Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!
A really well written account of her story. Heart wrenching in some places and funny at other times, I was gripped to this book as something always had me wanting to read more! Lovely to have a nice ending as well where the reader is reminded of the Amy they were introduced to, the artist! Amazing paintings as well!
Published 17 months ago by DP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story told from the heart
This is a very honest account of a young girl's battle with anorexia. It details her life in an eating disorders hospital and her struggle with life there. The author is to be praised for writing from the heart, but the book needs to be proof-read as there are lots of errors and punctuation mistakes. I wish her the best in the future.
Published 19 months ago by Bumble


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hungry For Change, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and really had sympathy for what Amy was going through. The story told of Amy's personal highs and lows in an eating disorders clinic and of her on going recovery.
There were some spelling mistakes and some sentences did not make sense as there were words missing but I do not blame the author, I blame the publisher. I also found some of the characters in the book hard to follow and get to know.
I gave this book 4 stars as it was interesting, funny, sad and at times, gripping as you get an insight in to how someone with an eating disorder thinks and feels. ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and insightful, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written journal of a young lady's struggle with her relationship with food. We're exposed to the effect that that has on her family, friends and even those she didn't think cared at school. It is honest and updates us with regards to how Amy's doing now. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant book, puts eating disorders into prospective and shows that people shouldn't glorify mental illness as its a seriously not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hungrey for change, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
Such a real encounter of what it's like on an ED ward, sounds very much like my own experience. Well done to Amy for bravely sharing her journey. I read this book in two days :) it's comforting,sad and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
A real incite into the scary world of anorexia, extremely well written, It gives hope to all that are suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't think too deeply: just read it!, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
When someone is brave enough to write so frankly about probably the darkest period of their life they deserve to be taken seriously. It would be all too easy for the reader to think - 'why doesn't she pull herself together?' But Amy's journey is laid open so bare that you are compelled to share her anger, frustration, her pain, sometimes her folly but ultimately her bravery.

No one can doubt the story is emotional. The various incidents are recounted with such candour that on occasions you want to shout "Amy, don't do it" whereas at other times you want to tell her "Go girl you show 'em."

The over-riding emotion that flows through this book though is love, and on occasions a very tough love. But a very deep love nevertheless which leaves the reader with a warm glow and the reassuring thought that there is light at the end of every tunnel, no matter how long or treacherous the journey.

This book will make you laugh, cry, gasp, tut, maybe even swear; but don't think too deeply about it just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A recommended read!!, 21 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
Well what can I say about this book...little did I realise what people with anorexia go through. This book is an eye opener.
This is a fascinating read- very touching but humorous too! I wish Amy Lewis all the very best for the future- a determined soul with a wonderful future to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 14 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
What an incredible read. A very honest and extremely emotional account of Amy's experience.
I have only read the introduction as unfortunately I don't have a kindle but would love to read the rest of the book sometime.
I was privileged to be able to watch Amy play her trumpet ever week in a local band. She is an outstanding trumpet player and an amazing artist and this just goes to prove that although we all have our weaknesses we also have incredible strengths and talents too.
Well done Amy! xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
Wow exactly what I needed to read. I cried throughout as I could identify so much. But it gave me the courage and strength I needed to keep fighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is more like reading a 16 year old's journal than an actual ..., 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
This book is more like reading a 16 year old's journal than an actual book. It is full of spelling, grammar and punctuation mistakes, repetitive phrases, and it needs some serious editing as the story and characters can get confusing and hard to follow. That said, I could not put it down! It is a compelling read, full of constant dramatic things happening and it's easy enough to read that it goes by quickly.

Sadly, you can tell the young author is not recovered at all yet, and tries to convince the world that anorexia is an illness that can be 'controlled' which can be confusing and misleading to other sufferers. It is very clearly written from the point of view of someone in the middle of the illness as she never admits she is too thin or ill in any way, nor does she talk about therapy or the feelings behind her behaviours. In fact, there is no point in the story where she takes responsibility for her life or behaviours in any way whatsoever, which is key to recovery.

To other readers out there who might be looking for support in their recovery, please be aware that 'discharged' does not mean 'recovered'. While this book might help you feel understood, it makes eating disorders seem like one can just deal with them by gaining weight and having an enabling family, not by looking at or dealing with any feelings behind it. Please do not be confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hungry For Change
Hungry For Change by Amy Lewis
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews