Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
Out of all the programs cobbled together to celebrate the Queen's Jubilee, I thought this was the most compelling and heartwarming. John Brigden the producer captures Prince Charles's reaction to a selection of home movies filmed by his parents at various stages of the Queen's reign. His emotional responses are captured without being intrusive, and as family life is common to most of us one can empathize with his reactions to remembrances of past, happy times.

All the family make an appearance; the late King, the Queen Mum, his parents, brothers and sister, Aunt Margaret - and, of course, the corgis.

The images are surprising, heart-warming, intimate. One can only marvel at the normality they achieved in their private life while living out such a very public role. It ends with a montage of images of her life in service, including where it all began - her return to England upon hearing of her beloved Father's death. She is seated around a table with others on the flight home, a tragic figure in a blue suit framed in darkness. Off camera someone makes a remark, she smiles, briefly, her lovely smile, then the mask of grief once more descends on her face and the film freezes and ends. It takes many minutes to break the reverie the film invokes and one can only reflect on how much we will miss her and how precious she has become to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jubilee Tribute by The Prince of Wales., 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD to add to the collection of Jubilee DVDs I have. I thouroughly enjoyed it and I know it will be a lasting piece of history to give my grandchildren which is the reason I bought it. There are lots of lovely words and pictures which show our Queen as she truely is not only our Queen but a daughter, wife, mother, and grandmother just like the rest of us. I would recommend ths DVD to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd well worth watching

Cant think of anything else to say other than brilliant dvd to watch and own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince Charles, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
The Prince of Wales is very gifted in everything he does and he
is a very good presenter and he is very easy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great DVD, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Thomas Williamson (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this DVD. It had a lot of never before seen home movies taken by Prince Philip. This DVD is narrated by Prince Charles. This DVD was dramatically better than I thought it would be. I thought it would be good. But it was actually great. If you like history , you will like it. It also shows a more personal side of Prince Charles. It shows a more personal view of the life of the Queen. Prince Charles comes across as a warm caring person in this DVD. It shows that he one day will be a warm and caring King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Majesty, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Mrs. S. A. Linsell (Seaford East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
Very good I am a great admirer of the Queen and the heir to the throne. It was a good insight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "different" view of the Queen, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
It is good to see some of the old footage contained in this video, as it shows the Royal Family as "real" people. From a time when they were still seen as high and remote, this brings some balance to that image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Jubilee Tribute to the Queen by The Prince of Wales, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
C. Sutherland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
Another interesting DVD. Was good to see the old family films. Would recommend a viewing to those who have an interest in our royals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. G. H. Horn (Plymouth ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
A good addition to those who are interested in the Royal family and in particular the Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
David A. Sutcliffe "Sooty" (The Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD] (DVD)
Just the job very pleased, Thank you..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Jubilee Tribute to The Queen by The Prince of Wales [DVD]
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews