Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (207)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the chocolate buttons..!!
This , the first live DVD/blu-ray for the band to undertake in a few years is an informative , vibrant concert and gives a comprehensive background to one of the UK's successful bands. There has been many Concert/Documentary type films over the years by the likes of Madonna , Led Zeppelin , Duran Duran , and this is really the 2012 take on their Mylo Xyloto tour as...
Published 22 months ago by Mrs. L. J. Harold

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good cd. dvd ruined by stupid editing
why can't a live dvd just show a band playing anymore??? If the music is good and the show is good, why can't this be the entertainment? Why do they insist on 600 different camera angles per beat? The opening track on this dvd is a joke. Its not a live recording at all, its simply a music video. There's absolutely no sense of 'been there' in the slightest.

It...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. P. D. Horner


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good cd. dvd ruined by stupid editing, 25 Nov 2012
By 
why can't a live dvd just show a band playing anymore??? If the music is good and the show is good, why can't this be the entertainment? Why do they insist on 600 different camera angles per beat? The opening track on this dvd is a joke. Its not a live recording at all, its simply a music video. There's absolutely no sense of 'been there' in the slightest.

It does improve slightly but i prefer a simple recording of a live performance and that's it. Coldplay are a great band with great songs and they do great shows. That's all i need to enjoy them. I wouldn't be surprised to see die hard style explosions added in future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the chocolate buttons..!!, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. L. J. Harold "Mandalas" (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This , the first live DVD/blu-ray for the band to undertake in a few years is an informative , vibrant concert and gives a comprehensive background to one of the UK's successful bands. There has been many Concert/Documentary type films over the years by the likes of Madonna , Led Zeppelin , Duran Duran , and this is really the 2012 take on their Mylo Xyloto tour as was..
Capturing all the highs of some of the biggest (and smallest) venues we see the boys in all their working glory and in between songs , a rough mix of voice commentary by each band member as to the "hows" and "whys" of the bands ideas and concepts at this stage in their musical career..
The quality is fairly good , allot of grain in the darker picture edges due to the low-light , high speed shooting during production , and the sound mix is loud and sharp too.
There has been little fiddling or mucking about with any live performance and the atmosphere is resonant through the full 95 or so minuets of this well edited masterpiece.
Its COLDPLAY at their best , and all very enjoyable..My only grip is the length given most movies are at least over two hours long , and even one of their own live shows lasts at least that , and if they could have squeezed one or two more classics on like "Speed Of Sound" and "LOST" ...this would have been short of perfection.
Still what we have is good enough giving how long we have had to wait for any LIVE material that was not bootlegged or on U-tube and the Blu-ray transfer is sharp and makes you feel your back under a sea of paper butterfly's and glowing wrist-bands...
It may well be a while before they embark on anything as big as this , so enjoy their tour in all its Hi-Def glory !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty deflating film + Don't bother with the Blu-ray, 20 Nov 2012
By 
J GOOD "Yeti" ('Ull UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 [Blu-ray+CD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I found this film pretty deflating. One minute you are watching fantastic concert footage, the next minute someone starts talking over an easy listening score. Found myself reaching for the remote to skip these bits.
The performances are amazing and visually stunning but are let down by the ultra fast editing and ridiculous washed over haze effect that the director has added. I can't believe with today's camera technology that they actually filmed it with lo-fi equipment that would produce this god awful effect.
For a look at how concert films should be made, check out the new Noel Gallagher Blu-ray or Certifiable by The Police. I expected so much more from the worlds most visual band. An option to play just the concert footage without the fanboy documentary would have made this a 4* review & a true Hi-Def experience without the nasty fudging, grain effect would make it a 5* item. Just buy the DVD. The Blu-ray offers nothing extra visually.
A massive let down as it could have been something special! I gave this 3 stars rather than 2 because the appearance by Rihanna is a magical moment worth an extra star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just excellent better than i expected with all favourites and dvd also live 2012 dvd and cd pack best buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing blu-ray quality, 19 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 [Blu-ray+CD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Beautifully shot and edited film, but the blu-ray quality is very poor - grainy and pixelated in the Paris Stade De France parts which form the bulk of the live concert. I thought it might be a deliberate stylistic device but in comparison the couple of songs filmed in Montreal are pin sharp. Apparently the whole of the latter concert was filmed - a shame it wasn't all used.

A missed opportunity - just not the perfect bluray experience you would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars it starts wonderfully then goes into a long, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 [Blu-ray+CD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
rubbish. it starts wonderfully then goes into a long , drawn out monologue which isn't interesting & only breaks up the enjoyment of the 1st 2 tracks. but no, then it goes on all the way thru the concert! you get 1 song & a load of drivel, then a song again! put all the mindless rubbish into an option & leave the concert in entirety. glad I didn't buy this, we downloaded it to see what it was like before parting with hard earned cash. needless to say, we wont bother...even £7 2nd hand on amazon is way too much. thewizardfromoz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Coldplay!, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any Coldplay fan would appreciate this, their live performances are equally brilliant if not better as their recordings. With this, you get both experiences, the visual on DVD, which you keep in mind whilst listening to the CD. I wish we had bought this sooner, but the music of Coldplay will go down as a classic in the history of popular music so we will treasure our purchase (unless we wear it out of course!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Coldplay album ever!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have got all the Coldplay studio albums but this one is the best and my favourite one. I had it on continuous play in my car for the first week! Crank it up loud and join in, brilliant. There are 15 tracks on the cd and 16 on dvd and there isn't one track I'd leave out. For Coldplay fans, it's a must have
I haven't watched all the dvd yet but the show is spectacular, I wish I had actually been there and I'm a bit jealous of those who went
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a live, just a movie., 16 Nov 2012
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 [Blu-ray+CD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I've just watched the bluray and i'm a bit disappointed. It's not a live, it's a movie. A movie made with images from different lives and cut with comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 [Blu-ray+CD] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I ordered this for a friend as a Xmas present as they had had mention it. They were extremely happy with product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coldplay Live 2012 [Blu-ray+CD] [Region Free]
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews