Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG1 com[plete box set
Overall a great box set I'm really pleased I bought it. Series 1-8 are fantastic to watch, 9 and 10 are OK but not as good as the characters change.

Would have given 5 stars apart from the fact that from series 7 onwards they force you to watch 5 minutes of adverts at the start of each disk. If your watching 1 episode an evening it gets really annoying...
Published on 16 Feb. 2009 by James Tiberious Kirk

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely love Stargate SG-1...
but the packaging is dreadful, the outer box is thin and could easily tear when opening (and in my case there is already a small tear from opening it the FIRST time), the cases themselves are bulky and there is nothing holding the disc stacks inside, so they could easily fall out if not held properly. It is a bit time consuming just to get to the discs. I prefer to reach...
Published 22 months ago by Matt Taylor-McGuire


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 20 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, about the 18 rating - If that's putting you off buying it for your children or some such thing, be advised, it is only rated 18 because of the very first episode, which features (brief) frontal nudity. All the other episodes are rated 15 or below. Seems a bit daft to me rating the whole box set at 18 because of it, but I suppose it's necessary.

There isn't much point talking about the series itself, since I'd imagine most people who are interested in this have seen a good part of it already. So I'll move straight onto the box set. The DVD cases themselves are nice. Well sized and pretty well designed to let you get to all the DVDs - And believe me there are a lot of them. 61 individual disks to be exact, with somewhere in the region of 9,000 minutes total running time. Which gives you truly incredible value for money - about 2p per second of video, compared to around 12p per second for a normal DVD film. That's value you really can't argue with.

The box that contains the DVDs is indeed slightly disappointing - Instead of some nice art like they have on the Atlantis boxset, it's covered in rather distasteful fonts telling you what you've bought. Which seems a bit unnecessary since you already know that. But you don't have to see the box too much so it isn't a problem.

My main gripe would be with the adverts they introduce on the later DVDs. Not only flogging Atlantis to you, which is reasonable enough I suppose...but advertising the SG-1 box set. Yep, the one you've already spent £100 on. I understand they've done it to keep costs down so they don't have to reprint the DVDs, but it's still rather irritating.

But all the flaws pale in comparison to the series. You get a truly enormous amount of entertainment, at a great price. It's a must-have for any fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - few heads up for people who are wondering.., 14 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, an amazing tv show and if you are a fan, definitely worth the purchase. This box set is cheaper than buying them separately by quite a lot!

To all you who are wondering, yes there are subtitles, but unfortunately it does not exist in Season 1. Hope that bit of information saves you the hassle of cycling through all the options if you end up buying this.

Season two has 2 episodes which are from season 1. They are duplicated for unknown reasons, and are out of order. But I think they did this just to fill some space on the dvd as there are no special features until season 3.

The case is functional, although some would prefer a nicer collectors case, I'm quite proud of it as it is anyway. Still looks awesome to me.

Season 1 has 5 discs, every season after has 6 discs. All discs are securely fastened inside a plastic case per season. No paper sleeves or anything like that here.
Comes with the 2 movies, ARK of Truth and Continuum which were made to tie up loose ends after the series came to a close.

Runtime 9035 minutes or 150.5 hours approx, that's 12 and a half days of solid viewing with no rest, eating, or using the toilet of any kind. This isn't including the Original Stargate film of 2 hrs 15 mins either..(sold separately - Look out for the Ultimate edition on Blu-ray!.

214 episodes + 2 films.
Watch at your own risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Discs? No. (and this explains it), 15 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Complete Season 1-10 plus The Ark of Truth/ Continuum (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sure that others here have covered this, but I wanted to leave a SIMPLE explanation as to what to expect in regards to the box set having heard some rumours about missing episodes. Although I've watched the Seasons 1-10 box set a couple of times now what really threw me was a weird 'marketing' issue that seems to have caused confusion with the actual disc numbering and episodes guide. In the Season 2 Box there is NO ''Volume One'' disc at all; it simply goes straight to ''Volume Two'' through to ''Volume Seven'' (perhaps this is a numbering issue, as no episodes are actually missing in as far as I can see) and it is on the final disc that things get weird. There is a two-part end-of-season episode entitled ''Out of Mind'' (which amusingly is mis-titled 'Out of Hand on the back of the box' which is finished in ''Into The Fire'') yet this second episode (effectively the beginning of Season 3 does not appear on the last disc and in order to make up the used space left on the disc, two Season One episodes have bizarrely been added (''Thor's Hammer'' and ''Hathor''). However, for the purists out there who prefer to watch the episodes in the order they were intended it is best to watch them as they appear on that last disc and then when you get to ''Hathor/Thor's Hammer'' simply take the disc out and slide in the first disc of Season Three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It - Flaws and all, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stargate or Star Trek? For a number of years these two franchises went head to head for the fan base and you know what? I loved them both. Sure there were episodes that were derivative; of classic sci-fi (novels and film), of politics (beauty of sci-fi) and/or each other, but who cares? The effects became progressively more ambitious and more realistic (like I know what a space battle would look like!) and the acting was always top notch - how patronising does that sound? Just, taken as a whole body of work; these series are a masterclass in story-telling, characters, costumes, effects; the whole package. Plus there is always something for everyone; I know my favourite episodes are not the same as my friends', and I know that those few episodes that I don't like are some of my friends' favourites. All in all, I would heartily recommend this box set for any true Stargate fan. If you are not sure about Stargate; a)this is a great opportunity to become a Stargate fan, b)do not equate any cross-over roles with any admission of superiority in either direction and c)Theme Tune!!
PS Have to say this; there seems to have been a bit of a backlash when RDA left, but having watched back to back series over many consecutive nights, the introduction of Lt Col Cam Mitchell was a much needed boost.
Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate completes series, Ark of Truth & Continuum, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Edward J. Watson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are considering buying this then I need not tell you how amazing the series is. As for the presentation, well, it's a load of boxes with Stargate plastered all over it. If you are a Stargate fan and absolutely have to have absolutely every episode then this is the best deal :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans, 10 April 2012
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone that has enjoyed the Stargate SG1 series will find this particular box set of interest. It is the complete set of all 10 seasons and includes the two films that were produced to "round off" and tie up some of the loose ends left by the slightly precipitous ending of the project.

The programmes are complete along with a number of short vignettes and extra material recorded for the DVD home purchase market. These include a number of clips with the actors, writers, directors and producers all providing some extra depth to the process that went into creating this superb television drama.

It's true that the box is a little bit basic; just card with a laminated stick on cover, but I found it OK as a container. Each season comes in its own plastic case with the appropriate season information, so they could be taken out and stored separately if preferred.

Mine was bought as an "open box" product, one that had been returned to Amazon and was therefore sold at a reduced price. Subsequently, I realised that 1 disk was missing; however, I have been able to obtain a copy of the missing disk, so the set will now be complete.

All in a great product and a good price, and one that I will treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate Kommando SG-1 Complete Seasons 1-10 +Ark of Truth/Continuum, 18 April 2013
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Complete Season 1-10 plus The Ark of Truth/ Continuum (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased from Amazon.de - as a cost-saving exercise. Late last year, I watched a few odd episodes on German TV and was hooked. I took the plunge and glad I did so. Perhaps, not always the case, but the savings made in this instance were considerable - even with the delivery charge - and makes one wonder why such a variation in cost? Delivery time was excellent, arrived within 5 days from placing order.

This has turned out to be everything I expected and more. Saw the original film many years ago so was a wee bit disorientated with Disc 1/1 - a year later into the original SG story - but soon makes perfect sense. The boxed set is unusual in that each case contains the seasons in a stacked case so care will be needed in use. Languages provided for are: Season 1 Disk 1-3 English, Deutsch/German and Castellano. Season 1 Disk 4 English, Deutsch/German, French, Italian and Castellano.

DJ continues to be his annoying self, but soon grows on you as does the rest of the 'new original cast.' Initial SFX are very good and seem to get better as the series progress. Good story-lines, good acting and easy to see why it has such a following. At the price paid, this is certainly value for money with the added bonus of no sodding adverts. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate is amazing!, 8 Aug. 2012
Stargate is truly amazing, had only seen odd episodes and this was the first time I have sat down and watched from start to finish including all the movies! Good value for money, and you get the two movies thrown in as well, in my opinion a bargain! Unfortunately, you may have to buy the first stargate movie, of which the series were spin offs, but that's not expensive and is not a nessecity.
Stargate [DVD]

A lot of the actors play more then one character in stargate sg1 like Michael shanks playing Thor as well as Daniel Jackson. I, personally, like to spot the actors as their alternate characters for example finding out that Amanda tapping was Hathor the first time we see her, and that Teryl rothery was Hathor the next.
I know that makes me sound sad, but it really does get you like that.
Hint to people who haven't watched this before, don't imdb stargate you do end up finding out when people leave, if they come back, and many spoilers for the episodes.

Good luck, and don't watch too many at once, they do suddenly disappear.

You have a go colonel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every Penny, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great buy, I was always an SG fan and it was just as good the second time around. If I'm honest it gets a little samey towards the end but still gr8 to watch. A must have for any Sci-Fi fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set! And a bargain as well., 30 Sept. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic boxset. Stargate SG1, while not the longest continual running Sci-Fi (that honour belongs to Doctor Who), it is still an excellent television show. Season 7 was probably my favourite season out of all of them. And it was a bargain too, at least when I bought the boxset. It was on special offer when I bought it, I managed to get the whole of the SG1 series for £80! Probably the best £80 I ever spent. Too bad the price is back to normal now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews