Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase, but slightly flawed
The chances are that if you plan on using the Wii U's GamePad in 'only if necessary' situations, then you'll be looking to other controllers for a more traditional gaming experience. This isn't to say the the GamePad is lacklustre, but as of yet there have been few innovative ways to use the device aside from Off TV play (which itself is genius) and NintendoLand/Zombi...
Published 12 months ago by Picard

versus
11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars counterfeit controller
I have no doubt the original product is of high quality and fun to use, unfortunately the one I got was a fake which refused to sync with my Wii U no matter what I tried.
The fake is almost identical to the original and has the Nintendo logos on both the controller and the packaging.

the easiest ways to tell that it's not original are that:
1. The...
Published 6 months ago by Abdullah Khalid


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase, but slightly flawed, 20 July 2013
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
The chances are that if you plan on using the Wii U's GamePad in 'only if necessary' situations, then you'll be looking to other controllers for a more traditional gaming experience. This isn't to say the the GamePad is lacklustre, but as of yet there have been few innovative ways to use the device aside from Off TV play (which itself is genius) and NintendoLand/Zombi U.

As for myself, I bought the Wii U Pro Controller with SNES Virtual Console titles in mind, and from there on I can use it when new games come along that benefit from it. I generally use a Wii Remote when playing New Super Mario Bros or NES Virtual Console titles as I prefer that minimalist feel of older controllers.

I can only echo the many positive sentiments about this Pro Controller - it is one of Nintendo's best. THE best? Probably not, but it's up there.

It is light enough to hold for long periods of time (which I've found is more comfortable than the Game Pad), but not so light that the product feels cheap or fragile. The 'D' pad is excellent as usual; I expected nothing less. Both the analogue sticks feel quite similar to those on the GamePad, while the action buttons feel solid. On the basis of Virtual Consoles games, I've found the A-B-X-Y buttons to be a little too small for my ageing thumb, but this is likely because I'm so used to the larger, flatter SNES buttons.

Contrary to others opinions, I think the gloss finish aids maintenance as you can wipe away grease very easily with a cloth, whereas stippled/textured moulds usually retain dirt. As such, grease can be swept away with real ease.

Charging is completed in around 4-hours, and since it uses a standard USB-to-mini cable, you can even plug it into a PC and give it a boost from there. It's a pity you can't just use the Game Pad's external power supply, because the Pro Controller requires any device it is plugged in to to be on (including the preferred Wii U!). The battery lasts an estimate of 80-hours, and suffice to say that I'm nowhere near even depleting mine yet.

The lack of analogue triggers is a tricky topic. The included digital versions register an On or Off signal, meaning that as soon as the trigger is pulled even minutely, the signal is On. In comparison, analogue will recognise how much the trigger is being pulled, which means that particular pressure can then be registered as a value within the game. While this effects existing games on the Wii U, it also puts plans for GameCube titles dead in the water, and somewhat alters the potential for further Wii U titles.

Never the less, a controller with this much versatility should be considered an essential part of any video game console set-up, and the ridiculously good battery life only highlights this. I'm quite suprised Nintendo chose not to include this with their 'Deluxe Pack', but the price creeping lower I believe it to be an essential purchase even for Virtual Console games. Bear in mind also that when N64 games are released, the Game Pad will be the only alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son's birthday present. Best present ever!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
I know absolutely nothing about computer games and the gadgets, but thankfully my son does. A fantastic value for money. Easy to use, even for mums like me that have never even held one of the controller's before. I found it easy to use (shock horror) and light. I found it easy to work out the button's and played one of the games without having to ask my boffin son how does this work. The controller it's self is lovely to look at and got flashy lights at the front which impressed me. For the price what a terrific price. I was very impressed with the look of it as well. Nintendo have designed a quality controller that functions extremely well and that look of an X-box, but much better looking. Its classy in every single way. My son was beyond excited as he had wanted it for ages. So you can imagine his face when he open his gift on his birthday. The only downside which is a smidge, I will have to get one for myself for my birthday as I have practically nicked his :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase for hardcore gamers . . . someday, 2 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
The Wii had a reputation (not entirely justified) about only being for casual gamers, and supposedly Nintendo is positioning the Wii U to regain that lost market share with more third party titles. Now, admittedly, this analyzation is oversimplifying matters; sure, the Wii had lots of casual party titles, but over the course of its six year lifespan there were some remarkably deep game titles, many of them exclusive. Likewise, the Wii missed out on several heavy hitting titles that appeared on the PS3 and XBOX360, in part due to the radically different control schemes.

I believe this controller is part of Nintendo's strategy to court those third party developers. Yes, with the Wii's motion controllers and the Wii U's Gamepad (which is a perfect fit for the tablet-driven gaming we are so prominently seeing), Nintendo has unique, innovative control schemes that you just don't see in other consoles. At least, not at launch anyway. Sure, Microsoft introduced Kinect, but years after Nintendo showed the gaming community and Grandma what motion control gaming is all about.

For those 3rd party developers who want to publish their games on the Wii U, but want to minimize production and development costs by leveraging already existing content available on other platforms to a similar controller configuration, this controller is a Godsend. Part of the attraction of the Wii U is the Gamepad, and I'm sure the bigger companies will work their magic with the Gamepad.

But lets face the truth: there will be several multi-platform franchises that the developers will be able to ease production costs by utilizing the Pro Controller. Due to the similarities of controllers on the other two platforms made publishing them in a multisystem environment much easier; with the Wii there were design challenges based on the controls that simply are not present on the other two systems.

For Nintendo's own IPs, of course they want us to use the Wiimote and the Gamepad. No, the Pro Controller does not work with "New Super Mario Bros. U" and "Nintendoland", but then again, the Pro Controller is really for 3rd party developers.

Those who complain this controller doesn't work with Mario and Nintendoland are totall missing the point. Both titles were built from the ground up with the Gamepad and motion controls in mind. I'm sure Nintendo will publish games compatible with this controller; after all, it's their own hardware. However, Nintendo's real concentration is the Gamepad and Mario and Nintendoland are their premier examples of what can be done with this new tablet controller..

As far as battery life, ergonomics, etc, everything checks out fantastically. The controller comes with a long USB charging cable. Ergonomically all the buttons are easily within reach, and feels like an updated, wireless XBOX 360 controller. There are dual anaologues, a D pad, start, select, a home button, and a power button, along with four buttons on the top of the controller.

The black model (like the Wii U itself), does tend to appear smudged from time to time due to handling but these are easily wiped off with a clothe.

The battery life is amazing. I was skeptical about the 80 hours, but having put the Wii U and its hardware though the chops, I can verify that timespan is an accurate estimate.
Obviously, the controller is wireless. I've truly became conditioned for wireless. I hooked up my Gamecube a few months back and had to play with my controller tethered to the console itself; wireless technology is simply fantastic. No more cords, and so much more flexibility!

While I understand the controller not working with Wii games, I am disappointed that you can't use the controller for Virtual Console/Wiiware titles. Nintendo stated that the Wii U Pro Controller is based on the Classic Controller for the Wii, so it is rather strange the controller doesn't work with virtual content. After all, that's largely what the Classic Controller was built for in the first place. Hopefully these two issues will be addressed in a future update.

All the big third party titles fully support the Pro Controller (Assassin's Creed III, Arkham City, Darksiders II, Epic Mickey 2, Mass Effect 3, Ninja Gaiden 3, ZombiU, etc) in addition to the Gamepad. While I am certain that future heavy hitting third party titles will utilize the Gamepad in some fashion, the Pro Controller allows Nintendo to tap back into that so called "hardcore" gamer demographic and is one more indicator that shows that Nintendo is serious about taping into all the various demographics for a strong market share.

Although perhaps not an essential purchase yet, as we enter the Wii U era and more and more games are published, the Wii U Pro Controller will become an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
Simple plug play charge and play wireless, could be cheaper but 30 is the going rate at the minute, simple enough to set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't i get one sooner, 23 May 2014
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
I picked one up for 28 from CEX (a 2nd hand gaming/DVD store). Arrived on Wednesday, and all i can really say is wow. It feels like a Xbox 360 control pad, which is known to be one of the most comfortable to use controllers of the last generation. The only issue i've got is the position of the A, B, X + Y buttons, i'm not used to them being there.

Playing games like Monster Hunter, Wind Waker HD and Super Mario 3D Land feels a heck of a lot better and more enjoyable than using the tablet/nunchuck controls as before.

But other than that, a fine piece of kit none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, best gamepad for Nintendo since the GameCube, 1 Dec 2012
By 
C. J. Cridland "Crids" (Dagenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
To be honest it's a Xbox 360 controller without the weightyness.

Feels fantastic very clicky and great to hold

Being an Xbox owner this suits me fine!

Good work Nintendo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wii u pro controller, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
this is the most comfortable game controller i have ever used was not a fan of the xbox 360 controller but this one for the wii u is better shaped around the back for better comfort in the hand. only thing i feel it needed was analogue triggers instead of buttons that look like triggers but over all very impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wii U Pro Controller, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Andrew Driscoll (Merthyr Tydfil, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
Having previously mainly played XBOX 360, on occasion controlling with the Wii remote as a second player feels... odd. However the Wii U pro controller steps up to give me a more familiar feeling.

The controller is light, the battery life is superb, I'm talking dozens of hours here and the charge is USB into the front of the console (other USB ports will probably work too). The buttons and sticks are responsive and in all black it doesn't look half bad (unless you have a white system I suppose).

Yes the design similarities between it and an XBOX pad can't be ignored, swap the right stick and buttons and we'd probably have a copyright case on our hands, but as the 360 controller was a superb controller... I don't care!

Most games have the option to use this controller, including the Wii U virtual console titles, so if it's your preference it's not going to be gathering dust.

Overall I think I prefer the Wii U pad, and if purely a second controller it's not cheap, but it's a very good device and well worth having to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleek, comfortable and long-lived, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
At first I was put off by the price tag (~30), but it was more than worth the money. Plays smoothly and fits the hands perfectly, with a good weight to it. Best of all? It rarely needs charging (and can be charged during play). I think I've charged it twice, maybe three times throughout 70 hours of use.

Highly reccommend. Will be a godsend when playing Mario Kart 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battery lasts a long time! Great controller and better to use for some WiiU games, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Accessory)
Just a quick review Brought this controller for WiiU to enjoy some games better with an easier control system/controller, than a Wii remote or WIIU Gamepad.
I found this controller much better to use with games like Resident evil, Donkey Kong, and Im sure it will be great for upcoming Smash Bros WiiU. Great versatile controller and easy to use.
Its wireless and I was very impressed with battery life, Im not sure I have even had to recharge it yet! It lasts 100 times better than the WIIU Gamepad, It doesnt seem to run out either while its not being used. It comes with a lead to charge it via usb on the WIIU console. It also shows how much charge u have like Wii Remotes.

Hope my Comments helped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo Wii U Pro Controller - Black (Nintendo Wii U)
29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews