Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely
Read the book seen the film loved the music.
Moving music to transport you to Middle earth and beyond .
Fans of Tolkien will enjoy I'm sure.
Published 22 months ago by Demelza Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic yet missing something
A fantastic album, which builds nicely on the musical themes from LOTR, and brings in new themes for the new film.

However, when watching the film, the most prominent and repeated motif is the Dwarves' theme, which is based on the song that Thorin sings after the dinner scene (The Misty Mountains). This, in the film, is repeated in almost every scene in which...
Published 5 months ago by Sapsopo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic yet missing something, 28 July 2014
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
A fantastic album, which builds nicely on the musical themes from LOTR, and brings in new themes for the new film.

However, when watching the film, the most prominent and repeated motif is the Dwarves' theme, which is based on the song that Thorin sings after the dinner scene (The Misty Mountains). This, in the film, is repeated in almost every scene in which they feature (including the scenes with the trolls, in the goblin tunnels, in the trees under attack from the pale orc), and is, personally, my favourite element of the film's soundtrack. In this album, however, it is only really present in instrumental terms on The World is Ahead (If you aren't sure of the tune, it begins at 1.28 on that particular track).

I'm not really sure why it's so prominent as a musical motif in the films, yet almost completely absent from this soundtrack. It's a bit disappointing from my perspective as the film music that I enjoyed the most isn't available as a soundtrack to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
Read the book seen the film loved the music.
Moving music to transport you to Middle earth and beyond .
Fans of Tolkien will enjoy I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Start, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
Some good music here, particularly like the theme of Thorin and the Dwarves. Takes you right back to Middle-Earth! 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
Just like with The Lord of the Rings this music is mesmerizing and beautiful. A great way to escape into Middle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hobbit, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the Hobbit film - well, loved all of Tolkein's stuff. Brilliant acting and fantastic special effects. Marvellous scenery, costumes and interpretation of the book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hobbit an unexpected journey., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
I loved it even though the DVD is not really like the book it is high entertainment value. I would also recommend the original Tolkein unabridged book and CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
Another masterpiece of Middle Earth music from Howard Shore. It's great how it picks up the themes from Lord of the Rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HOBBIT SOUND TRACK, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Sheena B (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my husband's favourite book, ever! We all enjoyed the LOTR sound tracks, so the logical progression was the Hobbit, and will next be Desolation of Smaug!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. M. Bakalarz (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
Absolutely beautiful music from a fantastic movie.I loved every bit if this cd and have kept listening to it since I have got it.I also loved the song by Neil Finn and the song sang by my favourite Thorin and the Dwarves ,very touching and what a voice!I'm very happy I bought this cd and can't wait to get a soundtrack from the second movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hobbit CD, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Audio CD)
Love the film, love the music, have played it over and over. Good service and value for money. Can't wait for all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by Howard Shore (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews