Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable to read and good insights
This is the first book I've read on North Korea. The Economist recommended this a few weeks ago. Very easy to read. I believe that the author researched this thoroughly. However it's not wonkish in any way. You get the impression that the author did not struggle with writing as it reads very well, is well laid out and avoids appealing to the views that many of us in...
Published 20 months ago by Seamus Keating

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative but a bit slow
A lot of information, so good in helping to paint a straight picture of north Korea - not dressed up in prose of the novels or accounts.
However, it can be repetitive in places and sometimes a trudge.
Worth reading if you're selecting several books - but I preferred other books on north Korea, especially Nothing to Envy, then the novel Orphan Master's Sun, a...
Published 11 months ago by Someone who likes books


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative but a bit slow, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Beautiful Please: A British Diplomat in North Korea (Kindle Edition)
A lot of information, so good in helping to paint a straight picture of north Korea - not dressed up in prose of the novels or accounts.
However, it can be repetitive in places and sometimes a trudge.
Worth reading if you're selecting several books - but I preferred other books on north Korea, especially Nothing to Envy, then the novel Orphan Master's Sun, a really excellent book.
This is different to those books, obviously a lot drier. But worth reading overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living in DPRK, 4 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Everard does a fine job in describing every-day life in North Korea. I also like it that he describes the life of a foreigner in DPRK. In his preface he says he did so because people asked him all the time what living in DPRK is like. This will not be unfamiliar to those of us who have been to North Korea ourselves even though a guided-tour-experience isn't anywhere near to actually living there.

The book comes in four parts with `Life in the DPRK' and `the DPRK and foreigners' making up over 60% of the book. Part Three deals with the political set-up of the country and also gives a brief history explaining why matters have turned out the way they are. At some point the author mentions that North Korea is not a communist state at all but does remind him of Nazi Germany. I would readily believe that

Part Four is probably the most depressing part of the book, namely, how the world has dealt with North Korea and how well they have failed in this respect. What surprised me is that China seems not to have noticed yet that North Korea is as much a danger to the PRC as it is to her other neighbours. What I didn't like in this section is that the author lists everything that hasn't worked in dealing with DPRK but he makes no alternative suggestions beyond mentioning that alternative approaches will have to be found.

The book reads well and in an understandable manner and I found the author's bibliography rather excellent.

There is a whole range of books published on this subject. If you are interested in further reading on North Korea you might want to have a look at Bradley K. Martin's Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader. I found it a rather good book. The author uses an incredible amount of eye-witness accounts. Another good one is Victor Cha's The Impossible State. The most emotional book I have read on North Korea is Barbara Demick's Nothing to Envy.
There is also a host of books written by people who managed to flee North Korea including Kang Chol-Hwan's Aquariums of Pyongyang and Hyok Kang's `This Is Paradise!; and those who were stationed there like this book or Eric Cornell's Report of an Envoy to Paradise and those who lived and worked there quite voluntarily like Michael Harrold Comrades and Strangers (that book's bibliography is also rather excellent). I have only mentioned most of those I have read myself, but there is a whole range of other books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable to read and good insights, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Seamus Keating (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first book I've read on North Korea. The Economist recommended this a few weeks ago. Very easy to read. I believe that the author researched this thoroughly. However it's not wonkish in any way. You get the impression that the author did not struggle with writing as it reads very well, is well laid out and avoids appealing to the views that many of us in the west have of the DPRK. His insights into the economic and political life of those he met are very pertinent given that all we hope to do in the west is wait for a collapse from within. The DPRK might be a greater concern than Iran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good insight into the Hermit Kingdom, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Andrew Murray (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are considering visiting North Korea (DPRK) this book will prepare you well for your visit. Its written in a very readable style and is full of information. In my opinion the pace of change in DPRK is very slow in comparison to other places so the information contained will remain current for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tour de force, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a well written description of life in North Korea. It avoids the polemic, and avoids jumping to any easy solutions; indeed the last chapters make uncomfortable reading for those who believe that regime change will be easily accomplished. The book is a well researched academic volume, but is also readable and human. One only wonders at how the author in his role as a diplomat (and a senior one at that) was able to accomplish so much that is documented. A book to be thoroughly recommended especially at this time of raised tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
K Bushby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well balanced view by someone who has actually been there. I found it extremely informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating insight into daily life in the DPRK. The best book I have read on North Korea so far, suitable for both the specialist and non-specialist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Beautiful Please: A British Diplomat in North Korea (Kindle Edition)
Although three have been many books written about this country this is different. Most books I have read describe life under the leadership. It is usually about the hardships of making a living and just simply staying alive. There are also many books describing the political suppression and the use of the camps.

This book of course covers these aspects but written from the perspective of a diplomat. This means a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First hand review of day to day life in DPRK, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly readable account by an author with an impressive C V. Separates fact from opinion, extrapolation and reasonable conjecture.gives a coherent and self admittedly personal picture of a little known country. Stimulating. I finished book in 36 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Well-informed, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, and clearly well-informed from first-hand experience. Slightly academic, but always detailed and often surprising, with a very subtle sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews