Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for practical advice
This book offers practical advice on ways in which to improve one's charisma. The author starts off by introducing the three 'elements' of charisma, and dissects each of these. She focuses on ways of improving one's inner mental state as a way to improve charisma. The end point is to improve one's ability to cultivate a positive mental state, and suppress negative ones. I...
Published 17 months ago by JKR

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
I found this book a bit long winded at times and didnt really learn a great deal from it but perhaps it wasn't what I was looking for
Published 5 months ago by jb007


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for practical advice, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charisma Myth: Master the Art of Personal Magnetism (Kindle Edition)
This book offers practical advice on ways in which to improve one's charisma. The author starts off by introducing the three 'elements' of charisma, and dissects each of these. She focuses on ways of improving one's inner mental state as a way to improve charisma. The end point is to improve one's ability to cultivate a positive mental state, and suppress negative ones. I personally find the visualisation techniques to be very effective, but they do require a lot of attention and concentration. A lot of the exercises are writing exercises, so in order to get the most out of it don't expect to be reading this book as a way of relaxing before going to bed.

I want to stress that I find this book extremely good. It's packed full of exercises. My only criticism is that it may be a bit too packed - I quite like a bit of filler between exercises, perhaps to illustrate the exercises a bit more. However, this is a personal preference - some people may well prefer her straight-to-the-point style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Whatever the mind can conceive and believe, the mind can achieve.", 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book seems to fit a new slant - how charisma isn't so much an innate ability but one that can be turned on almost at will with 'internal skill'; it is a distillation of the author's many years of practical business advice to high-ranking CEOs and leadership teams in Fortune 500 companies demystifying behaviours that project presence, power and warmth. However the science behind the science of charisma is surprisingly like you might have come across before.

As with most self-help books it doesn't seem to matter what aspects of human behaviour you invariably want to change, eventually you arrive at the tendency towards a negativity bias (inaccurate and unhelpful thoughts) and raising awareness of the traps the mind falls into. Conversely the key to such positive fulfilment is the distortion of reality through the power of the imagination when applied with affirmative action.

"The Charisma Myth" at its core then is another book with an NLP type behavioural psychology twist of breaking down a talent into its constituent parts many avid readers of Self improvement might find slightly short changed by. I did find myself absorbing the same rudimentary literature relating to body language and presentational skills that had been doing the rounds ever since psychological explanations were applied to sales. In fact, the four types of charisma style that form the crux of de-constructing charisma in this book can be seen as the four Jungian archetypes, which may or may not have have crossed the author's mind: the warrior = focus charisma, the lover = kindness charisma, the king = authority charisma, and the magician = visionary charisma.

However, not withstanding the over exposing of myth of charisma's nuts and bolts it does not go unnoticed that the author is a very highly skilled and effective communicator as evidenced in her writing style which lifts effortlessly off the page. There are countless insights, personal experiences and tons of practical exercises to fine tune charisma forming habits and lots of anecdotal and academic research to back this up.

I especially found the chapter on being comfortable in handling discomfort a really important tool. This is done in a sequential order by firstly de-dramatising the discomfort, then normalising the experience (destygmatising) detaching from the basis of its validity (neutralising the thought), rewriting our own version of its reality (more poignant if written down) and finally transferring its responsibility to a greater power.. God anyone? This last point, again reminded me how such Ninja moves of the internal variety have always been "out there" - possibly for those lucky enough to be coached by supportive mentor/peer groups with or without formal belief systems.

Further chapters on establishing warmth and rapport are also particularly good, especially in understanding the natural escalation from gratitude and good will, through to empathy and compassion (I had thought empathy and compassion were the same, but apparently not). Another very well explained technique for giving people a sense of ownership for their success and therefore warding off envy and resentment (a negative side effect of those exhibiting charisma) is explained called the JALIR sequence: 'J'ustify your reason to contact someone first, 'A'ppreciate them by 'L'aying it all out and tell them the 'I'mpact they have on you by crediting them with 'R'esponsibility.

In rapidly summing up this book it brings to mind that many successful people have a resource of creative visualisation in their tool-kit as well as a seeming natural presence - two incredibly important sustainers and nourishers of personal success. But very much in the same vein as Napoleon Hill and Andrew Carnegie, Olivia Fox Cabane has discovered the same precious secrets of charisma and converted them into the style of a training manual so that maybe others can learn to mirror the key components of influence too.

Whether this book will have the same impact as the aforementioned classics remains to be seen though one suspects that the true craft is as always in the application and no amount of reading will replace constant practice and coaching. More importantly we are told a lack of imagination and personal projection can be overcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relevant and easy to read, 23 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book treats the subject of charisma in an easy, sometimes funny way. Still the autor manages to keep it relevant and concise. Some of the tips provided in the book are really useful and applicable to real life situations. However, it states sometimes the obvious and lacks the depth I was expecting. All in all it is an interesting book that I would reccomend to anyone interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to know, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am really enjoying reading this book. I have been doing the exercises as I go along and putting them in practise in my day to day life and they work.
I must for all of us who love to communicate and be with other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 27 Jan 2013
Charisma as a topic can give birth to all kinds of philosophical texts. This is a practical, well written, well researched book that cuts through the confusion and delivers on what charisma is and how to get it. It feels throughout the book like Olivia is right there talking to you and just watching some of her videos on YouTube you can see for yourself that she practices what she preaches to remarkable success! Buy one for yourself and two more for your best friends - its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply great, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charisma Myth: Master the Art of Personal Magnetism (Kindle Edition)
I'm 'over 21' and feel I have earned the T shirt over the years regarding exec development courses/books, but this is simply one of the very best business books I have ever read. From start to finish it is full of fascinating insights, interspersed with great tips and pointers; it delivers both immediate and long-term benefits, which is quite some accomplishment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely useful life skills., 3 Nov 2013
By 
D. E. K. Methven (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charisma Myth: Master the Art of Personal Magnetism (Kindle Edition)
So many self help books are "all gong and no dinner" but I found this book to be a refreshing exception. The basic premise of the book is that charisma is very often a learned skill rather than an inherent personality trait. But.... and here is where the real nitty-gritty of the book lies.... it is very difficult to have charisma if you are not comfortable within yourself. The author does a very competent job of explaining how the many causes of low self esteem and lack of self control in difficult circumstances can be overcome as well as going on to explain the essential skills needed to connect with other people in a deep, warm and meaningful way. To sum up, I have learned that if a book contains just one good idea that you can realistically use in your day to day life , it is a good buy and this book contains many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Charisma Myth, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charisma Myth: Master the Art of Personal Magnetism (Kindle Edition)
I was attracted by the title of the book. I am actively seeking to enter national politics and thought this book might give me an insight into how potential voters might perceive me. There are lots of examples in the book and I could easily relate to these as my interest is politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever when it comes to charisma, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Culture Enthusiast (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I bumped across this book totally by chance. I was listening to a podcast and the author was mentioned. I was intrigued and purchased the kindle version. The main message is Charisma can be learnt, it is a skill. What I like about this book is the clarity of the concepts and the step by step guide on how to become more charismatic without betraying your personality. I have particularly enjoyed the chapter on how to deal with difficult people, a classic dilemma in business and daily life. The book is packed full with examples and exercises that can be easily implemented. This book is a gem for anyone who is interested in charisma, body language, vocal tonality. The best book on this topic I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful..., 8 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. J. W. Nicholson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well researched and useful book. It is based on the author's experience of teaching charisma techniques at leading American universities, and that enhances its value consierably. Overall, it is a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa77fa7ec)

This product

Only search this product's reviews