Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WARM AND WITTY READ
Nicholas Coleridge is at his absolute best when writing about the glizy lives of
the super rich and he does not disppoint with this juicy glamorous read.

Cath Fox is a latter day Becky Sharp who starts off folding knickers in a girls
boarding school and as you do ends up through marriage to a tycoon on the
Buckingham Palace balcony...
Published 22 months ago by Mrs. C. Swarfield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars holiday reading
A book to take on holiday or read during a boring train journey. I read it on a beach and was happy to leave it behind for someone else to do the same.
Published 4 months ago by Kick Dutch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WARM AND WITTY READ, 29 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. C. Swarfield - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
Nicholas Coleridge is at his absolute best when writing about the glizy lives of
the super rich and he does not disppoint with this juicy glamorous read.

Cath Fox is a latter day Becky Sharp who starts off folding knickers in a girls
boarding school and as you do ends up through marriage to a tycoon on the
Buckingham Palace balcony.

Not always the most sympathetic of characters Coleridge does warm her up a
bit by making things go wrong for her. Her near iss as Lady of Northamptonshire
is priceless and she also does a stint spanking a kinky royal... Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Becky Sharp rides again!, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Adventuress (Paperback)
Nicholas Colergidge is MD of Condé Nast and as they publish my favourite magazine, Tatler, I was interested to read his novels. Having read Deadly Sins and Streetsmart I was excited to read The Adventuress with a female protagonist this time. It started off very well, a modern take on Thackeray's `Vanity Fair'. I love his descriptions of London society and that he uses real places and real streets instead of the usual made-up nonsense of contemporary fiction.

However, whilst the plot was stimulating I felt it lacked characterisation, Cath and indeed all her lovers, all came across as very one-dimensional and devoid of emotion. I enjoyed the plot technique of intertwining the lives of the 3 main characters. The climax of the story, although long-awaited, is very quickly dealt with. However, the Epilogue ties up all the loose ends nicely. A fun, fast-paced humorous read, I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars holiday reading, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Kindle Edition)
A book to take on holiday or read during a boring train journey. I read it on a beach and was happy to leave it behind for someone else to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An insiders view of our society, 28 Nov 2013
By 
A. A. Webster "Cheriton" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Kindle Edition)
The story is about a number of characters and where they fit into the social stra and also about how many of them are misfits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not to his usual standard, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Kindle Edition)
This book was so disappointing. I have always enjoyed Nicholas Coleridge's books but this one was a let down. The writing was not to his usual standard and the storyline poor and quite unbelievable. His books are usually an escape but this was far from it - I just got more and more frustrated with the main character. This, however will not put me off reading more of his novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Kindle Edition)
I saw an advert for this book whilst in the hairdressers. I made a point of getting it down on my Kindle. It is a great read and I am now reading a lot of this author. His story telling keeps you wanting to read his books. Not many authors can keep this type of writing up for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Kindle Edition)
Fairly low in interlectual calories but fun all the same. Suggest good for poolside reading on holiday or before bedtime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking yarn., 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
Pacy, entertaining and very funny. Coleridge nails the British class system brilliantly and weaves in the life/lives of Cath effortlessly with other characters in the book. Can't fault this story; thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and badly researched, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
I had high hopes of this novel following positive reviews. However I found it not only disappointing, but the characterisation poor (two dimensional) and the chapters referring to Cath's marriage to a Manchester Utd player were ridiculous. In the mid to late 80s and into the early 90s, footballers were not socially feted - indeed were borderline social pariahs - and I have no recollection of any magazine covering any player weddings, least of all for 250,000. Also there are no circumstances in which a player's girlfriend would be allowed to accompany him to away games and stay in the team hotel. Finally, Portsmouth Football Club have never been called Portsmouth City. Mr Coleridge could have looked that up on Wikipedia.

Vanity Fair is one of my favourite books, and whilst Mr Coleridge has transcribed the story reasonably faithfully, it left this reader unsatisfied. I recently re-read Lace for the first time since the 1980s, and it looks like a masterpiece compared to The Adventuress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Read, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Kindle Edition)
I have read all Nicholas Coleridge's books and this another excellent one from him. Definitely recommend it and cannot wait for him to write something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventuress
The Adventuress by Nicholas Coleridge
5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews