Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legacy of the Force off to an amazing start
Legacy of the Force: Betrayal marks the beginning of a new 9 book series taking place ten years after the 19 book New Jedi Order series and about four years after the Dark Nest Trilogy that bridges the gap between the NJO and LotF. Betrayal in my opinion is a far more satisfying opening to LotF than Vector Prime was for the NJO, this I think hinges on how much I enjoyed...
Published on 28 Jan 2008 by Skywalker fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting Down the Dark Path
First, a comment on the Legacy of the Force series as a whole: this really is a bridge too far; everyone who reads Star Wars books wants to hear the continuing adventures of our heroes but when are they going to get their happy ending? This is 30 years plus after Star Wars and the poor dears are creaking on into their fifties and sixties without being allowed to stop...
Published 21 months ago by Cylon Says


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legacy of the Force off to an amazing start, 28 Jan 2008
By 
Skywalker fan "GMS" (Oxon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Legacy of the Force: Betrayal marks the beginning of a new 9 book series taking place ten years after the 19 book New Jedi Order series and about four years after the Dark Nest Trilogy that bridges the gap between the NJO and LotF. Betrayal in my opinion is a far more satisfying opening to LotF than Vector Prime was for the NJO, this I think hinges on how much I enjoyed the Dark Nest Trilogy and how it set the galactic scene after the Yuuzhan Vong war and how it sorted out a number of key issues so LotF could hit the ground running. This however is not to take anything away from Betrayal itself, this book is excellent in its own right with Aaron Allston crafting a compelling and extremely enjoyable story.

Betrayals plotline is centered around the growing tension between the Corellian system of planets and the Galactic Alliance, with a Jedi Order that is continuing to grow and become an important part in guarding the peace and security of the galaxy. The Corellian system on the surface is simply wanting concessions from the Galactic Alliance but with Thracken Sal-Solo as Corellias(the planet) Chief of State, Centerpoint Station and Sith thrown into the mix things are anything but simple. However this latest galactic incident has a lot of implications for the Skywalker/Solo families as Han solo and Leia gravitate towards the side of the Corellians while the rest of their family are Jedi Knights duty bound to protect the Galactic Alliance. This plot is beautifully handled providing anything but a clear cut conflict as both sides have valid concerns and are being manipulated from behind the scenes by the true enemy. The books highlight is the focus upon Jacen Solo now an active Jedi Knight for the Order and his informal apprentice Ben Skywalker as they get drawn into this conflict which leads to a simply amazing turn of events which I wont dare spoil for anyone.

Aaron Allston provides an exciting adventure full of action and humor that further convinces me that this is going to be a superb series. My only complaints are that I would have liked to have seen more Jedi Masters such as Saba Sebatyne, Kyle Katarn, Cilghal etc and the Jedi Academy on Ossus but those are very minor things. LotF: Betrayal left me like the Dark Nest Trilogy did, desperate to read what comes next.

This the paperback version of Betrayal also has an added bonus of containing two short stories. These two stories are by Karen Traviss and although they do not tie into the Legacy of the Force storyline they are both excellent. They are called "In his image" and "A two-edged sword" and focus upon Darth Vader in the years following Revenge of the Sith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 29 Mar 2008
Betrayal is the first novel in the new nine part star wars series called Legacy Of The Force, which is being jointly written by Aaron Allston, Karen Traviss and Troy Denning. Each of which are writing three novels a piece, and it's Allston's job to start the series off and what a job he does!

The legacy series takes place roughly ten years after the end of the yuuzhan vong war and five years after the dark nest crisis. Luke Skywalker has been able to fully unify the jedi order, however planetary interests are threatening the Galactic Alliance and the famous/infamous Corellia is at the heart of it all, which is being led by none other than Thracken Sal-Solo.

However dark forces from the distant past are also manipulating events behind the scenes and in so doing are escalating events. And trust me you are in for a lovely treat when you find out who, but that's enough of that.

Our faveourite heroes return in Betrayal, Luke, Mara, Han, Leia, Wedge, Tycho Celchu aswell as some of our most hated villains however the story really belongs to Jacen Solo and Ben Skywalker, Master and Apprentice, they make an excellent team, while Ben is innocent and naive, he is struggling to grow up so as to obtain respect from the "adults" which can be quite funny in some cases, Jacen on the other hand, well let me say first that his arrogance is outstanding, but he still is a very interesting character and his choices in this book will have lasting effects. Allston has not left everything to the old generation though and has introduced several new and very interesting charcters into the star wars universe.

All in all i found this book to be one hell of a rollercoaster ride, the writing is fantasticly well detailed and the characters are all done justice, an excellent start to the new series, let us hope it continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 26 Mar 2007
This book is a bit weird because it seems to take ages to get into the really exciting stuff. But once it does reach that stage you really won't be able to put the thing down.The story has great potential with regards to the Jacen Solo character and some of our old favourites continue to thrill. Yes Luke,Han and Leia are getting on a bit but when I imagine them in this time frame they're still young; these characters are immortal. Overall an excellent start to the series, if you buy it persevere with it at first; you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars legacy is the word, 28 July 2006
By 
M. Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After an iffy start this book becomes difficult to put down. I did have to remind myself at times that the Solo children are now in their early thirties, adults in their own rights, and definitely older than their parents were during the films. I won't say too much about the second part of the book, as it will give too much away. However, it is interesting to note the different approaches two of the characters have to a similar problem. A must read for all Star Wars fans, the legacy continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great start, 13 Feb 2007
By 
T. Vanstone "tom" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i thought this was a great start to the legacy of the force series, i really enjoyed this book, i felt as though i could feel the growing tension between luke and han but the only thing is it was a bit predictable that there was going to be a big fight at the end to finish the book off, but overall i give 5 out of 5 stars for the rest of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Always in motion the future is., 28 Jun 2006
For SW fans of a 'certain age', those of us who were teenagers when the film first burst onto the screen all those years ago, Star Wars: Legacy of the Force is a wonderful way to return to the Skywalker/Solo legend. Luke, Leia, Han, R2 and fussy old C-3PO are not just 'celebrity appearances' here, they are the central characters round whom several tales are being woven.

The main characters are portrayed sympathetically and realistically. We've all grown older since that first opening crawler and this really is like meeting up with old friends.

Luke, now married with children, is no longer the whining brat of

the movies but deeply aware of the responsabilites and dangers that the Force and a galaxy wide government can present.

The old energy between Han and Leia has matured into that feisty 'edge' that only couples who are truly matched can dare risk and there are some comic moments as Han comes to grips with being the father of a lively, teenage jedi daughter.

As with all the best SW literature there are battles, politics, intrigue and mystery as well as the threat of some very dark influences which look as if they are going to present our lifelong heroes with some terrible choices in later volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD START TO WHAT SHOULD BE A GREAT SERIES, 23 July 2008
By 
Angels 14 (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
I realy enjoyed this book, without giving away any plot spoilers, I did like the way it started. You can feel the tension between the heroes and especialy with one of the main jedi Jacen Solo, like I said I said I won't be giving away any plot Spoilers, but it is a very worthy addition to the Star Wars universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars star wars, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big star was fan have been for years, I have past on my love for star wars to my sisters little boy like my mother did for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a true Star Wars classic, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force I - Betrayal (Kindle Edition)
I had loved the direction that the war with the Yuuzhan Vong had taken the Star Wars universe but am so glad that this new series has brought us a great story. It has everything you could want in the saga and I can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge starwars fan and have loads of the books already, admitdlety had a couple of drinks when i ordered this one so it is well out of the timeline to where i am but it is easy to pick up and follow all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews