Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Add some colour with the Blue remote
After upgrading to the Wii U, it's time to get a brand new remote. I say brand new as I myself never had foresight to keep my originals; it's quite easy to forget their value both in terms of gameplay and cost.

The bright side is that Wii Remotes today are available in different colours (black, blue, pink, red and white) and with Motion Plus built in, so...
Published on 17 May 2013 by Picard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The is fro Japanese console!
I presumed that this is UK version when i placed an order. However, this is Japanese version and all instructions are in Japanese. Also fitting of rubber case is not good. Although it is still compatible with Wii U in UK, I would not save a few pounds to buy Japanese version. Seller should have mentioned in the description.
Published 16 months ago by lon123


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Add some colour with the Blue remote, 17 May 2013
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
After upgrading to the Wii U, it's time to get a brand new remote. I say brand new as I myself never had foresight to keep my originals; it's quite easy to forget their value both in terms of gameplay and cost.

The bright side is that Wii Remotes today are available in different colours (black, blue, pink, red and white) and with Motion Plus built in, so there's plenty to gain.

After doing some research, there seems to be a unanimous agreement that the 'Wii U' branded remote is exactly the same as the older 'Wii' version - the new packaging simply reflects that it's compatible on both systems. So while there are still some of the original 'Wii' versions around, you may be able to pick them up cheaper...

Inside the box you get the grey wrist-strap and transparent silicone cover already fitted to the remote. Batteries are also included in the box, so you'll have to take the cover off anyway to fit them in!

There are some minor modifications to this latest remote, including an external Sync button (which still requires a pointy object to press), firmer control buttons on the front face and a slightly more matte finish to the battery cover. Also, unless I'm very much mistaken, the battery life seems to have improved considerably.

As stated earlier, this remote is compatible with both Wii and Wii U systems. If you own the latter, then your reasons for purchasing one are more vast than you may think as the Plaza and Channel Menu can be fully controlled by remote (In my opinion, it is much better for it), and if you choose to go into 'Wii Mode', then you don't need any other accessories. Also, the remote can be used to unbeatable effect with NES games in the Virtual Console as it mimics the style of the original controller, and modern games like New Super Mario Bros U are also compatible with the remote.

The blue casing of this particular product has a really lovely pastel effect, and certainly gives your set-up a much more unique look. What's more, it makes your gameplay that bit more personal as other family members or friends can use different coloured remotes.

It's fair to say that Nintendo's remote has become even more versatile over time, and certainly has the potential to enhance your Wii U that bit more. I was initially hesitant to pay so much for such an essential item, but when you consider that the Wii U Pro Controller doesn't have the same compatibility with new games yet (and lacks that retro-feel in landscape mode), then the remote turns out to be a decent investment for the life of the console.

Also, stay away from non-Nintendo products. They may be far cheaper, but there's a reason for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to go with a Mario & Luigi Wii U console pack, Mario and the Luigi Wii Motes really went well with it great bit of kit with the silicone case, wrist strap and batteries. I would drop stars as very expensive for controllers for the console but its comparable to others and its motion plus, rumble, and shows what number player is with a small blue light. Very nice play experience. We needed 4 wii motes and got 2 nunkuks so were lucky to have doubled up points in a supermarket to get the console half price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Remote Plus Controller - Black (Accessory)
works fine as expected. good that it comes with a rubber jacket thing aswell no complaints to remark upon. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the extra money?, 16 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I was first skeptic to buy one of these due to the much higher price compared to the normal remote plus. Heck, you can buy the Wii party U that comes bundled with a wii remote plus for a cheaper price.

I already owned 2 black Wii remote plus controllers but I just fell in love with the look of it. I would like to point out that the second picture here is quite misleading, it's not that bright green it's just as dark and nice as the one on the box.

Anyhow, I ended up buying one and well it's a Wii remote! Unless your not a hardcore Mario/Luigi fan I would recommend the standard remote because not only is this one more expensive it's also a big shame that they didn't release a matching nunchuck to go with it!

So if you have the money go for it! If not buy the Party U bundle and get more value for your money!

EDIT: As of now the Luigi remote is a bit cheaper than the Wii U Party bundle. If you are not a fan of party games than get this one! It is almost the same price as the dull black one! (2013-11-17).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Also pretty cool to have remotes with Nintendo character themes on ..., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Genuine Nintendo remote. Comes with 2 batteries and slip cover so can be used immediately. Comes in Luigi colours with a green front with blue back. Also have the red Mario remote. Unique colours come in handy for identifying which remote is which when you are playing with multiple players, or have multiple family members with their own remotes. Also pretty cool to have remotes with Nintendo character themes on them

Works exactly as a standard Wii remote, with built in motion plus making it easier to grip than the motion plus extension for the older Wii remotes. Overall great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant remote, 23 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I have been a massive Nintendo fan since the Nes and love buying all the funky controls and consoles Nintendo release.

I have purchased both the Mario and the Luigi remotes and i have to say they look amazing really bright colours love the fact that nintendo have done them them in the colour of each brother.

If your a massive mario bros fan or you just need a new remote i totally recomend this controler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to say?, 6 Dec. 2012
By 
Miss D. M. Smart (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Remote Plus Controller - Black (Accessory)
Well if you've bought a Wii U and you want some new remotes, you won't need a review to know these official Nintendo wiimote plus are the way to go. The built-in motion plus is why they cost more, but this is needed for decent games!

Promptly delivered via Recorder Delivery and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Wii U Remote Plus works perfectly with both the old Wii and the new Wii U, 10 May 2013
By 
Charlie-CJ (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 18 year old daughter forgot her white Wii remote on a two week visit to Grandma's, so I had this official Nintendo Wii U Remote Plus sent to her direct from Amazon as I knew this vivid deep pink version would be a hit (and it was). I read online that it says it is 'compatible with the (original) Wii' on the front of the box, and that proved to be the case. This Remote Plus also includes the integrated Wii 'Motion Plus' accessory that used to be an add-on on the old Wii remotes. So 5*, as it all works perfectly with our old Wii, and even Barbie would admit the colour is to die for. The only downside is that there isn't an official Nintendo nunchuck to match any of these Nintendo remotes (there are only cheap generic pink versions), but this remote looks fine with a white Nintendo nunchuck anyway. This official Nintendo Wii U Remote Plus is also also available in a boy friendly matching blue version and the Mario special editions. The build quality is identical to our original Wii remotes.

One year on, my 8 year old nephew's white Wii remotes had packed in, so I bought him the the Luigi green and Mario red limited edition versions (as they were on offer at £30 & £35). These also look great and work perfectly. My teenage kids say they prefer Luigi's green style to Mario's red alternative, but my nephew likes the red Mario one best - but still no matching nunchucks. I bought all these Wii remotes direct from Amazon as I suspect there may be poor quality fakes out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, expensive though., 18 Mar. 2015
By 
lauramc (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U Remote Plus Controller - Black (Accessory)
Bought wii u console for kids Xmas present and ended up having to buy these to play games! Guess nintendo assume people already have a wii so will have the wands already - made this a very expensive Xmas present. Wands themselves are great quality, wish same could be said for wii u console which as had to be changed twice already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm-a Luigi number-a one, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's pretty much everything you expect when buying a Wiimote - it comes with Wii Motion Plus and the rubber sleeve and can be used on both the Wii and Wii U. Not only that but the gift recipient is a huge Luigi fan and now he gets to beat me at Mario Kart with his trademark wiimote, which he's well chuffed about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo Wii U Remote Plus Controller - Black
Nintendo Wii U Remote Plus Controller - Black by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii, Nintendo Wii U)
£32.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews