Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in 80 meals (and 20 sweets)
This is one of the best cookery books I have come across in a long time simply for its pure variety and "difference factor". The worlds best street foods takes you around 80 savoury dishes and 20 sweet dishes which are popular as street food dishes representing a particular culture. So we Scicilian Arancino, Maltese pastizzi, Phat Thai from Thailand and Cornish Pasties...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Paolo Sammut

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Goods should be fit for purpose
If you are downloading the kindle version don't. This is a scanned version of the book you cannot re size, the print is so small it is unreadable . This is the second time this has happened, publishers please note it is not acceptable to simply scan books and sell something that is unusable,the sale of goods act says goods should be fit for purpose. Just tried plugging in...
Published 13 months ago by J. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Goods should be fit for purpose, 14 July 2013
By 
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (Lonely Planet Street Food) (Kindle Edition)
If you are downloading the kindle version don't. This is a scanned version of the book you cannot re size, the print is so small it is unreadable . This is the second time this has happened, publishers please note it is not acceptable to simply scan books and sell something that is unusable,the sale of goods act says goods should be fit for purpose. Just tried plugging in hd lead to my tv still unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in 80 meals (and 20 sweets), 19 April 2012
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of the best cookery books I have come across in a long time simply for its pure variety and "difference factor". The worlds best street foods takes you around 80 savoury dishes and 20 sweet dishes which are popular as street food dishes representing a particular culture. So we Scicilian Arancino, Maltese pastizzi, Phat Thai from Thailand and Cornish Pasties from ancient Kingdom of Cornwall. The selection covers all continents except antartica (and thats probably just becuase there are no good penguin recipes) and the choices are spectacular covering popular favourites and lots of new dishes still unknown except inside their particular region.

Each sections follows a pattern, beginning with a description as to what the food is. There is always a picture of the food, but the description helps to fill out the details less apparent in the photo. We then get to explore the origin of the food and finally get some instructions on how to eat this in its native area (as well as some good places to go). Finally we get the recipe itself and sometimes, notes on variations.

Everything is well presented and clear and the recipies are easy to follow and fairly straightforward - remember this is street food meant to be cooked quickly and server to people in the street.

Very highly recommended for travellers and foodies alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor formatting for what looks like a great book, from a great distance, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Alison Towers - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is incompatible on Macs and won't download, and on Kindle Fire you cannot adjust the font size, so you would need an electron microscope to read it.
Looks like there are some really great recipes on this, if it was only possible to actually read anything beyond squinting at the titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tour the world in your own kitchen (or your armchair), 19 Mar 2012
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Yes, as far as I can tell, the recipes are authentic.
Yes, they are among the most popular of the street foods that we explored in those countries we too have visited (over half the countries covered in the book).
Yes, these days at least 80% of the ingredients can be sourced in larger cities - and the rest are probably available by mail order if you are keen to try a particular recipe.

Each dish is given two facing pages, including a photo of the dish. Also, one of the pages contains the recipe and good instructions while the other covers "what is it", "tasting" (an evocative explanation of the actual experience of buying and eating it), "origin" and "finding it" as well as either tips or variations.

Well thought through, well set out, well designed - an excellent offering from the Lonely Planet publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the hard copy......, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (Lonely Planet Street Food) (Kindle Edition)
I saw this book in a shop and browsed it and felt there was a lot of good ideas in it but decided to buy the kindle version to save on space (my bookshelves are a little on the full side I have to confess). I regret that decision now, the book itself is the same as the hard copy but the format is truly appalling. The font size is small and difficult to read and the format will not allow you to expand the font size, it does allow you to expand a part of the recipe but not all. The book will also not change orientation so you are stuck with in on landscape on your iPad. I have to say that I am deeply unimpressed. Very poor showing from Amazon on this kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Street Hawkin' Man, 7 April 2012
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was very slow at braving street food when travelling. When you're hundreds of miles away from home, trying something cooked by the side of the road, can feel like a risk too far. The last thing you want to do with your valuable holiday time is spend it communing with God on the great white telephone. It turns our my cloistered western view of food hygiene was doing my stomach a disservice. After finally eating the most incredible Pad Thai in central Thailand, cooked on the back of cart, I became a convert. The best thing about street food, is that it's what the locals eat. More often than not, it's an authentic experience.

In this book Lonely Planet are offering you the chance to bring street food into the kitchen. On one level this is absurd; it's not street food if you cook it at home. It's about as far from authentic as you can get. Otherwise though, it's a brilliant idea; I still fantasise about Vietnamese Pho ten years on from travelling, and now I can cook my own. This is an evocative and mouthwatering cookbook. It even serves as as travel book. There are many dishes in here that make me want to visit countries I have never thought about going to, such as the Chivito al Pan from Uruguay.

As I've come to expect from Lonely Planet's range of extended travel books (i.e. those that aren't guides to specific places), the book is beautifully produced. Strong softback binding, with some great photos. Each recipe is given two pages in the book. The left hand page contains biographical information: - Where the dish is found, it's origin, how to eat it, and the best place to find it. There is also a panel at the bottom of the page, which contains variations on the dish, or tips on how to get the most out of your street dining experience. The right-hand page contains the recipe.

The recipes are rated Easy, Medium or Complex, with most of them being in the 'M' or 'C' category. And therein lies the book's problem, street food may taste great, but that's because more often than not, a huge amount of preparation has gone into the dishes. This is fine, if you work in a thriving market, or business district where boiling bones for five hours is going to pay reasonable dividends. I struggle to see myself ever having time to cook most of the wonderful dishes in this book. Instead, I'll spend large amounts of time staring at the pages with a rumbling stomach, wondering whether the kids would stand up to a trip to Thailand.

The book is arranged in alphabetical order (though split into savoury and sweet), which I find irksome in this sort of book - I would much rather the dishes were arranged by region. Having said that, I probably would then have focused on SE Asia, and never noticed the aforementioned Uruguayan treat. In any case there are two separate indexes, one by country and the other by type of dish.

As ever, Lonely Planet have produced an interesting, authentic book that is a joy to read and look at. How often I'll take it off the shelf to use, I'm not so sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Street food at home., 26 Mar 2012
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are a mixture of street food recipes in this book, some very familiar (e.g. Italian gelato, Jamaican jerked pork and Russian blinis) and others less well known (e.g. Korean hotteok rice flour pancakes and Japanese takoyaki or octopus dumplings. Dishes are divided into 'sweet' and 'savoury' catagories, and each recipe given a double-page spread telling you about the origin of the food in question and where to taste the best examples, as well as cooking instructions and colour photographs, both of the finished article close-up, and the street vendors displays in situ. I was particularly tempted by the spanish churros and hot chocolate, and the amazing silver-leafed Indian sweets and snacks, though perhaps not so much by the amusingly-named South African 'walkie-talkies' (fried chicken heads and feet!).Overall, a nice book, if a little heavy on deep-frying and pastry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Am i blind?, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (Lonely Planet Street Food) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this for Kindle Fire HD and I cant read the words at all. Much too small. Waste of money as far as i'm concerned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sizzling book to make your mouth water, 18 May 2012
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is great packed with photos of all the popular tempting foods around the globe. I have been travelling a lots recently and had a look through this book each time to know what to target for food. You can also use the book as a reminder and memory jogger if you are looking for inspiration to cook something.

Lots of the dishes in the book are not totally healthy so this may not be suitable for a diet concious audience.

Overall very good book that I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alot of the ingredients I have not heard of and tried to obtain them and ni on impossible so no good to continue a recipe I returned the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews