Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a little cracker.
I already have a well specified Canon Pixma printer that I use for photography and this produces good quality prints. Sometimes though, it is all a bit of a performance to set it up and wait for the seemingly endless whirring and clunking whilst the ink is loaded ready to print. My skills as an editor sometimes fail me too, and what I print is not always what I wanted to...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Canon starter kit?
Anyone contemplating buying this Canon photo printer should understand, it is just the basic unit and doesn't include ink, paper, USB lead, or battery. These items are quite expensive and perhaps worth bearing in mind before you decide to buy.

Furthermore, there is a 'bundle option' available from Amazon, which represents better value for money.
Bundle...
Published 11 months ago by Wood-nut


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a little cracker., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
I already have a well specified Canon Pixma printer that I use for photography and this produces good quality prints. Sometimes though, it is all a bit of a performance to set it up and wait for the seemingly endless whirring and clunking whilst the ink is loaded ready to print. My skills as an editor sometimes fail me too, and what I print is not always what I wanted to print.
My new printer had to offer quick and fuss free printing of photos from my camera or phone.
The Canon Selphy looked to be a good bet, and it is a joy to use. Install the ribbon cassette and put the paper in the paper tray and off you go.
The printer uses dye sublimation and to produce a photo, the paper is passed through the printer four times. Each pass adds another layer of dye, or the final protective layer to keep it clean and mark free for a long lifetime.
The print quality is outstanding. There is no visible banding or pixilation and the finished print is as good as any I've seen from anywhere. In printer features allow for basic editing and offers various print styles such as passport pictures
Printing from USB, SD Cards, Android or Apple phones via the Canon App or direct from your PC, the range of options is very good. Sadly, Canon have decided not to produce software for Windows 8. The software runs on any Windows OS up to and including Windows 7. That's a shame, but copying an image out to USB or an SD Card gets over that one.
All in all, I'm delighted with this printer and would recommend it to anyone wanting high quality, easy to use and fuss free printing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great family gift, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
Bought this for all the family this Christmas and love it. Simple to set up and printed all the photos over the festive break to share with all our family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend strongly!, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
I absolutely love this! I bought this as I had lots of pictures to print out and the supermarkets are charging silly rates for prints. The quality of the prints are brilliant and the printer itself is very quick and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb all round, 28 Oct 2013
By 
MR MATTHEW MARSHALL (Sevenoaks, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
Excellent for the money, small, easy to use and cheap to run and hooks up easily with your wifi network for wireless printing, even from iPhone with the Canon app.

I'm no stranger to pushing pixels around processing software, feeding my computer with Nikon DSLR and Fuji X series digicam images and also 35mm film scans. Compared to the labs in town this is every bit as good on this format. Let's face it, with 6x4 aspect ratio (matches pretty well with DSLR 3x2 although not exactly strangely, even when cropped to exactly the pixel ratio in processing) you can't get much wrong as long as you feed it decent resolution and well exposed files. Even a modest modern DLSR packs enough punch to print way larger, I've printed 18x12 from a Fuji X100 recently from the lab and these still look excellent, even close it's very difficult to see artefacts.

As such, if you want a quick impressive print at this format, you cannot go wrong with this printer.

Full marks within it's chosen remit, I'll be printing on this to save a trip to the lab for a regular print for some time to come.

PS - yes the cartridge and paper have exactly enough for 36 prints from each pack, watching the paper pass through the printer and then back 4 times is still a modern miracle to me. No idea how it really works but it is as simple as they say it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looked for good quality small wifi capable photo printer, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
.. and I was positively surprised how small it is, still having wifi support, allowing AirPrint from iDevice or network connected computer as well print directly from camera or from sd card with essential edit functions built in and finally how good actually is 4x6 postcard photo quality. Delivered as expected, just be sure to order consumables with your printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little printer, let down by lack of accessories, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
A couple of things to be aware of with this printer: firstly, it does NOT come with either ribbon or paper included, you need to buy those separately, or be very frustrated that you can't try out your new purchase at once. Best value box set is the KP-108IN, with 3 ribbons and 108 sheets of 4x6 paper.

Secondly, for anyone on Mac running Mountain Lion, the included software disc does NOT support Mountain Lion. Yeah, really. How long has Mountain Lion been available now? Must do better, Canon. Anyway, you'll have to go to Canon UK website/support and download the appropriate driver from there.

Once you get past these initial hurdles, things get better. The printer is compact, but rattles out prints within a minute, and the colours are pretty accurate right out of the box - I haven't even bothered with profiles. The Canon Easy Print app (from your app store) lets you print by wi-if direct from your phone or iPad with no hassle. You could carry the whole thing easily to an event, and print onsite. If you just want something to print the occasional snap from your phone, or a set of holiday prints right from the memory card or computer, this is ideal. Easy to set up and simple to operate - what more do you need?

(Well, a ribbon and some paper in the box would be nice!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars printer with no loss of picture due to cartridge, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
Fantastic quality! it doesn't use an ink jet cartridge, it uses thermal tranfer than means you get perfect pictures up the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little printer, 5 Mar 2013
By 
P. Arkinstall "paularky" (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
I first saw one of these printers back in October 2012 at a business promo day for visitors to print their own photos from the day. I could see how handy one would be at home. When I came to buy one the WIFI version had come down in price so opted for that. I am very pleased with it. I can send photos via local WIFI network from my phone, tablet, PC, Laptop or just stick an SD card in. Very easy to use and the picture quality is very good. Nice bright colours and sharp detail. I am yet to use the auto corrective functions but I'm sure they do some good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Photo Printer, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
I love this photo printer, have recently returned from visiting a friend in Canada, and have been able to print all my photo's within a couple of days of returning, would definitely recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compact photo printer, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP900 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Accessory)
Does exactly what we want,without the need for a computer.the pictures are really good quality.would recommend this printer for ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews