Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humphrey Hawksley has redefined a genre.
Absolute Measures is an extraordinary political thriller. The character of developing countries, their terrorism, their religion, their aspirations, that have been made so one dimensional in the western media, have real form in this book. The author is obviously writing from his own experiences of many real events.
He seems able to combine compassion for the people...
Published on 16 Aug. 2000 by dmahon@cmgmahon.com

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor follow-up to his first novel
I bought this book after having read "Ceremony of Innonence", which I enjoyed.
However, "Absolute Measures" has very routine plot development and an all too predictable ending. It also has, in my view, too many minor flaws or convenient circumstances. (e.g. the terrorist's sister, currently the lover of the agent trying to catch him,...
Published on 3 Jan. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humphrey Hawksley has redefined a genre., 16 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Paperback)
Absolute Measures is an extraordinary political thriller. The character of developing countries, their terrorism, their religion, their aspirations, that have been made so one dimensional in the western media, have real form in this book. The author is obviously writing from his own experiences of many real events.
He seems able to combine compassion for the people of emerging countries with a deep understanding of the ruthlessness of the conflicts within their own and with the developed world. This is not a simple tale populated by cold war stereotypes and evil fundamentalists. The book is unsettling because the people are very real and the events are quite plausible. Hawksley is better than Tom Clancy and describes our age as John Buchan and Graham Green did theirs. A map showing the key places in the story would have helped, particularly as the events cover half the world. Nonetheless, Humphrey Hawksley has redefined a genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chillingly Poignant in Current Times., 19 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book when it came out around 2000. What is so interesting reading it again is how much Hawksley captures the socio-political atmosphere that still prevails today. He writes about the Southern Philippines and Asian economic crisis with apt description. His characters are thrown into more daring and fearful situations as the novel progresses. I personally enjoyed the evident first-hand knowledge that has gone into this book. If this is fiction, I wonder what Hawksley's real experiences were as an Asian correspondent? A thriller for those who like action and are interested in the chilling reality of global politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong and powerful, 12 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Kindle Edition)
Strong Thriller.
This substantial thriller is drawn on the life of a young fighter who Humprey Hawksley had the opportunity to know personally during one of the many experiences as a journalist of guerrilla wars.

Moving among Sudan, Philippines, India, Cina, London, Absolute Measure is focused on the story of the african twins Yasin and Samira, whose lives changed radically when their parents had been accidentally killed by British special forces and they had been adopted by a wealthy Philipino, Abu Musa.
Even though the brilliant Yasin and his sweet sister grow up surrounded by luxury, the terrible past of hatred and violence resurface in Yasin and his anger against the world takes the form of a terrible death project.

Although this is a commercial thriller, I think it's important to recognize the strong and provocative message the author conveys through the well thought out characters and power of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Kindle Edition)
First time I've read this author -if I see him again I will buy.Good story line fast paced thriller -Read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling geo-political thriller. A warning to the West., 16 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Hardcover)
Absolute Measures improves on a second reading. The complex plot involving disenchanted young intellectuals whose countries have been exploited by the West / USA and have left them alienated and bent on revenge. The threading together of personal hatreds with wider political movements is cleverly done and gives a realistic explanation of many modern terrorist attrocities.
Hawksley has taken a live geo-political situation which exists now in the Far East , Pakistan and Eastern Europe and has woven a plausible yet horrific story about what easily could happen in the year 2000. The drawing of characters is strong and although the climax is similar to that of many thrillers, the story retains a haunting coherence throughout. This is a book waiting to be filmed and brought to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a terrifyingly plausible scenario, 20 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Paperback)
This novel is one of the scariest and most terrifyingly plausible thrillers I've read in a long time. What makes it work so brilliantly is the fact that the central idea - of a lone terrorist managing to put a knife at the world's throat - is completely believable. It's also very much a theme of today's world, and I have a horrible feeling it's only a matter of time before some of the things Hawksley predicts - in particular the iron grip that fanaticism can have on an individual's damaged psyche, and the fallout from that - come true. This novel really is a must-read for anyone who follows the news, and enjoys a first-class thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second novel, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Kindle Edition)
A great story from Hawksley. I really enjoyed his first thriller 'Ceremony of Innocence', and this one stands up to it's predecessor. The fast paced story pulls you in from the beginning and you can't help but want to read it the whole way through. A book to read for any thriller fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor follow-up to his first novel, 3 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Measures (Paperback)
I bought this book after having read "Ceremony of Innonence", which I enjoyed.
However, "Absolute Measures" has very routine plot development and an all too predictable ending. It also has, in my view, too many minor flaws or convenient circumstances. (e.g. the terrorist's sister, currently the lover of the agent trying to catch him, "forgets" to pass on the terrorist's list of demands - and not in any effort to protect her brother!)
We travel the northern hemisphere in the novel and Hawksley appears to write with some knowledge about the places we visit - he even managed to nominate, correctly, one of the few honest taxi companies in Budapest and I assume this sort of attention to detail was followed throughout the book!
In short, though, I didn't find this book particularly challenging, despite the potentially good story-line. It would have benefited from greater length and some more complex elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Measures
Absolute Measures by Humphrey Hawksley
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews