Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No regrets at all
I just received my 35mm f1.8 lens a couple of days ago. I bought it due to the equivalent (full frame) focal length of 52.5mm - 50mm being one of the staple lenses of many great photographers. I also felt that for the type of photography I was interested in, I was going to need a fast prime. The 16-50mm power zoom lens that came equipped with my NEX6 was ok, but just not...
Published 17 months ago by R. COLGAN

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited Recommendation
For the money, this lens should be better. It suffers from lots of complex chromatic aberration, both green and purple, in copious quantities in high contrast situations. It's only reasonably sharp, not as good as the far cheaper 50mm f/1.8 NEX lens. So, if you want a 50mm equivalent lens for your NEX or Alpha xxxx camera, it's either this or the eye wateringly expensive...
Published 3 months ago by David S. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No regrets at all, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
R. COLGAN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
I just received my 35mm f1.8 lens a couple of days ago. I bought it due to the equivalent (full frame) focal length of 52.5mm - 50mm being one of the staple lenses of many great photographers. I also felt that for the type of photography I was interested in, I was going to need a fast prime. The 16-50mm power zoom lens that came equipped with my NEX6 was ok, but just not fast enough in low light, and I felt like I was relying on the camera to find a shot for me, rather than position myself for decent composition. Hopefully this lens will encourage me to be more creative!

Compared to the SEL1650, the SEL35F18 straight away feels only slightly heavier, but a gentle jiggle gives the impression that the 35mm construction is more solid. It's also about a 3rd taller than the 16-50; it's not so much that I need to buy another bag, thankfully.

The focus ring is very smooth, solid, and nice and cool thanks to the aluminum outer casing. Manual focus is what I will use 98% of the time, so I'll leave it to others to comment on autofocus performance. The manual focus though is exactly what I expected, and I had high expectations.

The image quality from what I've seen so far under indoor low light conditions are outstanding. Really nice subject isolation and bokeh. Lens distortion seems minimal- according to the lens distortion correction profile, only slightly needing to pull out the corners a little. Vignetting is quite mild too. With both of these my only other experience is with the 16-50mm PZ, but I will say both corrections are far less extreme with the 35mm.

Initially I struggled to choose between the 50mm (75mm equiv) and 35mm (52.5mm equiv), as the former had many excellent reviews and ratings and was also much, much cheaper than the latter. However, despite the added cost, I'm very happy to be the owner of such a lovely lens - despite other lenses that I might buy (SEL16F28 with wide angle looks good...) the 35mm will likely be fitted most of the time as it's simply the best all-round prime for everyday use.

Anyone hesitating, or anyone like me who wanted the 35mm as their main lens but felt like the 50mm is a better 'deal', go with your instincts and get the 35mm. It's just more versatile in my opinion, and it's so fast, smooth and sexy. I just can't imagine anyone that has it having second thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do yourself a favour and upgrade to this, 18 July 2014
By 
J. Watt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
Having bought the a nex 6 some 12 months back I have been a very happy photo enthusiast. It was my first step into the world of interchangeable lenses and bigger sensors that take great photos.

The stock lense is a good start and basically is a cover all bases with both wise angle and zoom, but practically speaking it compromises too much of what the nex can offer.

I was throwing coins as to whether I took one of the more pancake lenses f2.8 or go the whole distance for the 1.8 options.
For the added cost and the massively impressive photos I am not disappointed in my decision.

The 50mm equivalent focal length is great for the portrait style of photography I am normally doing (while I can't speak from experience I think the 35mm equivalent f1.8 would be too wide for the composition I am now used to taking), and the fast 1.8 aperture means you get the shots you want with out compromising on poor lighting conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used on a6000, combined with sigma 19mm and you have two great lens' for different situations, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
So i use this on an a6000. Its great for taking pictures of people and stuff a little further away. The lens itself is amazing, pictures look fantastic and the night shots came out really really nice to where someone asked me if I'd used a tripod. But its all hand held and taken in a rush, but they look incredible. I took it to Vietnam + Cambodia with me. What i found though was that the lens wasnt wide enough due to the cropped camera sensor. You have to be really far away to get like landscape and the temple shots in. But combine this lens with the sigma 19mm and you are good to shoot in any scene.

Sigma 19mm for scenery, this lens for people + blurred backgrounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited Recommendation, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
David S. Wilson "drevo49" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
For the money, this lens should be better. It suffers from lots of complex chromatic aberration, both green and purple, in copious quantities in high contrast situations. It's only reasonably sharp, not as good as the far cheaper 50mm f/1.8 NEX lens. So, if you want a 50mm equivalent lens for your NEX or Alpha xxxx camera, it's either this or the eye wateringly expensive Zeiss 32mm f/1.8. It highlights the Achilles heel of these cameras - sub optimal lenses that don't do justice to Sony's state of the art sensors. Sony's view is that we should use full frame FE lenses but that defeats the point of a very compact camera body. So only a qualified recommendation for this lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a thing of beauty!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
I couldn't be happier with this. Having tried purchasing elsewhere and having a terrible experience, I gave amazon a go and all went to plan.

The lens arrived quickly, well packed, and worked out the box. I'm not expert, but this gives me the best photos I've ever taken when on my Nex-5N. It makes the camera nice and portable, works in very low light, and 35mm seems to me the best lenght for a walk-around lens.

All in all, I couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice lens, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
C. G. Osborne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
Brought this to use with my sony nex vg20 camcord much brighter clearer & better color than my sel 18-200 kit lens.Divided some snap shots of some video clips & compared them in photoshop elements at 100% & you could really see the difference so my video footage will definitely be better with this lens also the benefit of 1.8 f stop for low light for photos & video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
I'm not a photography expert, but I know a good quality lens when I use one.

Low light - fantastic.
DoF - beautiful
Video capture - fast and responsive.

Highly recommended, if a little pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Lens, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
First off, I returned the one I ordered from a marketplace seller (via amazon) as it wasn't as described, no retail box or lens hood etc. However, issue was resolved quickly and refund sorted....onto the lens itself.

I now have the lens from elsewhere and this is a major step up from my 16-50 kit lens. If like me you are still fairly new to the SLR / CSC world then like me you may be wondering just how much can a lens change things? A lot it turns out.

What I've realised with having a good prime lens, is the difference in the sharpness, contrast and colour results I get. I went to New York recently, but to get the width I needed I didn't use the new prime, but the 16-50 powerzoom kit lens. Of course, I'd gotten used to my sharp results with this, and was a little disappointed with my soft shots which needed a lot of lightroom work. This now means I want to invest in a wide angle prime, but I'm glad I'm learning the lesson, my wallet isn't.

Also, having a 1.8 aperture makes things a lot more fun. It allows faster shooting and really cool blurry backgrounds on your photos, aka Bokeh (a word I'm still not sure how to pronounce).

If you have the money I've been told, and read, that the Carl Zeiss lens are the best but I can't compare as my wallet isn't that deep yet. However, my results with this lens have been fantastic and I highly recommend as a first lens for the NEX camera away from the kit. It makes me wonder if in the past I've upgraded my camera when really I just needed a better lens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
Excellent lens...bought it as a replacement for my 16-50mm kit lens...much sharper images ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony SEL35F18, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SEL35F18 E 35mm f/1.8 OSS Fixed Lens for NEX series E Mount (Accessory)
Great prime lens, good quality, bought second hand, but condition as good as new. Worthwhile addition to the SEL1855kit lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews