Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!
A really well written account of her story. Heart wrenching in some places and funny at other times, I was gripped to this book as something always had me wanting to read more! Lovely to have a nice ending as well where the reader is reminded of the Amy they were introduced to, the artist! Amazing paintings as well!
Published 16 months ago by DP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story told from the heart
This is a very honest account of a young girl's battle with anorexia. It details her life in an eating disorders hospital and her struggle with life there. The author is to be praised for writing from the heart, but the book needs to be proof-read as there are lots of errors and punctuation mistakes. I wish her the best in the future.
Published 18 months ago by Bumble


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
A really well written account of her story. Heart wrenching in some places and funny at other times, I was gripped to this book as something always had me wanting to read more! Lovely to have a nice ending as well where the reader is reminded of the Amy they were introduced to, the artist! Amazing paintings as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a truly inspiring journey, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
i am honoured to know Amy as a friend and to now fully understand what she has gone through is truly inspiring. she has conquered so much in her life and it gives others who are ill a person to look up to. this moving but often comical account of amy's achievements is amazing. her writing and art work is definately not to be over-seen.
congratulations amy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
recommend for sufferers and carers,interesting journey , insight into treatment. Things that help or hinder recovery. gives hope to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
Very brave and honest account, at first I must admit my immediate reaction to some of Amy's behaviours surrounding her hair and appearance were that of vanity and at first felt quite irritated that she would shun visitors if she wasn't ready, however I persevered with reading and realised that I only found this irritating as it showed me a part of my own self and was very similar to my own behaviour in treatment, I too rebelled relentlessly in an ed unit in an attempt to get kicked out, about half way through the book, I fell in love with Amy's honesty, spontaneity and her talent for art, her painting of the boats washed ashore blew me away. I actually felt quite guilty for my early prejudice against Amy and by the end of the book I had completely warmed to Amy's perspective, and found that her book was not that dissimilar from my own, thank you Amy for making me take a better look at myself and the effect of my actions on those around me and the thoughts of my own readers. You should be proud of what you've achieved, and owe it to those who have paid money to buy your book to endure and push through recovery, as you yourself encourage others to do x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most inspiring journey, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
Amy's book will make you laugh and cry over again. It is a truly enjoyable read on the surface; but more importantly, it is an account of one of the most inspiring journeys. It is so hard to believe that so much kindness, talent, and ultimate bravery can lie within one young woman. And through it all, through the darkest days that Amy went through, she manages to be funny. It is this element of Amy's writing style that makes her book something so comforting: it carries a message of hope that things can get better. Even the dark days pass, and we can learn from them- and possibly put then to good use, which is ultimately what Amy has done.
Amy Lewis, you have changed my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving,detailed,raw account, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
Touching.Moving.Makes you want to grasp the beauty of life and appreciate what being free,and normal is really about.If you believe you want something,it might be a painful journey,but you can get it.Worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story told from the heart, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
This is a very honest account of a young girl's battle with anorexia. It details her life in an eating disorders hospital and her struggle with life there. The author is to be praised for writing from the heart, but the book needs to be proof-read as there are lots of errors and punctuation mistakes. I wish her the best in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
A true insight into life at an eating disorder clinic, fantastically written and well explained throughout. At times it was hard too read as having been through and am going through the
same it was all too familiar, never the less a fab book and helpful account :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful account of a young person's experiences and heartache from sufefering from annexoria.Written from the heart.A very true account well writen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inside view, 25 April 2013
This review is from: Hungry For Change (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting insight into the mind of a young person struggling with anorexia. It isn't the deepest of books and won't have you searching your soul for answers to your own problems but is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hungry For Change
Hungry For Change by Amy Lewis
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews