Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2012
The sound quality on this CD is sensational considering the conditions under which the recordings were made. Some of the tracks have been available for many years now but we have never heard them like this before - much better than the recent FTD Sun release. The people at MRS deserve great credit for this and their other releases.

We can now get a much better idea of the impact Elvis had on radio listeners right at the start of his career.

Fantastic and highly recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
I would have to concur with a previous reviewer that these live recordings from 1955 and (a few) from 1956 are presented in rather improved sound quality. MRS have done a marvelous job on these which are, after all, incredibly nearly 60 years old. Elvis' vocals are very upfront in the mix. There seems very little hiss and sound distortion. My only slight criticism would be that the unreleased I Forgot to Remember to Forget does not sound nearly as good as it does on You Tube. I am informed by another fan that Bill Black's bass was replaced for the cd by the studio bass portion. Also and unusually for MRS we get no booklet although we do get rerecording details. It is great value nevertheless for under £8.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
It is always great to receive new CD's from Elvis, and this one is another with great songs. He was The King from the very first minute he sang, and it's very interesting to listen to this great CD from the golden fifties. Every fan of good music should buy this CD.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
I Enjoyed it for nostalgic purposes although far too many of the tracks here are live re-recordings and do not improve upon his originals. BUT, he turned out surprisingly excellent versions of songs he hadn't recorded before, such as Tweedle Dee, Maybelene and Hearts Of Stone. The live versions of I Got A Woman, Shake Rattle And Roll and Money Honey precede his commercial versions he made for RCA the following year and are superior. There is a previously unreleased song of his here, a live recording, Little Mama.The sound quality is a vast improvement from previous releases, including ones on Sony/BMG who have only released some of these tracks under licence. But 2 tracks here Maybelene and I Got A Woman do omit a bit of chatter at the end which could be heard on his The Legend Begins CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
The young Elvis live on stage, what more could you wish for? Well, a video I suppose but that's not possible. But great music, great sound, close your eyes and preten your there. Magic!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Though not as well put together as the lavish must have NDT compilation this will do til funds come available !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Can't believe the less than five star reviews. The collection is worth it for 'I Forgot To Remember To Forget' alone - not to mention the repaired; 'I'm Left, You're Right, She's Gone'. I believe there is a more comprehensive package promised for a release around May 2016, but this is simply stunning a makes for terrific listening, (especially while reading 'The Boy From Tupelo'). File under absolutely essential!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Wasn't expecting too much of this, so was pleasantly surprised. The quality is, I would imagine, just about the best that could be squeezed from these ancient recordings. And just about the closest that one could hope to come to that early Elvis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I bought "The Boy FRom Tupelo" and like everyone else was dissapointed at the missing track. Memphis Recording service to the resue with a great package as always!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Elvis the King this cd shows him at his best when young and full of pure Rock n roll a great cd even if your not a fan this is one for your cd rack
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)