Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase, but slightly flawed
The chances are that if you plan on using the Wii U's GamePad in 'only if necessary' situations, then you'll be looking to other controllers for a more traditional gaming experience. This isn't to say the the GamePad is lacklustre, but as of yet there have been few innovative ways to use the device aside from Off TV play (which itself is genius) and NintendoLand/Zombi...
Published 21 months ago by Picard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ... of nintendo hardware and while the controller is really great in almost every respect
I bought this cheap when tesco was having their blowout of nintendo hardware and while the controller is really great in almost every respect, I just cannot deal with the Y and B buttons, they are awkward to reach and I find after a while my thumb really aches having to use them in such an odd place. I've gone back to the classic controller pro, which while doesn't feel...
Published 26 days ago by meanygreeny


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase, but slightly flawed, 20 July 2013
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
The chances are that if you plan on using the Wii U's GamePad in 'only if necessary' situations, then you'll be looking to other controllers for a more traditional gaming experience. This isn't to say the the GamePad is lacklustre, but as of yet there have been few innovative ways to use the device aside from Off TV play (which itself is genius) and NintendoLand/Zombi U.

As for myself, I bought the Wii U Pro Controller with SNES Virtual Console titles in mind, and from there on I can use it when new games come along that benefit from it. I generally use a Wii Remote when playing New Super Mario Bros or NES Virtual Console titles as I prefer that minimalist feel of older controllers.

I can only echo the many positive sentiments about this Pro Controller - it is one of Nintendo's best. THE best? Probably not, but it's up there.

It is light enough to hold for long periods of time (which I've found is more comfortable than the Game Pad), but not so light that the product feels cheap or fragile. The 'D' pad is excellent as usual; I expected nothing less. Both the analogue sticks feel quite similar to those on the GamePad, while the action buttons feel solid. On the basis of Virtual Consoles games, I've found the A-B-X-Y buttons to be a little too small for my ageing thumb, but this is likely because I'm so used to the larger, flatter SNES buttons.

Contrary to others opinions, I think the gloss finish aids maintenance as you can wipe away grease very easily with a cloth, whereas stippled/textured moulds usually retain dirt. As such, grease can be swept away with real ease.

Charging is completed in around 4-hours, and since it uses a standard USB-to-mini cable, you can even plug it into a PC and give it a boost from there. It's a pity you can't just use the Game Pad's external power supply, because the Pro Controller requires any device it is plugged in to to be on (including the preferred Wii U!). The battery lasts an estimate of 80-hours, and suffice to say that I'm nowhere near even depleting mine yet.

The lack of analogue triggers is a tricky topic. The included digital versions register an On or Off signal, meaning that as soon as the trigger is pulled even minutely, the signal is On. In comparison, analogue will recognise how much the trigger is being pulled, which means that particular pressure can then be registered as a value within the game. While this effects existing games on the Wii U, it also puts plans for GameCube titles dead in the water, and somewhat alters the potential for further Wii U titles.

Never the less, a controller with this much versatility should be considered an essential part of any video game console set-up, and the ridiculously good battery life only highlights this. I'm quite suprised Nintendo chose not to include this with their 'Deluxe Pack', but the price creeping lower I believe it to be an essential purchase even for Virtual Console games. Bear in mind also that when N64 games are released, the Game Pad will be the only alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't i get one sooner, 23 May 2014
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
I picked one up for £28 from CEX (a 2nd hand gaming/DVD store). Arrived on Wednesday, and all i can really say is wow. It feels like a Xbox 360 control pad, which is known to be one of the most comfortable to use controllers of the last generation. The only issue i've got is the position of the A, B, X + Y buttons, i'm not used to them being there.

Playing games like Monster Hunter, Wind Waker HD and Super Mario 3D Land feels a heck of a lot better and more enjoyable than using the tablet/nunchuck controls as before.

But other than that, a fine piece of kit none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for a Wii U - Great traditional Joypad, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
Brilliant controller, excellent ergonomic design and an ESSENTIAL purchase for any Wii U owner looking to play with a traditional Joy pad.

Durable high build quality with responsive controls.

Similar to the XBOX one - but I think this feels better!

It is of very high quality, and battery life is so looooong that I've charged mine ONCE and still going weeks later!

Bayonetta 2, Mario Kart and Deus Ex with this are brilliant - I'd say better than the Game Pad experience (though that IS very good!)

And this is numero uno for Virtual Console titles especially beat em ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comfortable controller!, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
I love it!
It's battery life is incredible, helpfully coming with its own charging cable. However, you do need to have the Wii U turned on in order to charge it, which seems like a big oversight.
The buttons, joysticks, and triggers are almost identicle to the gamepad's, but just a bit more tough and clicky - which is a good thing.
It's very comfortable in the hands, though it might be less so if you have smaller hands like me. I feel I have to stretch my thumb across a touch too far for the d-pad and BAXY buttons. If they were moved across to the edges a few centimeters it would be better. All the other buttons are fine, and even with this, I don't feel strained in long play sessions.

Overall, this will be the main controller I use from now on for many Wii U games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
Simple plug play charge and play wireless, could be cheaper but £30 is the going rate at the minute, simple enough to set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great for people who don't like the tablet for gaming, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
I've been using this for Mario Kart 8, and everything feels more natural. The main reason I bought this is to have some spare controllers for multiplayer at home, and this is my preferred controller by far.

Also pro-tip, on Mario Kart 8, you have to press ZR (the trigger to jump) just as you would when you would flick the controller up, for the speed boost. It took me a while to find this out, and is an essential fact for competitive people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase for hardcore gamers . . . someday, 2 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
The Wii had a reputation (not entirely justified) about only being for casual gamers, and supposedly Nintendo is positioning the Wii U to regain that lost market share with more third party titles. Now, admittedly, this analyzation is oversimplifying matters; sure, the Wii had lots of casual party titles, but over the course of its six year lifespan there were some remarkably deep game titles, many of them exclusive. Likewise, the Wii missed out on several heavy hitting titles that appeared on the PS3 and XBOX360, in part due to the radically different control schemes.

I believe this controller is part of Nintendo's strategy to court those third party developers. Yes, with the Wii's motion controllers and the Wii U's Gamepad (which is a perfect fit for the tablet-driven gaming we are so prominently seeing), Nintendo has unique, innovative control schemes that you just don't see in other consoles. At least, not at launch anyway. Sure, Microsoft introduced Kinect, but years after Nintendo showed the gaming community and Grandma what motion control gaming is all about.

For those 3rd party developers who want to publish their games on the Wii U, but want to minimize production and development costs by leveraging already existing content available on other platforms to a similar controller configuration, this controller is a Godsend. Part of the attraction of the Wii U is the Gamepad, and I'm sure the bigger companies will work their magic with the Gamepad.

But lets face the truth: there will be several multi-platform franchises that the developers will be able to ease production costs by utilizing the Pro Controller. Due to the similarities of controllers on the other two platforms made publishing them in a multisystem environment much easier; with the Wii there were design challenges based on the controls that simply are not present on the other two systems.

For Nintendo's own IPs, of course they want us to use the Wiimote and the Gamepad. No, the Pro Controller does not work with "New Super Mario Bros. U" and "Nintendoland", but then again, the Pro Controller is really for 3rd party developers.

Those who complain this controller doesn't work with Mario and Nintendoland are totall missing the point. Both titles were built from the ground up with the Gamepad and motion controls in mind. I'm sure Nintendo will publish games compatible with this controller; after all, it's their own hardware. However, Nintendo's real concentration is the Gamepad and Mario and Nintendoland are their premier examples of what can be done with this new tablet controller..

As far as battery life, ergonomics, etc, everything checks out fantastically. The controller comes with a long USB charging cable. Ergonomically all the buttons are easily within reach, and feels like an updated, wireless XBOX 360 controller. There are dual anaologues, a D pad, start, select, a home button, and a power button, along with four buttons on the top of the controller.

The black model (like the Wii U itself), does tend to appear smudged from time to time due to handling but these are easily wiped off with a clothe.

The battery life is amazing. I was skeptical about the 80 hours, but having put the Wii U and its hardware though the chops, I can verify that timespan is an accurate estimate.
Obviously, the controller is wireless. I've truly became conditioned for wireless. I hooked up my Gamecube a few months back and had to play with my controller tethered to the console itself; wireless technology is simply fantastic. No more cords, and so much more flexibility!

While I understand the controller not working with Wii games, I am disappointed that you can't use the controller for Virtual Console/Wiiware titles. Nintendo stated that the Wii U Pro Controller is based on the Classic Controller for the Wii, so it is rather strange the controller doesn't work with virtual content. After all, that's largely what the Classic Controller was built for in the first place. Hopefully these two issues will be addressed in a future update.

All the big third party titles fully support the Pro Controller (Assassin's Creed III, Arkham City, Darksiders II, Epic Mickey 2, Mass Effect 3, Ninja Gaiden 3, ZombiU, etc) in addition to the Gamepad. While I am certain that future heavy hitting third party titles will utilize the Gamepad in some fashion, the Pro Controller allows Nintendo to tap back into that so called "hardcore" gamer demographic and is one more indicator that shows that Nintendo is serious about taping into all the various demographics for a strong market share.

Although perhaps not an essential purchase yet, as we enter the Wii U era and more and more games are published, the Wii U Pro Controller will become an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battery lasts a long time! Great controller and better to use for some WiiU games, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
Just a quick review Brought this controller for WiiU to enjoy some games better with an easier control system/controller, than a Wii remote or WIIU Gamepad.
I found this controller much better to use with games like Resident evil, Donkey Kong, and Im sure it will be great for upcoming Smash Bros WiiU. Great versatile controller and easy to use.
Its wireless and I was very impressed with battery life, Im not sure I have even had to recharge it yet! It lasts 100 times better than the WIIU Gamepad, It doesnt seem to run out either while its not being used. It comes with a lead to charge it via usb on the WIIU console. It also shows how much charge u have like Wii Remotes.

Hope my Comments helped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best controller I've ever held, 11 April 2014
By 
Lukebad (Campinas, SP Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
Great build, great quality, great response, great battery life...
Nothing to ask of this amazing controller! Great for those who like playing games in the "old-fashioned" way.
The buttons are amazing, the response has the right feel to it, and the shoulder buttons are the most confortable I've tried.
The only downside is that the triggers are digital, meaning there is only "pressed" or "not pressed", no levels inbetween like the Gamecube, PS3, or Xbox 360 controllers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
NP (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
I wasted £20 on a cheap 3rd party controller first, only to find the joysticks uncomfortably stiff to use for any prolonged play.
This genuine controller, is a massive improvement, has the same build quality as the Wii-U gamepad (maybe better, the buttons don't rattle like on the gamepad)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U)
£36.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews