Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: VinylChange
Price:£17.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2007
So J and Lou have kissed and made up, but was it worth it?

You bet your ass it was!!

If you liked the original stuff then you won't be disappointed here, everything is in place from J's drawl and mind boggling, teatering on the edge guitar work to Lous unique strummed bass and Murphs powerful tub thumping. Also, caught them live a couple of times since they reformed and they are as gigantic a live experience as ever. Only down side is it may have you thinking "was that REALLY 20 years ago!!!?"

But nostalgia aside this is a great album in its own right. If you've never even heard of Dinosaur Jr but like melodic powerful guitar driven music you should check this out. I reckon it's as good a place to start as any of their original stuff, and that's saying something!!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Having come to this after their more recent (as of 2011) release, Farm, I was glad I did not purchase this in 2007. It was a relatively big deal that DJ had reformed with the original group, last seen on Bug and I was rather excited but had almost overdosed on all of their previous albums so was not as eager to indulge as I would have been 10 or so years ago. But when Farm came out it was the cover that hooked me. Very old skool DJ. And the music reflected this as well. It was a mixture of the later stuff with a tinge of Sebadoh for good measure. Beyond is good but just the least interesting album they have made.

'Almost Ready' is a good opener and quite upbeat; a great intro to a newer DJ. 'Crumble' however sounds very reminiscent of their post Green Mind country-grunge but has no hook or finesse. 'Pick Me Up' starts better and almost sounds like a throwback to Bug. The first half of the song has great power and melody and should have stopped at 2 or 3 mins in length. The final act is all widdly solos from an increasingly overindulgent Mascis. You can tell 'Back To Your Heart' is written by Barlow as it sounds like a Sebadoh song which is odd on a new DJ album. Ironically however, it is the best song on this album by a long shot in my opinion. It's well crafted and paced and has a great melody. 'This is All I Came to Do' is ok but does go on slightly too long for its own worth. It revolves around a typically catchy Mascis chorus that loops and repeats many times. This has worked on past tracks that use simple melodies to great effect, like 'Seemed Like the Thing to Do', but here it gets a bit boring. The single, 'Been There All the Time' is good and has energy but does not outshine any of the great DJ back catalogue.

'It's Me' I really like. It's grungey, has a swagger and the repeated meme works well here. 'We're Not Alone' is essentially 2 tracks. One is an almost acoustic ballad and the other is a country hoe-down. And they both work surprisingly well together. 'I Got Lost' is the 'ballad' and does not work as well as any of the band's other ballads to date. 'Lightning Bulb' is another Barlow effort but it's not as good as 'Back...' 'What If I Knew' finishes it off well but is no classic.

A good album, but by DJ's standards they have never been just good. Gladly they got better...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2007
In the late 80's, early 90's I was a big fan of alternative rock from

the US, sebadoh, pavement, pixies, polvo, arcwelder, superchunk, mudhoney, early nirvana, trumans water, archers of loaf, sonic youth, lemonheads, smashing pumpkins, sugar,screaming trees - they all had that slacker vibe which appealed to my teenage self. Come university in 93 and for me it was Warp records all the way as the records became less fresh sounding. In the past couple of years i have been dusting off my old vinyl and some of it stands up pretty well. In this sense there is nothing on Beyond which i haven't heard before, especially in terms of general song structure eg a chunky riff, a wistful/pained first verse and one line choruses repeated.

However, the quality and production of the songs is good and there are some awesome sounding guitar solos - DJ have basically taken all that was good about that scene and assembled it into an effortless and contemporary feeling package. This album could not have been released at the time, as the whole has been informed by history and put together by musicians who have consistently produced quality music in the years since - happily Beyond is all the better for it.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2007
You would think a group of 40 somethings would be producing 'dad rock' but much like Primal Scream, Dinosaur Jr, now boasting the original lineup from some 20 year ago, have produced a very good album indeed. After 5 or so listens the songs really stick with you. It reminds me of the standout tracks on 'You're Living all over me' and 'Bug'. The sound for those unfamiliar with Dinosaur Jr is a bit Neil Young, a bit Husker Du (pop/rock faze) but mainly original Dinosaur Jr. To sum up, if you're 36-45 and like the original lineup this is a must buy. If you're 16-25 this is a must buy, sees off those young pretenders such as the Kings Of Leon, The Strokes and Cold War Kids etc.. Album of the year so far...just.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
I'm not in the habit of giving out 5 stars but when you have spent your formative teenage years listening and loving a band only to watch it self destruct when they refrom it is something special.

This is a fine alt rock, post punk, post hardcore album (real 80's guitar based hardcore stuff not the samply beaty Ministry of Sound stuff you get today).

Surely J Mascis is one of the finest guitarist upon the earth and Murph it's drummer. Lou Barlow's bass thunders throughout and he has the standout track on Back to your heart (well done for letting him have that J!).

Stop reading this crap review and buy the damn thing.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2007
As a long-time fan of Dinosaur Jr I have to day that this new LP is right up there with their greatest works, like Your Living All Over Me and Bug. The Lou Barlow songs are brilliant, and J Mascis revisits his entire output during the 1990's, as well as his solo ventures. Standouts? Depends on what mood you are in but 'What if I knew' and 'Almost Ready' are instant classics, 'Were Not Alone' is a thing of beauty, and 'Pick Me Up' has that weird progressive rock riffing, culminating in a supercharged slurry of amazing guitar work. I just cant think of any other band being able to command this kind of energy more than twenty years after the first got it togther in Amherst in the halcyon days of SST and all that great Amercian music. In a way, Dinosaur Jr really have evolved, its just that their particular brand of evolution is all about getting better at doing what you've always done, and knowing that its always been different class.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2007
I got a pre-release copy, and was also lucky enough to see Dinosaur Jr. recently in Galway, where they played 2 new songs from Beyond. Starting with 'Almost Ready', J Mascis reminds us that it was Dinosaur Jr who put the G in Grunge, with blistering guitar designed to be played as loud as possible (hit the pain threshold, then keep going), and a simple chord sequence played as only J can, with speed and accuracy. Pick Me Up shows the guys still have that killer instinct when it comes to catchy but heavy riffs, and Been There All The Time simply rocks your socks off. A truly refreshing album showing that there still IS decent music out there.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 July 2007
Has it really only been 18 years since the original line up of J Mascis, Lou Barlow and Murph last recorded together? I never really got it the first time around. I mean, I knew people who swore by "Dinosaur" and "Bug" (although none who would say a kind word in defence of "You're Loving All Over Me"), but all I heard was fuzzy, out of tune singing and playing.

So, in one respect, this comeback album works really well. Which is that it sounds exactly like the Dinosaur Jr of 1989. None of that pesky musical progression nonsense that taints so many comebacks. So any slackers, stoners and flannel wearing throwbacks will take this to their smooth, hair free chests with sighs of abandon for those long, lost days before Nirvana ruined EVERYTHING!

Even I can recognise this as a return to their glory days. Hell, there's even a couple of tunes I can hum along to, with 'Crumble' the pick of the bunch. It's like 'the man' taking over grunge never happened.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 August 2007
...then these albums are for you:
DINOSAUR JR. BEYOND: ASIN; B000NJMM2C.
This is one of the two albums for the summer of '07.
It's music to listen to almost anytime, anywhwere, anyhow - but for me best suits bouncing around these sunshine islands in my open top Samurai -a perfect buzz to high volume roadtrippinng.
Dirty production,raw sounds, spewing, sprawling guitar and world-weary vocals.
From the opening track 'Almost Ready' through the surfacing magic of 'Crumble' to 'What if I knew' this album is has the hallmarks of greatness - a mature band in fine form.
The second of the sounds that have fuelled my driving is the debut from the-
SILVERSUN PICKUPS - CARNAVAS ASIN; B000PA9O0C.
- from the looping opener 'Melatonin' this album rips up the miles as I zip through the tracks of these sun-bleached barren rocks.
Both of these band's efforts are compatible travelling companions - great road music.
Grunging as only the North American's cando - do.
11 comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
Well, grunge is unfashionable now, but the original grungesters are back, and with a no-compromise rock record. Actually an excellent intro to Dinosaur Jr, it is at once easy to like but also full-on. It's more stripped back than their later stuff (Where You Been? on), but rather more tuneful than their very early aural assaults. Made me want to go and get a lot more of their back catalogue.

Play loud. No, way louder than that.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.50

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.