Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2013
This book is amazing!! I couldn't put this book down.. So many tips and Matthew gives examples from his own relationships. After reading this book, I feel so unbelievably confident. I know exactly what to do and what not to do and I'm so excited about the future! Thank you Matthew! xxxxx
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Matthew has written a more balanced book that some folk who choose this genre of telling women how to 'catch' a man. I give him full credit for that.

There is after all a fair amount of drivel & rubbish on the market, like for example Act Like a Lady,Think Like a Man, The Rules, Why Men Love Bitches, etc, etc; many of which are about playing childish & manipulative (pun intended) games.

He does pander to some stereotypes, despite there being strong evidence that the reverse of some of his statements are more likely to be true. For example - it tends to be men who fall in love first, and men are as, if not more, influenced by the oxytocin effect. For example, men & women are much more closely aligned in how often they think about sex & such stuff than the myths suggest Delusions of Gender: The Real Science Behind Sex Differences.

& some of his advice is just plain bad, & the reverse of what is advised when dealing with men with control issues - who can seem charming for quite a while. If your looking for a new relationship & not quite sure what went awry last time(s?) books to counter-balance this one and help you reframe & rethink yourself could include The Verbally Abusive Man, Can He Change?: A Woman's Guide to Deciding Whether to Stay or Go,Why Does He Do That?: Inside the Minds of Angry and Controlling Men &Who's Pulling Your Strings?: How to Break the Cycle of Manipulation and Regain Control of Your Life.

Many of the hints & tips are realistic - no-one will accidentally wander through your living space & be beguiled by your charms, getting out & meeting people is key, having boundaries is essential, getting over your ex before looking for your next is usually wise. Plus, understanding that he may be as baffled & bemused as you by the process of getting from A to B to C (Aquaintance to Bonding to Courting) is something that applies to younger and older daters. After all, if you've been off the market for 5, 10, 15, 20, ... years you are an amateur and lack the necessary skills.

I give Matthew huge credit for this simple statement at the end of his book "Believe in your own value".
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Well there are definitely some great nuggets of information and tips in this book, but ultimately it's not meant to tell you everything. Matt Hussey's main goal is to get you to spend £600 on a weekend workshop with him so don't expect all the secrets to be written in this book!

Mainly he states the obvious - get out more to meet a guy. Then if you want to keep him, never stop having sex with him (because it's not his job to understand you, it's your job to make him feel "manly"). It's a true if not disheartening read.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
I wish that I'd had this book prior to my ever dating! After three failed long term relationships I now know where I was going wrong. It's a must for any women trying to find love or keep her guy for good. Highly recommended. I can pass on my new found knowledge to my daughter.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Get the Guy is both a superb book but also a terrible one!

As someone who's read Matthew's book several times, attended his events and been on his mailing list for years, I feel that there are some dangers to following his teachings and before I write about the benefits of this book, I need to point out the bad ones.

This book and several of Matthew's teachings are DANGEROUS because they firstly don't deal with the issue of emotionally unavailable men. Sadly, these days there are so many "men" who have emotional/psychological and even spiritual issues that are so deep that we as women have no clue how bad they are. In fact, most of the men we meet online/offline or anywhere for that matter will most likely fall into this category. I feel that Matthew's teachings fail to warn women of the fact that we need to be extremely cautious when dating and we need to screen these men properly before giving them an ounce of our time! Furthermore, what I dislike most about Matthew's teachings (both in his book and on his website etc) is that he places the onus on women to essentially chase men. We're supposed to wave at the hot guy we see, cheekily ask for his number or even buy him a drink. We're also supposed to get him to commit by showing that we're rare gems but what Matthew omits to warn women about is the fact that when we keep doing all of these flirty/cute things to lure Mr DreamBoy in, we end up being the victims of men who don't pursue us! The biggest danger to me was that Matthew insists that we can 'keep the guy' by doing a variety of things to encourage him to make a commitment but the truth is that we shouldn't have to do anything to make a guy commit. He's supposed to do the work!

Matthew's book is great for teaching women how to be more appealing/attractive to men and how to get more men into their dating funnel. It's BRILLIANT at that! However, it isn't great at teaching women how to attract emotionally available and secure men, or even, the kind of guys that will commit. Perhaps this is done unintentionally so that he can up-sell his 'Keep The Guy' programme to his newsletter followers for £200 a pop. If you are a beginner at dating and want to know how to attract a casual partner, boyfriend etc, this book is great! If you're shy and you want to be more confident at making friends, meeting new people and become more of a social butterfly, this book is brilliant! However, if you're looking for a guy who will pursue you, show non-stop interest in you and make a commitment to you i.e. marriage, then I think 'The Rules' and even, 'The Reverse Ultimatum' are better options.
33 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
I should have know really, but, I saw him on TV and thought ok why not. Alot of it is him repeating himself or peoplle who have money or people with a large social circle. I am non of these things. I most deffinately wasted my hard earned cash on this book! :(
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This is a game changer and I can't recommend it highly enough. For the price of the book you also gain access to the video clips online where Matt explains more on the key topics. It's straight talking and practical, immediately implementable. e.g. What to write on the text message, how to build chemistry with a guy, what kind of look works with a guy in a bar.
But the section and video that hit me most was near the end...how to forget the guy. The one that didn't want you any more. Because I've spent a year trying to do just that. Turns out he wasn't the one, my soulmate, my one and only. No-one is until they prove themselves and become your "the One". Matt's first basic rule when it comes to his, is she must adore him. I get it. It's enough already. NEXT! I'm ready, bring it on. Thanks, Matt :-)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
AMAZING BOOK! Have learnt so much about the male psyche- best book out there. So much more than just a 'dating book'- all women should read this, whether single or not. It will totally change how you view men and communicate with them- for the better!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
I've read many self-help books, but this is one of the very few that stands out to me as providing useful,practical advice and information about men.

In fact, it's more like having your own personal dating coach right there with you. In the book, Matthew gives no-nonsense advice and also backs it up with sound reasons so you're not left wondering what the hell you're doing certain things for.

Also, he provides links to online videos which give examples of the techniques he has explained in the book. You can access them at your own pace, when you need them - just as you would do with your very own coach.

I'm about half-way through this book - haven't finished it yet, because I'm too busy getting out there and making things happen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Follow Matthews clearly written advice and you can transform your social life which in turn can lead you to a wonderful relationship. It really is that simple. I really recommend you read it and then live it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)