Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational - get it!
The sound quality on this CD is sensational considering the conditions under which the recordings were made. Some of the tracks have been available for many years now but we have never heard them like this before - much better than the recent FTD Sun release. The people at MRS deserve great credit for this and their other releases.

We can now get a much...
Published on 26 Oct. 2012 by RTE28

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars elvis
i didnt like this elvis cd its not very clear and ive heard better some friends like it and borrow it
Published 21 months ago by joan timlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational - get it!, 26 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sound quality on this CD is sensational considering the conditions under which the recordings were made. Some of the tracks have been available for many years now but we have never heard them like this before - much better than the recent FTD Sun release. The people at MRS deserve great credit for this and their other releases.

We can now get a much better idea of the impact Elvis had on radio listeners right at the start of his career.

Fantastic and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars raw Elvis unearthed, 2 Nov. 2012
I would have to concur with a previous reviewer that these live recordings from 1955 and (a few) from 1956 are presented in rather improved sound quality. MRS have done a marvelous job on these which are, after all, incredibly nearly 60 years old. Elvis' vocals are very upfront in the mix. There seems very little hiss and sound distortion. My only slight criticism would be that the unreleased I Forgot to Remember to Forget does not sound nearly as good as it does on You Tube. I am informed by another fan that Bill Black's bass was replaced for the cd by the studio bass portion. Also and unusually for MRS we get no booklet although we do get rerecording details. It is great value nevertheless for under £8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd from The King, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Arne Metzner "Arne" (Ski, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is always great to receive new CD's from Elvis, and this one is another with great songs. He was The King from the very first minute he sang, and it's very interesting to listen to this great CD from the golden fifties. Every fan of good music should buy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice To Find An Unreleased SONG Here, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Enjoyed it for nostalgic purposes although far too many of the tracks here are live re-recordings and do not improve upon his originals. BUT, he turned out surprisingly excellent versions of songs he hadn't recorded before, such as Tweedle Dee, Maybelene and Hearts Of Stone. The live versions of I Got A Woman, Shake Rattle And Roll and Money Honey precede his commercial versions he made for RCA the following year and are superior. There is a previously unreleased song of his here, a live recording, Little Mama.The sound quality is a vast improvement from previous releases, including ones on Sony/BMG who have only released some of these tracks under licence. But 2 tracks here Maybelene and I Got A Woman do omit a bit of chatter at the end which could be heard on his The Legend Begins CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The young Elvis live on stage, what more could you wish for? Well, a video I suppose but that's not possible. But great music, great sound, close your eyes and preten your there. Magic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and Cheerful, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though not as well put together as the lavish must have NDT compilation this will do til funds come available !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis The King, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elvis the King this cd shows him at his best when young and full of pure Rock n roll a great cd even if your not a fan this is one for your cd rack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to a collection, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't expecting too much of this, so was pleasantly surprised. The quality is, I would imagine, just about the best that could be squeezed from these ancient recordings. And just about the closest that one could hope to come to that early Elvis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never Forget, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought "The Boy FRom Tupelo" and like everyone else was dissapointed at the missing track. Memphis Recording service to the resue with a great package as always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIVE..., 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
VERY NICE OLD LIVE RECORDINGS...MANY THANKS...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Live Hits of the 50's
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews