Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting Things In Place.........
.... this might just be one of the best Magnum albums ever. I'm not a die hard,a recent convert actually,in the last couple of years i've been working my way thru the bands back catalog,this disc just grabs you instantly,its a thoroughly enjoyable listen.

Highlights well the 'epic' opener 'All The Dreamers' just struts its way out of the speakers and you know...
Published on 27 Sep 2012 by Mr Blackwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Heared it all before
A few stand out tracks but no classic Magnum album yet,much the same as every release since they reformed one word sums it up for me lacklustre.
Published 7 months ago by Let ur magic lantern burn


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read to find the best bit, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No messing, best bit is at end of the song 'dance of the black tattoo',the eeirie fairground wurlitzer music. Absolute genius classic magnum.
One complaint it isnt on a storytellers blah blah blah blah blurgh.
Heard that one before? i am glad it isnt comparable ,for if it was then what was the point of me buying this cd when i already own on a storytellers yak yak yak.People say they want something new or experimental etc OH YEAH look at u2, ooh we all loved zooropa and its new direction didnt we? If i want to hear magnum take a different direction (say dance/soul) then i would buy an artist who specialized in that crap (oooops did i say crap i meant genre).
Its a new collection of typical magnum songs doing what magnum do best.
I could put together my own' best of magnum collection' and people would say 'WHAT is that doing on there? where is so and so?'.On that collection you would find quite a few of this CD ......It would have about 200 tracks on it any way, and would retail at about £9.00 and have a picture of a blond woman on the cover sucking a chupa chup leaning on my cement mixer, and be drawn by Rodney Matthews with a big black crayon...only joking
This is a great collection of songs .Pretty much faultless and the bits i could have a nit pick at i cant be bothered to as that involves to much typing..........Oh go on then,i bloody hate these cardboard cd boxes they don't fit in my cd holder. Phew, there criticism over.
Sorry about the appalling grammar but i am illiterate and lazy.
great rock cd
its magnum
Haha just reviewed the cd without going on about the songs,go make your own minds up, give it a couple of listens though its excellent
warning subliminal message below
buy it you know you want to,buy it buy it buy it buy it buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome back boys, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
welcome back boys wow what an album the best they have done since Wings of heaven have been disappointed with recent albums particurly the Visitation but this one just hits you as soon as you hear the opening track All the Dreamers one of Tonys finest tracks i love the whole album and cant wait to see them tour it only average track Dance of the Black Tatoo apart from that Brilliant i didnt think they were capable of reaching these heights again Welcome back boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic album from the Masters of Pomp Rock!, 25 Sep 2012
By 
Ronnie Bradley (Wishaw, Lanarkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Magnum are one of the few bands that I happily will buy an album from sight unseen, as you can be pretty much be assured of a quality album, compared to so many other bands. Sometimes, the only thing you can adequately compare their albums to is their own back catalogue.

So now we have "On The 13th Day" which is for my money the best album since the reformation. I have enjoyed all their albums since they have reformed, their songs still undeniably Magnum whilst being a tad simpler at times and more direct. This is not to say the musicianship or lyrics have been simplified, not at all. Tony Clarkin maintains the high standard of his work with this album (he truly is the greatest songwriter the UK doesn't know it has) and the band are all on top form.

So to the songs themselves:

All The Dreamers: Great opening and a good mid-tempo rocker which has all the hallmarks of a concert starter.

Blood Red Laughter: Good riff, excellent vocals and one of the songs that I would think could work as a single.

Didn't Like You Anyway: The bankers get a verbal dressing down thanks to a very catchy tune, excellent lyrics and great delivery by Bob (who is in fine voice through the whole album).

On The 13th Day: Another up-tempo rocker and another possible single choice.

So Let It Rain: The single (so far) from the album and imo one of the best pop-rock songs Magnum have done since the 80's.

Dance Of The Black Tattoo: My personal favourite on the album. Superb heavy guitar riff and powerful lyrics and just a really dark atmosphere.

Shadow Town: And we are back to possible single choices with a good up tempo beat and a great sing along chorus. I can see this one going down really well live.

Putting Things In Place: magnum proving that sometimes simple works. haunting atmosphere and Bob's vocals are superb and heart breaking.

Broken Promises: Another good up tempo rocker .

See How They Fall: Love the opening guitar on this track and again, another good single choice.

From Within: I've read reviews saying this song was the weak spot on the album and I can't agree. I think it is a great way to end the album. Love the choral work and the positive energy of it and I can see that again being a good single and great concert closer.

On the 2nd disk are some extra tracks. "Those Were The Days" was a demo from their sessions for Wings Of Heaven but was never used (except part of the song was woven into "Heartbroke & Busted" and its interesting to hear. "Eyes Like Fire" finally gets on to an album proper (it was easily good enough to have made the main album to be honest). The acoustic versions of "Blood Red Laughter" and "Shadow Town" just prove the quality of the songs that you can strip them down to the basics and they still hold up superbly. There are also live versions of "We All Need To Be Loved" and "The Moon King" and are of the usual high standard we expect from the band live.

All in all this is Magnum tqaking all the lessons and forward momentum they have had since their reformation and turning out an album that is very commercial by their standards but without compromising their integrity.

The album is a must have for any serious lover of classic rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are still a cut above the rest !!, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Andrew Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To top the Visitation album so soon after its release was going to be a tough order for this band that hasn`t stood still for the past 10 years
From the moment you spin this disc you will hear the clarity of Bob Catley's voice like never before. Magnum have always made very lyrical songs and on this album the songs are so crystal clear you get to hear all of the band doing their bit. The title track "On the 13th Day is a cracker which grows on each play, but is very catchy from the first listen too. So Let It Rain was the first single and quite rightly too, with a real catchy chorus and anuplifting vibe throughout. All the Dreamers - its about the Magnum fans (bit like Sacred Hour in its meanings) is very catchy and the words in this song are great, with plenty of meanings . Infact this whole album has brilliant lyrics and a catchy chorus on each track. Great production from Mr Clarkin too. If you are a fan of Magnum or have been a fan in the past you will like this album and it will remind you how goog they were and still are. Go get it !! p.s. I have been a fan for 25 years so know and love all the old stuff too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great first, second and third, impression, 24 Sep 2012
By 
milphogg (Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album- Seems to be a more uptempo effort than recent releases. And with a bonus cd featuring the undiscovered classic "Eyes Like Fire" too. Bargain!

Favourite songs on here? "So Let It Rain" and "Didn't Like You Anyway".

A minor quibble..i'm not sure about the running order.

My favourite Magnum albums? Chase the Dragon, Storytellers Night and Princess Alice.

Finally, Roll on the UK tour!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock-on Magnum, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day (Audio CD)
This new album by Magnum continues to build on their excellent catalogue of rock music. Some groups seem to wane as they go on in years, but in my opinion this has not happened to Magnum, and this album grabbed my attention the very first time I heard it. This album is packed with foot-tapping rhythms, ripping guitar solos, rolling melodies, and power-packed songs. Even our 12 year old daughter has asked for it, and like the best of groups/albums, this Magnum album comfortably crosses the 'great divides' of age and gender.

All-in-all, I thoroughly recommend Magnum's 'On The 13th Day'; it is well-worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid album, 28 Dec 2012
By 
G. Gordon (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since reforming, each new magnum album was better than the last, until now. Having said that its still a good album. Unlikely to win many new fans but the classic sound is still there . Tony Ckarkin still writes good songs, Bob Catleys voice is weaker than it once was but his voice is distinctive and suits the songs well. If you like Magnum, in fact if you ever liked Magnum, then this is worth a purchase. If you aren't sure if new Magnum is for you, I recommend starting with Evolution instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Magnum have produced yet another classic album.40 years since they formed and still making albums that sound fresh! The selection of songs on here are quite possibly the best they have ever done.They range from a real headbanger in Dance of the Black Tattoo to some marvellous melodic rock in Shadow Town and Broken Promises and a couple of beautiful ballads in Putting Things In Place and From Within and of course the more commercial Let It Rain single.There is not a bad song on this album. If there was any justice in the music world the album would be a top 5 hit! The band sound like they are a new band just starting out,such is their enthusiasm.Tony Clarkin really lets rip with his guitar on here and of course with Bob Catleys vocals as top notch as ever and Mark,Al and Harry on top form then i would say this is an essential purchase for an lovers of proper music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic album from Magnum, 27 Sep 2012
This review is from: On The 13th Day (Audio CD)
If you like classic rock you will love Magnum's latest offering. As always all songs are written by Tony Clarkin and arranged by the band . This feels a little harder than recent efforts. But still space for a ballad and the rather poppy first single Let it rain.. I can't get that catchy tune out of my head. Enjoy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album for years!!!, 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: On The 13th Day (Audio CD)
Quite simply amazing on first listen alone!!! Lots of great hooks, catchy choruses, clever arrangements....brilliant stuff!!! Its happy, its dark, its powerful and its subtle!!! This is gonna be one of my favourite Magnum albums!!! Fan-flipping-tastic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the 13th Day
On the 13th Day by Magnum
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews