rock 'n roll. The overall vibe is similar to that of the band's previous albums Superunknown (IMO their magnum opus) and Down on the Upside. The songs are grungy without sounding nostalgic; instead they sound like a fresh reawakening. The band maneuvers through odd time signatures with ease, performing with vitality despite their older age. There are fast songs and slow songs, heavy rockers and soft acoustic tracks, psychedelic dirges and energetic bursts of alt-metal. Hats off to Soundgarden for making not only an excellent comeback album, but one of the best albums of 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Georgios P. Gikas (ATHENS - GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
THE BIG RETURN OF THE SOUNDGARDEN BAND.WE HAVE MISSED THEM BUT THEIR RETURN PROVED THAT THEY WHERE NEVER STOPPED OR LOST THEIR TOUCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let it grow, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
I have given four stars for king animal but I'm sure it will become a five with time. Soundgarden albums tend to creep up on you! A wonderful collection of songs/music with the obvious classic opener - huge riff, fantastic vocals, a very exciting track with outstanding drumming. The production on the album is perfect, brighter than previous albums - lots of room for all the instruments and vocals, genius! As a longstanding Soundgarden fan I feel that this album will come as a relief to others, in that it is a true Soundgarden album. Superunknown will always be their pinnacle but king animal is a very worthwhile venture, shining with class and soul. Stand up and be proud guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its musik and its soundgarden is great after 15 years it stills rocks, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Animal (Audio CD)
i love it i can listen it again and again and i listen allways new things on it .great
wouderfull its soundgarden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Animal
King Animal by Soundgarden (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews