Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pocket full of gold
First, read the description of this product and it'll help you weed out the worthwhile reviews. I say this because it aims not to provide another manual on how your camera works or a definitive step by step to landscape photography, but insight on one man's holistic approach to landscape photography. It not only aims to do that, but succeeds magnificently.
The book...
Published 17 months ago by Guigphotography

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful
Some good examples of mistakes and how they were corrected. I would like to have seen more examples. Otherwise an inspiring read.
Published 7 months ago by Anna


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pocket full of gold, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
First, read the description of this product and it'll help you weed out the worthwhile reviews. I say this because it aims not to provide another manual on how your camera works or a definitive step by step to landscape photography, but insight on one man's holistic approach to landscape photography. It not only aims to do that, but succeeds magnificently.
The book is comprised (at least in part) of previous blog entries (though cohesively presented as one volume here) so it is short (again, as described), but long enough to be engaging and even captivating. At a couple of pounds I'd have been very satisfied. For free, I'm delighted.
There are unlimited resources on the genre of landscape photography and the technical mastery of it and the same can be said for other genres. But whether you're just a fan of Mr Rodriguez Jr's photography or a photographer of any level, what you get here is a much rarer commodity. Robert shares his own experience and philosophy in relation to his photography and that's something you can't get from the manuals. If you're serious about photography you either have or will figure out that there's as much to learn about yourself as there is about the art or equipment and the author's reflections are not only motivational (whatever stage your development is at), but also provoke thought on your own approach and style.
For those who are just fans, it's a fascinating read because what differentiates this from many other photographer e-books is the fact that the author knows how to write for different audiences and his text is very accessible indeed. And the best thing is that his philosophy is appropriate to any genre of photography.
I had never heard of Robert Rodriguez Jr (I came across this because it was free!) but am an instant fan of the man and his photography. I don't know if the purpose of the free e-book is to promote his workshops (it doesn't come across that way) but were it not for the distance, I would definitely be signing up for one. He not only has much to teach aspiring photographers but gives the impression that he'd do so in a very enjoyable way. If this is a pre-cursor to a fully published book, bring it on and sign me up.
Had it not been free I'd have deducted a star for proof reading, which would have been extremely picky. But it was free, so 5 stars it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little find, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Stephen Blundell (Winchester, MA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
This book was a wonderful read and an inspiration dealing with not just the technical but also getting into the spiritual and also encouraging photographers of any skill to see something different in the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photography, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
If you are into landscape photography he gives a clear insight on how to take the photo and he shows you photos that he felt did not work, and how he improved the image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really inspirational guide, almost a journey with the author as he leads you through the magical land of photography., 11 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
This is such a thoughtful and well laid out book that it has inspired me to go take those pictures that I have seen in driving past but always been too busy to stop for and when I return the light has gone. A delight not to have in the first part of the book a detailed list of what gear you should and should not have (typical of most photographic books, we are not all complete novices!) but some very sensible observations such as get the best tripod you can and invest in lenses, which hold their value, rather than the latest camera body, which won't.

For many of us there are so many things to do in life that everything is crammed into little boxes and maybe we only have an hour a week for photography. Mr Rodriguez is so laid back and has re-evaluated his life to put first the really important things which are taking photos, reading, learning from others, breaking the rules! Wonderful photos throughout and then he shows his "failures" (every one of which I would have been proud to take) with his reasons for considering them so.

Anyone who has spent the time to get comfortable with their equipment should read this book which guides you gently through taking wonderful landscape photos. I will re-read it again many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
Some good examples of mistakes and how they were corrected. I would like to have seen more examples. Otherwise an inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great motivational read, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
This is the best free book and by far the best photography book I have read. Made me want to stop everything I was doing and take some pictures. Very motivational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, for free, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
Quite short, as if it was something written in a few days. Think it tended to be a personal book on reasons why he identified a shot rather than an instructional book on what and how to look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
I love it its very good and free great book if your just starting out not if your a pro but try it anyway it's free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
The comments and writing was good enough, but by reading a description of each image before I saw it lead me to be disappointed by the photographic skills displayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Pictures if not content!, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insights From Beyond the Lens: Inside the Art & Craft of Landscape Photography (Kindle Edition)
A mildly entertaining look at landscape photography, but lacks real depth. I enjoyed the short descriptions of getting the shot, but I felt there wasn't enough there to really identify the issues he faced. I would have liked to see some more sites and a bit more discussion of how more "normal" lenses could be used. A 21mm Zeiss lens is hardly standard fare for us mere mortal photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews