Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series
I have read all of LJ Sellers' Detective Jackson books and have therefore followed Wade Jackson on a journey through life, albeit compressed into a matter of months. This is a detective who is determined to continue with his job, no matter how difficult it gets for him, and he does face considerable personal difficulties. He has a degenerative physical disease which...
Published on 28 Feb. 2013 by Aurora

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weakest in series
I have liked all of these books and have given them good reviews but L J Seller's latest, Rules of Crime, in my view is weak and the ending is frankly, in my view, ridicules. Its a shame as I have enjoyed all her other books but it feels like the Author is running out of steam with this series and has not fully developed the relationship between Jackson and Kera (who is...
Published on 12 Mar. 2013 by Reader


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rules of Crime (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of LJ Sellers' Detective Jackson books and have therefore followed Wade Jackson on a journey through life, albeit compressed into a matter of months. This is a detective who is determined to continue with his job, no matter how difficult it gets for him, and he does face considerable personal difficulties. He has a degenerative physical disease which will eventually incapacitate him and may well kill him, but in the meantime causes him pain each day. His relationship with his wife broke down because of her alcoholism and he has custody of their daughter. He has begun a new relationship with a lady he met during an investigation, but because of the complexities of their individual lives they do not live together although they would like to. He finds it hard to spend enough time with either his partner or his daughter. From time to time he considers giving up being a detective and moving to the DA's office as an investigator but he prides himself on the fact that he brings "closure" to the families of victims by never giving up. He is spreading himself thinly and worries that he is not giving enough to anyone. At the beginning of this book he has managed to take a holiday with his partner but three days into it, he receives a phone call which sends him back home in haste. His daughter is distraught because his ex-wife has disappeared. It transpires that she has been kidnapped and he is tasked to help the FBI with the case (really? Not too involved then?) I like the way in which other cases are being worked at the same time, many authors give the impression that police officers only work one case at a time. Of course there proves to be a link between the cases and when the detectives from the different cases get together parts of the puzzle start to come together. The ending being dramatic and unexpected, shakes Wade's world totally, leaving him in a heart-rending situation which makes him question his job again. Is this the end of Sgt Wade Jackson?

I recommend starting with the first book in the series, The Sex Club - don't be put off by the title, it isn't what it sounds - and working your way through it, although each book stands alone and you don't have to have read the earlier ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime rules, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. C. A. Troops (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A phone call from his daughter interrupts Detective Wade Jackson's holiday = his ex wife has been kidnapped and is being held to ransom. Renee is a supposedly recovering alcoholic but is unreliable. Ivan Anderson who she is living with is wealthy and determined to pay the ransom money but Jackson insists on involving the FBI. The ransom goes wrong and there is no sign of Renee.
Meanwhile Detective Lara Evans, a member of the Violent Crimes Unit, is investigating a vicious assault on a young woman left naked and unconscious at the entrance to the local hospital. She was living in student accommodation but there are rumours of a secret sorority, Lara has no firm leads.
This is a fast moving story with well drawn characters and excellent descriptions of their emotions. It is not until the very end that you learn who is behind it all. A great book that kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This author was new to me. Perhaps not quite as gripping as Michael Connelly' s offerings but still an enjoyable read. Her characters were interesting and the ending had an unexpected twist. I will certainly be reading some more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weakest in series, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have liked all of these books and have given them good reviews but L J Seller's latest, Rules of Crime, in my view is weak and the ending is frankly, in my view, ridicules. Its a shame as I have enjoyed all her other books but it feels like the Author is running out of steam with this series and has not fully developed the relationship between Jackson and Kera (who is an interesting character in her own right ) which is a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another first class read, 2 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Rules of Crime (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of this author's books so far and this one is as good as the rest. A novel I have been unable to put down. I now have to wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of a series from this popular author, 29 April 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A recent release from this now established and increasingly popular author (according to Amazon and other sellers' sites).

Although police procedures form the core of her in-series writing to date and about half of which is in this series alone, some have a medical side story and occasionally romantic overtones, too. Consequently, and without knowing her remaining work, I would probably therefore classify her writing as having elements of 'Romantic Suspense' rather than being purely 'Crime', 'Mystery', 'Suspense' or any other similarly related category.

I have read three of her previous novels to date, all from this series and originally purchased by another family member, and this shares similar characteristics to those. All her stories are non-sequential, so it matters little whether they are read in the order of publication date (which presumably also equates to writing order) or in some randomised sequence. She has also written several other titles that are outside of any series.

The quality of writing is quite high and likely to please most readers of crime investigation novels. There is no known record of the author's personal professional involvement in crime investigation although there may be some family connections. Curiously most of the book covers, whether or not in a series, seem always to be remarkably similar and may be her publishers' choice rather than hers.

A worthwhile choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing............, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rules of Crime (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
A detective who has to take steroid, a transgender agent, a female agent who is a good man wasted, a neglected girlfriend, a sexy sister in law, a child who is old for her years, and an alcoholic ex-wife who has been kidnapped. After one hundred pages, you do not really care. This is a mish mash of a police investigation that does not really get anywhere fast and quite frankly since none of the characters are interesting, one does not really care. I was really let down by this book. The action just does not happen and as i said before, who cares.
There are much better novels on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laws of impossibilities, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are so many crime thrillers doing the rounds these days, I guess it's hard for an author to find a detective with a different approach to his or her solving of the crime. I haven't read any of this author's books featuring Detective Jackson before. He appears to be dying on his feet as he manfully struggles to locate his kidnapped ex-wife.

I did like the author's ability to interweave several storylines with other crime solvers on the case, each one appearing unique but then blending together almost seamlessly. It does help to have a basic knowledge of the rather all-American sorority set up and the, I think, illegal activity of hazing so that you can understand why the detectives in one of these stories were taking the matter so seriously; that a young women almost dies because of hazing seems utterly non-sensical to me but, there we are, strange things happen.

Nonetheless, because there are so many characters in this book, it's hard to empathize with any of them; their development is brief and understated, although the author does manage to bring in a transgender detective - that's a first (for me, anyway) and the, by now, de rigeur gay couples involved in either the detecting or the journalistic reporting or both.

The ending is not good but more than that I can't explain. The reader can make his/her own mind up about how life pans out, suffice to say, it did seem strangely weird with the result that I felt as though I'd rather wasted my time reading this.

If you're a fan of this series, I've no doubt you will understand more of it than I did. Unfortunately, for me, this book didn't encourage me to await the next one with any sense of eager anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Walk Away Renee, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the 7th in the Detective Jackson series, although it's a new experience for me.

Jackson's ex-wife Renee has been kidnapped, and he is part of the team involved in rescuing her. If anything, the most prominent character in the team (and the story) is FBI Agent Carla River, who was once known as Carl River - the addition of the letter 'a' to indicate the removal of certain body organs in years past, presumably recounted in an earlier episode in the series. Anyway Renee is engaged to wealthy Ivan Anderson, who has the dubious distinction of having not one but two late wives, so it's all looking rather gloomy for his intended #3. Meanwhile a student is brutally beaten and is in a coma. Are these events linked? Well.....

This is just an okay crime fiction tale, perhaps given something of an identity by its offbeat location in Eugene, Oregon - about midway between San Francisco and the Canadian border. There's not a lot for the reader to wonder about than if Renee is alive or dead, and the mystery is stretched out to the very end with little of interest in between. The character creation and development is bland, the prose plain vanilla and it was hard to really care what happened to anybody, for better or worse. The ending seemed contrived and overly sensationalist, almost as if 'the end' was the story the author thought of, and then constructed the tale backwards from there.

To compare this with the 'suspenseful traditions of Michael Connelly or Robert Crais' (as someone does on the back cover) is absurd, as there isn't much suspense and it is pretty much devoid of style or identity as a story. Congratulations to L J Sellers for writing and publishing several novels, but this one doesn't make me want to read any of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing Complexity and Convolution, 23 April 2014
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Educated readers will already be aware that a sorority is a social organisation for female students, and hazing is an initiation ceremony usually involving abuse - and that's partly what `Rules of Crime' is about - but also a kidnapping that involves rules. It is the second Detective Jackson novel I have read and it is a similar `police procedural' telling a rollicking tale that is complex and convoluted - crimes become tangled but this eventually contributes to their solution. In spite of embracing a number of back-stories `Rules of Crime' is fine as a stand-alone thriller, but as previously there are rather too many experiences and events that relate to the investigators, criminals and victims - but OK - it's fiction. Narrative rattles along in an exciting manner - and there is a sudden and unexpected ending. Author L J Sellers introduces new interesting characters, and there are some obvious contenders for the next Detective Jackson novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews