Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The silence
I could not find a DVD in English for this superb British thriller made in 2010 so I had to purchase this Dutch import. The trouble is that if your only language is English it is not always easy to find out how to get rid of foreign language subtitles unless you speak the language of those subtitles and know what setting to use. In the case of this particular DVD I...
Published 21 months ago by David Rowland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
can't pay it as I don't know what type of DVD player it needs
Published 1 month ago by Karen Moller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The silence, 23 Mar 2013
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
I could not find a DVD in English for this superb British thriller made in 2010 so I had to purchase this Dutch import. The trouble is that if your only language is English it is not always easy to find out how to get rid of foreign language subtitles unless you speak the language of those subtitles and know what setting to use. In the case of this particular DVD I found out by trial and error that the setting to turn off the subtitles is the last word on the bottom line of the title screen.

Anyway, it is a tense, very well made thriller about an 18 year old deaf girl living in Bristol who witnesses a woman being run down by a car which then reverses over her and when she turns out to be a policewoman working in the local drugs squad this has severe repercussions for the girl, her family and everyone around her. This is made complicated by the fact that her father, played by the excellent Douglas Henshall, is head of the drugs squad and when his daughter finally tells him about what she saw he takes it upon himself to carry out an investigation which leads him to realising that some cops in his squad are corrupt. The trouble is that he doesn't know who is bent and who is not, so who can he get to help him get to the bottom of what is happening? When the bent coppers find out he is closing in on them they try to frame him so he looks like the person who looks corrupt and unhinged by the strain he is under.

Douglas Henshall, as ever, is great in the leading role and he is very ably supported by Hugh Bonneville, Dervla Kirwan, Gina McKee and others. Genevieve Bask, in her first role as the deaf girl who has recently been fitted with a cochlea implant to help her hear is a revalation. Her portrayal of toughness, vulnerability and confusion in a hearing world that she struggles to cope with is very well done. The excitement builds up nicely when the bent coppers find out that there was a witness to the murder who must be silenced and the tempo increases leading to the shattering climax when everything comes to light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heroine was a treat to watch, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
This was quite interesting and made one think about the challenge of deafness. There were clear dilemmas for the surrounding family. Worth watching and the Drama unfolds quickly and sets a great pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gritty performances and good plot., 23 Aug 2014
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
Deservedly called a thriller. It really was edge of seat viewing.

Amelia is a deaf girl who is undergoing therapy for hearing treatment. During which time, it's convenient for her to stay with her uncle - who is a DCI - and his family near Bristol. She witnesses a murder one evening when walking their dog. It turns out that the police are involved and the uncle, who has been put in charge of the case, goes out on a limb and breaches procedure to protect Amelia. From there the action spirals as the families are slowly drawn in to the drama, and danger.

Gina McKee is splendid as Amelia, no cheesy sentimental characterisation, but gritty realism - a typical teenager! Likewise with the rest of the cast, it's warts and all with a super performance from everyone.

Great acting, good plot and taut dialogue. The ending is a little abrupt and I do wish there had been more final detail but other than that, if you enjoy thrillers then give it a go. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
one of the best dramas from the BBC for ages and ages, great performances throughout. I just wish this was available as a proper UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
Brilliant, great script and story, had me gripped from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shame About The Ending, 27 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
Good Cop/Crime Thriller with an interesting and different twist however the unsatisfying too abrupt unresolved ending spoils the entire things.. Shame this was almost excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Nov 2014
By 
Karen Moller "book mad" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
can't pay it as I don't know what type of DVD player it needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good solid performances, 16 Aug 2014
By 
S. Lawson (wilts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
Completely held my attention .Good solid performances .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence - The Complete series (2010) (DVD)
No English language!!!! DANISH ONLY how this could happen!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silence - The Complete series (2010)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews