Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars29
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2014
Through the Wildwood is the thrilling first book in the Legend of Vanx Malic series. It is a great introduction into the life of Vanx and the problems he encounters. The great thing about this book is how unique it is from the plot to the characters; this is a fantasy book with a lot of imagination and creativity in it, which I think is great. The author Mathias has created an enthralling story which helps to keep the reader captivated throughout the whole book. I was really impressed by this book and I can’t wait to read ‘Dragon Isle’ the sequel. I would highly recommend this book!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
This is a great example of a fantasy book. The writer’s style is raw and not as refined as some however,his style only adds to the uniqueness of the storyline, his imagination and storytelling is top notch. I was carried away to a bizarre world crammed with world of Warcraft type characters. I liked the pace, striking the right balance between description whilst keeping the story flowing in the right direction. The characters are flawed, intense, evil and not so good.
I highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys sci-fi or fantasy books. Looking forward to reading the next one in the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed the book from beginning to end. Its really well written and entertaining throughout. I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
A really good read for fans of fantasy, with some memorable characters and a fast pace that keeps you turning the pages. I particularly enjoyed the strong female characters. The world that the author has created is vivid and believable, and I can't wait to read the second one- especially after the sneak peek we get at the end of this instalment
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Easy read, story is rather 4 star with potential to be 5 star with some experience and better development of character. BUT I can only give it 2-3 because THIS IS NOT A COMPLETE BOOK.

It baffled me, the book ended at the start of a monsters attack. That's it, one guy gets hit and then bamm. On the next episode of Vanx Malic....
That is in such bad taste, I honestly have never been so confused, flipping through a few pages trying to see if I hit my phone and skipped something - nope!

I doubt i'll buy another book because who can tell that the author won''t do the same thing. It's in such poor taste that I felt I had to leave a review about it. This feels lazy from an author that otherwise provides an interesting yet few pages of story.

If you want to read a nice start to a story, give it a go but you have to buy the other books to actually find out what happens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
At around 78% of the book it ended! Next pages were chapters from the next book and a short story. Sorry but I thought I was buying a book, not after three quarters through to find pages from another book and a story. Hope this is not the norm with this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Enjoyed this and at 77% of the way through it ended! Not so happy now. Bolted on the end were five chapters from book 2 and a short story from the ward stone trilogy. It felt like the book had been divided into three books rather than written as a trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I give this book a three start it a brilliant story line good character but not very exciting think the writer could have made it a lot exciting Margaret parkhill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Foind it hard it to put down, a great start to a new series. Engrossing read but keep going at a decent rate. Well thought out characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Brilliant book, fast paced good storyline and a must if you are into magician type fiction. I am now on volume 3 in just over a week.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse